Investing in sets with Power Functions. Bad idea?

I recently purchased the City Passenger Train (7938) with a slightly damaged box for a great price.  After reading the recent article concerning box conditions and resale value I'm tempted to hold on to this set for possible future sale, but I'm curious what others think about investing in sets that contain technology (ie: battery boxes, motors, etc)?  Bricks never go out of date, but engines?  The price/brick on 7938 is most likely higher due to the Power Functions inclusion, so if the technology falls out of favor then the price/brick would take a hit.

I know 9v trains are still highly desirable for some collectors, so there's an example of an older technology holding its value.

Let me know your thoughts.  Thanks!

Not sure about investment, but as a buyer and builder, I think I will continue to buy the trains as long as the train itself looks good.  I don't care much about the power function since it is not programmable anyway.

But for Mindstorms, I am pretty sure I will not buy the older version, like NXT 2 when EV3 is on the market.

That's an interesting thought. I'd say as long as the motors aren't damaged due to age it shouldn't be a worry as long as the set is something that will be desirable down the road.

http://www.brickpicker.com/bpms/set.cfm?set=8480-1 is an interesting example of a completely different motor and battery box system including micro motors. It still does well. Of course holding something for 17 isn't a good investment model, it just goes to show that the value doesn't seem to be hurt even though newer motor concepts are released.

Conversely I think computerized sets like Mindstorms will suffer from new releases as these in the past have had to be (or at least can be) connected to computers to program. If the software isn't compatible with newer computers that's doing to hurt the set's value considerably. 

Great points about:

1) style - great designs don't go out of style