Long time fan, first time user

Hi everyone - long time LEGO fan, but I'm new to Brickpicker and Lego investing "for profit."  I was wise enough in my youth to save all my old Lego sets from the 80s and 90s, but just because I loved them so much - I never really thought about selling them!  :-).  I have many classic castle, forestmen, pirates, and space sets.  

Now my son is 6 and loves Lego and I have rediscovered my love for them as well - man are the sets and themes cooler now...there's just so many!  We have bought quite a few Star Wars, Super Heroes, and Monster Fighter sets for ourselves in the last year!

Now I am beginning to buy sets on sale that I hope to resell for profit.  My first purchase was probably my best when I found 2 POTC black pearls at 50% off shortly after last Christmas and now my inventory is growing!

I'm looking to plugin with communities like this one to share tips, advice, and encouragement.  I would love to build it into a nice side business....or more.  I wonder - is there anyone here making a "full-time" living reselling LEGO? I've read that LEGO doesn't grant wholesale prices to independent dealers/shops so I assume everyone uses ebay/amazon/bricklink and such?  Does anyone know of an example of a successful resell store story?  It would be interesting to know if it was even possible.

Looking forward to meeting you all!

/Matt

Hi Matt, welcome aboard. First off, great score on the black pearls. There are several members here who make a living in resell, but most of them would tell you it's very cost-prohibitive to get started, and that you don't want to limit yourself to just Lego products. As for wholesale, we have a member named emazers who used to buy Lego at wholesale prices, but he says now it is almost impossible. Just keep doing what you're doing: buy at steep discounts, where ever you can find them. Cheers!