Does anyone speak Japanese?

Neosphinx

I studied it for 2 years. Insanely difficult to learn. Hard to retain too unless you can use it every day. Try looking on youtube for a video so you can hear it.

Be careful too, the same phrase can have different meanings depending on context. There are also different hierarchies dependent on the age of the speaker. You would not greet a 20 year old like you would a 60 year old. 

• Like 2

I studied it for 2 years. Insanely difficult to learn. Hard to retain too unless you can use it every day. Try looking on youtube for a video so you can hear it.

Be careful too, the same phrase can have different meanings depending on context. There are also different hierarchies dependent on the age of the speaker. You would not greet a 20 year old like you would a 60 year old. 

So it is wiser to speak to them in english. Don't wish to instult them and don't have the time to thoroughly search for it. But I guess it is safe to just say konichi-wa?

Yes that is pretty universal. If you had some more time you might try a couple other things but one day is not much time.

I know. My manager been bugging me to finish a security enquete to show these same japanese and it took longer then expected. Already 1 am so thought I might ask here. Thanks anyways. I'll bow a few times more instead of speaking :)

Don't know where you studied it and don't wanna offend you so please don't take any when I say the following:

Actually Japanese (Nihon-go) is not a difficult language.

Most of the pronounciations are pretty simple once you get them, the grammar is fairly easy since they don't use any special endings (like french, german, etc. do... but every gender is pretty much the same), they don't have a lot of time forms (I know of one past tense and the present, for future they use indicators like tomorrow etc.) yeah...

The only difficult thing about it: It doesn't have a lot in common with european languages ;-)