How long was it before you broke even?

I'm pretty new to this investing thing, but I'm curious to know what other people's experiences are. I currently have about 5k invested at this point (not including sets I've already sold) but have made 1k off the sets I've sold, so only consider myself to be 4k in. Is there are a point where you broke even, and if so how long did it take?

I think most people are cotinuously buying and selling so it's hard to say if when you break even. I just know that for each lego set or minfig I have sold, there has been a gain. the amount profit is what I keep track of in my spreadsheets.

I figured a good amount of people would follow this line of thinking. My wife makes me keep track of total profits and total amount invested separately just so we have an accurate reflection of how much of our money is currently invested. I'm trying to ultimately get to the point where I break even so the money I have invested is all profit from prior sales rather than money from our own bank account. Of course I would likely be able to sell the sets I have now and make everything back plus more, but it would make her feel better that way.

I've been investing for about a year and half and I'm hoping to break even in another 18 months.To be more specific, I invested about 50% of what I sold over the holidays and hope to do so again next winter.  Then I'll have a fair amount of stock but I have a cap for the total amount I am every comfortable invested.

Tricky question.  The 'Break Even' term threw me a little as generally you at least break even on every set sold.  But I see what you are really getting at is making back 100% Return on Investment, to pay out the capital invested with profit.  I'd have no idea personally as I'm always buying sets and selling others etc, so can't put a stake at any point to calculate it that way.