Any teachers investing in or using Lego?

segreto

I have been teaching English for 15+ years, and have found a few way to use Lego bricks in lessons, but it was not until I stumbled upon this site that I started really collected them.  I am teaching a financial literacy class this fall, and I plan on using the ideas on this site as a basis for buying and trading stocks.  I also buy Lego for my kids, but now I am buying much much more.  

I also sell lesson plan on Teacherspayteachers.com , and I cannot recommend the site enough for teachers looking to both buy and sell lesson ideas and manipulatives.    Of course my own site www.anderchunking.com shows how I use that site and Minecraft to teach English.  I hope to develop some good plans involving the buying and selling of Lego, as my students can do that without opening a stock market account and actually make money.

For the classroom, I have been using Donorschoose.org as a way to get funding for basic Lego blocks for classroom activities, too.  I know there is a huge wealth of educational ideas for Lego bricks, and I am sure I will never gather all of them.

Very interesting. I do remember playing with LEGO's while in grammar school, but their main purpose was to occupy us while our teachers too a breather. I can imagine LEGO's being quite helpful in the math or science fields to give visual examples of lessons, but do you are to explain how you use bricks to teach English?

The only thing I can think of is this:

Teacher - "This 4x2 LEGO brick represents a subject, this 2x2 represents a verb, and this 2x3 represents an object. Please rearrange these bricks to form a sentence."

Lame, I know, but the best I can think up!  :dontknow:

• Like 1