How many sets is too many?

Hi,

I'm a collector / builder / investor in Lego. I have been collecting for a few years now and have around 80 sets. They vary from large to small. I tend to collect car based sets as this is a passion of mine, but also buy licenced sets be it Disney Star Wars or Pixar etc.

Although it's nice to see the value increase I will never sell them. I had little as a kid and my wife thinks I'm compensating - she may be right?. I do build some occasionally but really just love to collect. 

So how many sets is too many? At my current rate I will need a bigger house soon! Also I don't tend to display as I want to keep them nice and MISB.

....any thoughts or simlar types out there.

Morko

4 minutes ago, TheOrcKing said:

Welcome to the site, Morko. I suppose "too many" is when your living quarters becomes just that with only the bed and toilet space actually livable while the rest is storage.

fixed it for you.

• Like 4

Guest TabbyBoy

9,226 sets at the peak in 2016, now down to 2,131 (in secure warehouse) which are all Architecture and Ideas sets. These are separate to my personal collection of about 300 sets (at home and insured) which I won't sell..... yet!

Hi, well that sets the bandwidth then. I'm guessing you trade then. I have started to buy 2 or more of most things now. Especially if there are sets I want with hefty discounts.

It's funny I say that I won't sell some of mine but all things have their price I guess the hard part is deciding what that is? ...I'm loving Wall-e at the minute...I got a load for 19.98 each but can't decide if they have peaked or not.

Guest TabbyBoy
2 hours ago, Morko said:

Hi, well that sets the bandwidth then. I'm guessing you trade then. I have started to buy 2 or more of most things now. Especially if there are sets I want with hefty discounts.