How is it even possible to flip a non-retired set for a profit?

I am new to lego collecting. I see people talk about flipping sets such as the tumbler. How is it that anyone can sell an item for above MSRP? I can buy the tumbler from lego shop for 199 and yet someone out there is willing to pay $250-$300 on eBay?

Appreciate the insight.

I am new to lego collecting. I see people talk about flipping sets such as the tumbler. How is it that anyone can sell an item for above MSRP? I can buy the tumbler from lego shop for 199 and yet someone out there is willing to pay $250-$300 on eBay?

Appreciate the insight.

Sold about 50 of them since they came out. Timing is a factor. As is availability. Also the buyer. 90% of my sales are to exporters. Exporters cant get the quantity through normal online retailers. They will pay over retail as they will export and sell for more in there country. If availability comes around long enough then they will slow down on ebay as well. Still a few sold the last few days in the 250-280 range. You also have to realize most people dont check every website daily to see if its in stock. They go on ebay and see it right there and decide to buy then.
  • Like 1

I guess I'm nervous about trying a flip. What if i buy a tumbler but can't get my money back? Guess you sit on it and wait huh?

You won't lose money on a set like this but it's a waste to try to flip it while it's in stock. Flipping is hard work and requires way more vigilance vs. The buy, hold and wait for retirement model.
  • Like 1

You won't lose money on a set like this but it's a waste to try to flip it while it's in stock. Flipping is hard work and requires way more vigilance vs. The buy, hold and wait for retirement model.