How much do you spend on Lego per month?

Hi, I'm new at the Lego investing game, although I have been a reseller for years. My son is a big Lego enthusiast, so this is something we can do together. So far I am averaging about $1000 per month on lego purchases. I spent a lot last month because I was able to get some really great deals locally on some big sets, but now this is really draining my bank account. I am actually buying more than I am selling on Ebay. I haven't sold any of my newly acquired sets, because I am waiting for them to increase in value. From reading this forum, it sounds like its a minimum of 6 months. So this brings me to the question.. how do you guys afford to spend so much on sets that you will have sitting for months/years? It's hard to pass up deals of 30-50% off so when the opportunity arises I buy, but wow is it expensive!

I don't have a monthly spending budget or target.  I weigh each decision on its merits factoring in many many things, the main ones being:

• price (landed after shipping if applicable)
  • time to estimated EOL
  • how well I think the set may appreciate in value
  • can I flip it?
  • Do I have cash available to spare?
  • Can I perhaps use that cash on a better deal?

<p>

I don't have a monthly spending budget or target. &nbsp;I weigh each decision on its merits factoring in many many things, the main ones being:

• time to estimated EOL
  • can I flip it?
&nbsp;

Most of the time I go with 'Do I have cash available to spare' first. So hard, though. So much I want to buy.

I strongly discourage using debt irresponsibly, but you CAN go over your budget responsibly.

For example, using Grolim's excellent points and a BN 30% off Death Star.

You may not have money left in your budget for a $400 Death Star, but if you choose to go overbudget and pay it off in the next cycle (and accumulate between 0.75-1.75% interest), you can still come out greatly ahead.

Death Star now 400-30%=280