How does eBay and Bricklink protect the sellers?

I'm doing some research for a little project I'm working on. I know how eBay protects a buyer in transactions, but how, in real terms, do they protect the seller? Also, what protections does Bricklink have for either buyers or sellers? ...and as a seller, do these protections even matter? Do the fees and commissions take precedence over any other options?

I can speak about eBay as I have been selling for over 10 years. The only protection that a seller now has, is that it must have a signature in order to be protected. No signature and a buyer complains that someone stole it or it was never delivered (even though carrier's website states delivered) will 100% go against the seller. Back in the good old days, you only needed signature for $250 and above and any kind of delivered message and Paypal will side with the buyer. Now, it has clearly shifted. So, it is sometimes tough to swallow as a signature is going to run at least 2 bucks. As a seller, you simply have to pray everything gets there and that you don't have a shady buyer. Although, if you press Paypal enough and appeal the case and continue to email them, sometimes, they will give and simply refund you just to get you off their back. That has happened as well. It seems like if you provide enough documentation and copies of emails, they may side with the seller. But, overall, it's like pulling teeth if anyone ever files against you and you have no signature proof for delivered products.