Do You Insure the Packages You Mail to Buyers?

Mailing off my first sale on eBay today. 

Should I insure it?

The item is worth $200.  The address is confirmed and I'll get tracking number of course.  I'm new to this so am wondering what people think about insuring the items they sell on eBay if they are higher dollar amounts...

I've read some interesting posts on how to save costs with an eBay business.  Curious to know if people choose to save costs by not insuring or consider it a necessity.

Thanks for your input!

If I can't afford to lose it I don't list it on scambay. For all the rest I self insure. If you don't have alot of selling feedback you are scam bait so you may want to sell a few hundred cheap polybags or minifigs for a few months before listing sets. May as well get TRS first to save the 2% FVF on your more expensive gear anyway.

Everyone will have their own pain point. Insuring everything is a waste of money, certainly, but if it makes you more comfortable for items over a certain dollar value, especially for your first few sales, that's fine.

Don't use USPS insurance, except what you get for free through using priority mail - they're expensive and hard to collect. If you print your label through eBay they offer a very good third party insurance that's not hard to collect from if the package is lost or damaged.

If you don't have alot of selling feedback you are scam bait so you may want to sell a few hundred cheap polybags or minifigs for a few months before listing sets.

Isn't the insurance usually for the shipping only anyway - once you have a delivery confirmation (meaning, it got delivered) the insurance wouldn't kick in anymore, right? Everything with the buyer would be covered by eBay/paypal. The shipping insurance would kick in if your package gets lost or damaged. Am I wrong?