New investor, couple of questions

Hi, i'm new to this buying LEGO for profit game but i'm finding it a enjoyable hobby as well as hopefully making a decent return on my investments in a few years! Lots of great info on this site and i've spent many hours reading on it but i have a couple of questions that i would appreciate your thoughts on. I often hear that i should not buy sets at full retail price however there are many sets that appeal to me that are only available from the LEGO (UK) shop such as the VW Camper Van, Mini Modulars and Haunted House of course so i was wondering should i just pay up and buy what i want knowing it's not going to be cheaper anytime soon or should i just focus on buying other sets that are available from Amazon and other such places that often have discounts? I ask because LEGO UK don't seem to really do any offers, last month it was a free Chima and this month it's a police helicopter but i was unsure if they ever do many actual money off offers? I am based in the UK and i can only buy online as i don't have a car, also there are no LEGO stores near where i live anyway so the online store is my best option for buying. Eventually i'm going to have to sell these sets and my biggest concern is that if i sell the sets sealed then am i correct in saying that if the buyer says the box was full of Cheerios or Megablocks then there is nothing i can do about it and i'll lose all my money because Paypal will back the buyer? If this is the case would it really be the end of the world if i list the items as unsealed in order to show photos of contents? I know this may put some people off but i still saw a UCS Millennium Falcon go for about it's current value the other day with the box open or would you say you do not usually get a good price on opened boxes? Since i only buy online many of the boxes are arriving with dents and scuffs so i'm thinking that since they are not mint anyway i may be best off selling the sets opened? One last question