Canadian Shipping Questions

pnave

I am new to selling lego from Canada and was wonder how other Canadian Brickpickers do it.

For things like polybags i'm using the bubble wrap envelopes and canada post. It's larger items that I worry about.

Who do you use to ship larger items?

How do you package the product?

Where do you source the boxes?

Thanks for any and all help.

I am new to selling lego from Canada and was wonder how other Canadian Brickpickers do it.

For things like polybags i'm using the bubble wrap envelopes and canada post. It's larger items that I worry about.

Who do you use to ship larger items?

How do you package the product?

Where do you source the boxes?

Thanks for any and all help.

I use the bubble wrap envelopes for polys as well... You'll get some cashiers at Canada Post who don't want to let it go through though so be careful. It's $12 to send a bubble mailer as a parcel.

I've shipped quite a few larger items now and this is what I do...

I keep all the boxes, paper, bubbles and air packets from my purchases, some day I'll run out but it's served me well so far.  If you're trying to source boxes, try Indigo or TRU. They just recycle them anyways. I've bought giant boxes of bubble wrap from UHaul as well for pretty cheap. For a couple overseas sales where I was shipping about 12kg (well, 4 x 2.93kg) of heavy sets in a lot, I've purchased really strong boxes from UHaul as well.

For packing, first make sure the box isn't a piece of garbage. Heavy sets need good boxes. I always try to ship my sets flat since most cardboard boxes are built that way for strength - some exceptions of course, be cognizant of the flute direction and you're good to go.. It also puts lets outward pressure on the set itself as it bounces around on the delivery trucks. I make sure the box is always a little larger width/length to prevent edge crush. Height doesn't matter as much if you have a good box!