Hello from Tampa Bay Florida

Hello everyone! I'm from Tampa Bay area in Florida. I went through a very long "dark ages" (if I use your lingo correctly, lol) where I have not played with Legos since childhood. That changed recently when we bought "Friends" Lego sets for our kids. As I sit down to work on the set together with our kids, it was like I forgot how fun it was to build a set from scratch, following instructions! I guess it's the "engineer" gene (I'm a software engineer) in my blood that makes me find this activity fun. :) Coincidentally, I came across those links article in my Feedly feed last week: http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/business/2012/12/27/lego-investors-profit/1732525/ http://news.slashdot.org/story/12/12/30/1422212/investing-in-lego-bricks-for-fun-but-mostly-profit?utm_source=slashdot&utm_medium=twitter (link inside Slashdot article leads back to Usatoday.com link above anyway) I found this website via a couple of Googles and did my own research on whether Lego investing is a viable alternative way to invest. I have seen enough to feel comfortable jumping in and bought my first collectible set, Tower Bridge $219 at Amazon! I have questions about conditions of this box - which I'll create separate thread for. Even though I can afford to "stock up" on various Lego sets if I can find a good deal (I do have some space), I am taking things very very slowly this time around. This is because we got burnt collecting a huge lot of Beanie Babies which is now worthless. I also have a nice collection of Magic: The Gathering cards (5th edition), which doesn't seem to be worth as much as what I paid for them yet (maybe I'm not looking hard enough for right places to sell those cards). The only difference is for the Beanie Babies collection, it was intended to make us profits (which failed). With the Magic:The Gathering cards, it's different because I was actually playing the game at the time and not necessarily buying anything to make profit (I'm actua