How can people trust a newbie with no sell rating on ebay

TMan

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to all this. I was thinking the other day as I bought my second investment set (Grand Emporium) When I'm ready to sell something and I've never sold on Ebay before, how do I set it up so people won't shy away from me the minute they realize I don't have a rating.

I started an Instagram page to show people how much I love this stuff. Also that I'm just your average family man. @brickcrazy

Also, whats stopping someone from claiming I sent them an open product or something? And scamming me?!?!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

First off, welcome to Brickpicker!

My advice is start off slow, like wilanirene suggested, with smaller items. That`ll give you a feel for selling merchandise online. Work your way up. It`s like starting in the shallow end of the pool before diving into the deep end. You`ve got to build up and be smart about it. 

If you`re asking what`s stopping someone from lying about you, the simple answer is nothing. Generally speaking though people aren`t going to do that, people are good in general. 

• Like 1

yeah, start slow ... buy some stuff to build feedback also that way ... but eventually people will buy from you no matter what your feedback is ... everyone on ebay started with 0 feedback ... dont use stock photos ... take the time to take your own photos ... be specific in your descriptions ... offer free shipping but of course factor that price in with your starting bid price ... good luck ... 

Gotta start small and build some momentum - sell poly bags, part out some sets, or even stuff lying around your house to get at least 20-25 feedback before moving up to small sets. Then, when the time is right, mix in some big sets. Doesn't hurt to buy things to get feedback too!

Find some great eBay lego sellers and copy their descriptions - don't actually copy them but mimic their detail, policies, and style.