New Investor - Questions about Upcoming Releases and Retiring Sets

Hey All,

I am new to investing, actually just working on getting started. I do currently buy bulk lots off ebay/craigslist and then part them out. This has been making me a good profit from selling on ebay and bricklink, but I would like to try my hand at investing.

I KNOW that every new person asks these types of questions and a lot of people are going to just say "look at the forums", but sometimes it just difficult to find the answer your looking for unless you have some really good google-fu.

Questions:

Is there anyway to know the exact release date of new exclusives? I tried to google this but I just get partial information. Sometimes when a series is about to be released (I.e. "Agents"), I might see a date, but the notice they give is only a week or so. Is that normal?

How do I know which sets are about to retire? Do I just need to speculate based on how long a set has been out? Is there a normal cycle for sets or is it completely random usually? I did see a section on Lego that has "Retiring Soon", but almost all the sets are "Sold Out", if I wait until they are on this list, will I be too late?

At what time would I have had to be on the Lego.com website to get 9464 The Vampyre Hearse at the $8.98 price?

Whats the best time to check Lego.com for the New Arrivals/Retiring Soon, do you they always update right at 12pm EST or PST?

I have about $200 to start. Do I just buy GE and sit on it?

Thanks in advance for ANY answers given. Please don't feel like you have to answer all of them!! 

Welcome to the site:

Hey All,

I am new to investing, actually just working on getting started. I do currently buy bulk lots off ebay/craigslist and then part them out. This has been making me a good profit from selling on ebay and bricklink, but I would like to try my hand at investing.