How often are pieces missing from sets?

cobi

I am new to the Lego world, but have become hooked. I have had some issues, wondering if anyone else has. Bought Pet shop new in September, received 2 instruction book #2 no #1. Got Death Star for Christmas, and while the instruction book is impressive it was missing 2 pages. Grand Emporium came with the flower part for roof with no hole, had to have Lego send new part. Is it just my bad luck?

I am new to the Lego world, but have become hooked. I have had some issues, wondering if anyone else has. Bought Pet shop new in September, received 2 instruction book #2 no #1. Got Death Star for Christmas, and while the instruction book is impressive it was missing 2 pages. Grand Emporium came with the flower part for roof with no hole, had to have Lego send new part. Is it just my bad luck?

Wow - Beginner's Luck is supposed to be good. Very unusual - at least you're able to see how good Lego customer svc is.

Wow cobi, that is a lot of missing stuff! I have been building sets pretty regularly for the last 6 months or so, and I haven't gotten any yet with missing parts, manuals, etc. In fact, the only error I have encountered was just three days ago, but it was a positive error more than anything. I bought 76004 Spider-Cycle Chase, and it came with three decal sheets. I can make an extra 50 cents selling them on Bricklink! Lol.

arock68... Lucky you!! Lego customer service has been great. I too have been a builder for only the last 6 months. trying to keep up with the grandkids. I think it's now all about me now "I'm hooked". grandkids love their lego room at out house. Stuff their parents won't buy for them!!

• 5 months later...

Well this was a first. After hundreds of lego builds....we really came up short tonight. Maybe that's why I blew up at everything and everyone lego related like a child? Well---that and being called shady too many times.