Wired.com article about the cost of Lego

Taco

This is interesting, thanks for posting!  I would really like to see the numbers ran without the Duplo.  I really think adding the Duplo reduces the value of the statistics provided.  If I was a better statistician, I would love to see some more analysis with minifigures included.  

Interesting read, thanks for posting. After reading all those equations I'll probably have nightmares about my last Calc class tonight.

Just remember, the average price per piece is only the derivative of the equation calculated ;)

• Like 2

Interesting that he mentions the Trevi Fountain as being a good deal for price per parts...  I picked one up over the weekend, and the box is deceptively heavier than you would think...

Agreed - I built it this weekend and it's great.  But the PPP is so skewed for all Architecture sets since the pieces are almost all really small.  Sets with 831 1x1 and 1x2 tiles and plates can hardly be compared to large UCS sets on a PPP level.

• Like 1

Agreed - I built it this weekend and it's great.  But the PPP is so skewed for all Architecture sets since the pieces are almost all really small.  Sets with 831 1x1 and 1x2 tiles and plates can hardly be compared to large UCS sets on a PPP level.

Perhaps it would be interesting to compare weight of a set rather than piece count?  Or even do analysis on piece count versus weight.

I think weight of a set is the best way to calculate value.  More ABS plastic...higher price.  CITY sets cost more relatively speaking because some of the pieces are huge.  The boat hulls, train tracks and airplane wings/body parts are very large and count as one piece.  

• Like 1

Thanks for the article, a good read.

I've written a series of 8 blogs examining some basic stats for some of the main Lego themes.  Included in that are PPP and PPG,.  I also think that PPG is usually the better indicator of relative set value.