20% off ... CANADA .. and ??

gravtation

Hi, I can't understand how most of us here in Canada are almost jumping and give big thumbs up to special deal like 20% off on lego. FOR SURE I'M not...

-Here in Quebec we pay 15% tx .. so to me a 20% off .. mean only 5% off at the end .. I don't see anything to celebrate ... may I know if i'm the only one who think this way and that we deserve better than that ?  When you buy at 20% there's no way you do money on these sets right away.. need to be stashed away for 1 to 3 years  right ? Or you simply do  10 - 20$ quick flip .. or I'm missing something here...  (I've been selling on Ebay since the last 7 years, wasn't lego at first,  and now with all the fees I don't understand how we as Canadian with the high prices we pay are able to keep on going ...)

In USA, they get 20 - 75% often + they can stack bunch of deals, coupons and other tweak combinations ...

Here since last year, most of our "favorites lego providers" seems to have renounce to any coupon, or real hardcore deals...Why ? 

Edited by gravtation

I'm not a quick flipper, not enough money for the time and effort. I'm in for the long haul mostly. But everything else you said I tend to agree though the weak CDN dollar helps when selling (always sell in USD).

Retail 'sales' of 20% in Canada will never thrill me but they appeal to the average LEGO buyer who are mostly content to pay regular prices for LEGO in Canada. So I have little hope for bigger discounts and sales from the major retailers. In fact I'm worried about about prices creeping up BECAUSE of the weak CDN dollar.

Canadian resellers will never operate on a fair competitive basis with USA based sellers but we can still make decent cash. Just have to be smarter and more diligent about maintaining a long term plan.