USPS Lost Package question

I'm looking for some help from you Pickers who have had to file a lost package claim.

I've had a shipment drop off of tracking, my local post office isn't much help, and I'll probably be filing a claim in a couple of days. (This is my first time dealing with this.)

My buyer has been very patient so far, and I would like to keep them happy so they don't hit me with a neg.

At the same time, I'm assuming it could take a while to get the insurance money back for the lost package.  

I guess what I'm asking is :  At what point in this process am I "Safe" to refund the customers money?  I don't want to refund the money, the package comes back into the system, gets delivered, and the post office is off the hook for the Insurance, leaving me at the mercy of the buyer.  This seems unlikely to happen, but I don't want to take any chances.

Any advice?

On 7/30/2015 at 3:15 PM, cosmic brick said:

*update*

I got to digging around in the General Buying and Selling Forum and came up with this bit of info from justafrog:

"2. If the package is "lost in space" (no recent scans to tell you where it is), you can get the current tracking at USPS.com and ASK FOR EMAIL UPDATES (there's a box to click). You can ask for updates just to you, or to you and your customer. I don't know if I've just been lucky, but EVERY time I've had a package that the post office just vanishes in a puff of smoke and is stalled on tracking somewhere for days and days and have used this service, the package miraculously re-enters the flow of packages within a few days. Like I said, could be luck, or maybe they have to explain "never arrived" packages in some kind of internal auditing that this track-trace function generates."