best way to ship LEGO sets

zig_brickz

Question

Hello, I am looking to sell a MISB 60 years anniversary set(the SAH promo in January), and I wondered what was the cheapest(while still safe) way to ship the set. I didn't know whether the flat rate USPS boxes were the way to go, or if UPS could be better. Also, I was planning on putting it up for sale once Christmas gets a little closer. That isn't too early to sell is it? Also, Ebay or Bricklink? I have bought from Bricklink before and like it, but I don't know which is preferable. In short, I am new to the game and trying to figure out where to start.

7 answers to this question

Just now, zig_brickz said:

Hello, I am looking to sell a MISB 60 years anniversary set(the SAH promo in January), and I wondered what was the cheapest(while still safe) way to ship the set.

USPS first class package

10 minutes ago, zig_brickz said:

Also, Ebay or Bricklink? I have bought from Bricklink before and like it, but I don't know which is preferable.

eBay will get you a quicker sale, but with more competition and higher fees. Bricklink moves slower, but it comes with lower fees you can just set it and forget it until the sale email arrives.

Just now, zig_brickz said:

In short, I am new to the game and trying to figure out where to start.

In short, don't. But really, don't expect too much. Do it for fun, do it to supplement your own collection... but unless you have a ton of capital or a lot of old sets already marinating, you're too late to the party.

In short, I am new to the game and trying to figure out where to start.

Sounds like you're starting in the right place. Buy some sets and then sell them...rinse and repeat. Try Ebay, bricklink, and other sales platforms you can find, and figure out what works best for you.

The biggest challenge lies in figuring out what to buy, when to buy it, and how much to pay for it. Perhaps a bit obvious, but that is ultimately the key to making things work.