250+ used lego sets

Hello there!  I'm brand new to the world of lego selling.  Over the last six months, I have re-sorted over 250 lego sets (City, Chima, Star Wars, Bionicle, Hero Factory, etc.) and almost 43,000 pieces!  I was going to sell them by the set at my upcoming garage sale.  Can someone give me some guidance as to how to price them?  I have them in ziploc bags with their original instruction books, but not the original boxes.  Can I get 50% of their original retail prices?  This collection goes back many years, so I assume most sets are discontinued.  Please help!

Legos.jpg

Looks like a lot of work.  Look on our price guide for a starting price point.  You will never sell these items at a garage sale for anything close to what you can on eBay, Craigslist, Brick Classifieds, Bricklink, BrickOwl or simialr marketplace.  

• Like 2

I would use the Lego Lot Calculator under the Price Guide tab and input the sets you have by set number.  Make sure to click that they are "used".  This will give you a pretty accurate list of ebay prices for these sets.  You won't get those prices as your garage sale as you are going to have buyers looking for bargain basement prices, but it will give you a good starting point.  If a set shows that it's going for around $30 on ebay, I would probably list it at $15-20 at a garage sale as I don't have to pay any fees and I don't have to ship it.  You will have the best luck with the smaller sets as they are easily afforded by parents for their kids. 

Like Ed and Huskers already said: a garage sale is not going to get you anywhere near as much as what your sets are worth.

If you want to get rid of them really fast for a few bucks, then go ahead and sell them at a garage sale. But since you already put in the work of sorting them, you'd better sell them online. People at a garage sale are looking for a bargain.