LEGO Technic 8070 - Super Car Display

Miiru

Hello all.

I recently was as lucky as getting a lego display of the 8070 Super Car.

I'm trying to collect information on how much of a worth it has and how many lego has shipped (i suppose it's not that many cos it is lego technic and a pretty huge thing).

Can anybody of you guys help me out here?

I attached a few pics also :)

post-29163-0-39591000-1381164321_thumb.j

post-29163-0-98682300-1381164294_thumb.j

post-29163-0-10919800-1381164266_thumb.j

post-29163-0-80578900-1381164354_thumb.j

post-29163-0-09469900-1381164381_thumb.j

I am not an expert on displays, but have heard the typical display prices are between $75-$500, with most falling in the $100-300 range.  That said, I'm not sure how easy they are to sell. 

It seems to me most displays are rare as they are almost always shredded, so I would assume most display buyers believe they're purchasing something nearly one of a kind.  The desirability of the set inside likely determines the price you will get for it.

Here's an eBay listing of a Lego Ferrari display sold in 2011 with four Ferrari sets:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140532534927

You'll see the listing sold for $113 before shipping.  $25 for shipping as well.

Good luck-

Hm ok. On the bottom it states 'Showcase Category 1'. I tried to find anything related to the different categories but couldnt find anything.

How would a store get one of those showcases? Can they order them together with aftzer wares to sell?

Guest TabbyBoy

MIB 8070s still mostly selling for under RRP in the UK. Just glad I got my 3 at half price from The Entertainer last year. I'll not invest in Technic again apart from 41999 and the next LE. I hope the display one goes for a good price.