Buying sets in the secondary market for investments

Cant seem to find much on people buying sets in the secondary market for investing (if anyone knows of a forum then please can you point me in its direction).

Anyway, what sets are people looking at in the secondary market after they've been retired.  I'm still a newbie AFOL on the collecting/investing scene. Looking at what sets I could buy ofr investment purposes but having a hard time considering anything that has already gone up by 50% over the MRSP that's been retired since 2014.  That said there are so many I like! LOTR theme and a number of star wars & superheros ones.

Anyone got any tips/strategies for investing in the after retirement market.  Once a product gets retired whats the usual period for the mass initial hysteria or price increases?  Do prices usually spike then come down initially after retirement or is it more of a case of spiking then flat lining until its natural return takes place?

I know a key strategy is buy as close to EOL as possible but when you've missed out on EOL then the hoarders are your new best friends.

Cheers.

Groundhog day...?

Ha ha.  Yeah sorry.  

This was more a general topic thread to get a discussion going as opposed to one relating just to specific sets.  Anyway, lesson learned.  One thread per topic unless new info comes to light.

Fastest appreciation is in the first year. After that it's a slow steady growth. There are a few exceptions of course. 

I don't mess with investing in retired sets unless it's a steal. Plenty of good investments on the market. 

Sound strategy.  I saw an of x-wing (4502) that's well before my time and triple the MRSP - to be fair though anything with Yodas hut has to be money spinner :)  

I assume by steal you mean that even though its above (maybe double/triple MRSP) if the usual selling price for that item is 20% more then at worst your going to come out flat (thinking quick flip, but then you factor in fees and postage).