Collection VS Investment - "The reaping"

Greetings,

I've been collecting LEGO for the past 8-10 years or so and just out of habit from other collectibles I would buy 2, one to open and one to put away MISB. However as my LEGO collection has grown and the number of sets that has come out has increased in the past 3-4 years I've had to limit many to only one instead of two. I've always been aware that LEGO increases in value after retirement, which is part of the collecting appeal IMO, but after entering my collection into the data base here I was happily surprised at just how much some of the sets have gone up.

Now for the dilemma......... As a fan of LEGO and love of the brick I want nothing more then to tear into some of these sets. However, when I see what the real world value of them are I just cant. Just wondering who else has this conflict. Also when as a collector do you decide to sell or wait for the prices to go up? And on that same note when is the value monetarily more then the value to your collection?

Thanx guys

Greetings,

I've been collecting LEGO for the past 8-10 years or so and just out of habit from other collectibles I would buy 2, one to open and one to put away MISB. However as my LEGO collection has grown and the number of sets that has come out has increased in the past 3-4 years I've had to limit many to only one instead of two. I've always been aware that LEGO increases in value after retirement, which is part of the collecting appeal IMO, but after entering my collection into the data base here I was happily surprised at just how much some of the sets have gone up.