Brickpicker's price evaluations?

Grandpa

Hi. I have been looking at the TIE Intercepter, Set 7181, and the market value, according to BP, if I understand it correctly is about $375 new and $150 used. However, when I got to Amazon to buy it, the selling price is $799, and when I go to e-bay, the lowest value is $500. My question is: Where does BP get there values from, and what good is their evaluations if you can not get it for that price? This is NOT a criticism.....I am a newbie here and am just trying to learn how to buy, what to buy, when to buy and what price to pay. Grandpa

Hello, the BP prices are based on sold eBay auctions.......they take the last 30 sales of the given set and average those sales to come up with the value. As for amazon there some crazy third party sellers that ask asinine prices for sets so that is why you see that high price. The BP price could be a little outdated for older sets that do not have many sales, but when the new numbers come out in a few days it could change.

Hi.

I have been looking at the TIE Intercepter, Set 7181, and the market value, according to BP, if I understand it correctly is about $375 new and $150 used.

However, when I got to Amazon to buy it, the selling price is $799, and when I go to e-bay, the lowest value is $500.

My question is: Where does BP get there values from, and what good is their evaluations if you can not get it for that price?

This is NOT a criticism.....I am a newbie here and am just trying to learn how to buy, what to buy, when to buy and what price to pay.

Grandpa

According to most recent sales for new in box as well as used, those BP values looks "roughly" correct, especially when looking at last 30 sales. Might be revised upwards or downwards in a few days - this data is updated once monthly.