What historically is a good discount for premium Star Wars sets?

Watcher

Question

I'm new to LEGO and have to admit to being overwhelmed at the number of Star Wars sets now 20% off this week (and, by overwhelmed, I mean both me and my wallet).  I've already bought a few of the smaller sets, but I don't have the history to know whether now is really the time to pick up some of the premium sets or if I should be waiting for bigger deals, such as the 25% or even 30% off deals that I see being posted in some of the non-Star Wars areas.

I'd appreciate the perspective of members who've been around for a few years!

4 answers to this question

Below are 5 frames of thought I use when looking at discounts. They are in no particular order.

1. If you are just buying single sets for personal builds, you should generally consider 20% the standard minimum discount to look for. Unless there is a great stack of GWPs to offset the price, I rarely find the need to pay full price. (Brickheadz and similar exclusives would be the exception)

2. I'll look at how many locations are selling the item when considering how high of discount I'm waiting for. If the set is only available at lego.com, finding it for 10% off might be a good deal. Some sets have been exclusive to one big box store along with lego.com like 75351 Princess Leia's Helmet so 20% might be a good deal. But if its available at all major retailers, I'm looking for at least 40% off.

3. I'll consider the age of the item. If it's near retirement the FOMO may kick in and I'll accept less of a discount in order to secure the set. 

4. Does the set have exclusive minifigs, pieces, or printed bricks? These will generally increase the resale value and I'll accept less of a discount.

5. And finally, don't forget about 3rd party discounts. Rewards sites like Honey or Rakuten. Cash back from credit cards. These can stack to turn meager discounts into worthwhile ones.