Ratings and Reviews for 10225-1: R2-D2

10225-1: R2-D2

Overall Score

9.21
View Price Guide Review this Set
  • First Impression Feelings after first look? 9.71
  • Unique Parts/Minifigures Unique parts? Increase resale? 7.71
  • Playability/Build Experience Is this a "FUN" set to build? 9.43
  • Value for money (NEW) "Bang for your buck"? 9.29
  • Theme Popularity Will theme help with resale? 9.86
  • Exclusivity Unique production aspects? 8.57
  • Packaging Does this set stand out? 8.71
  • Growth Potential Possibility of revenue growth? 9.71
  • Display Attributes Does this set stand out? 9.71
  • Conclusion Your final analysis.. 9.43

7 Brickpicker Member Reviews

Review from: Grolim
Reviewed on: May 14, 2013
Avatar for: Grolim
Join Date: 12/10/2012
# of Reviews: 41

Overall Personal Score

9.30

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

"No, I don't think he likes you at all . . . I don't like you either." --C-3PO to R2-D2

Well I like you R2!  Probably my favourite character from the Star Wars universe and I’m sure I wouldn’t be alone in feeling that way.  R2-D2 is one of those iconic characters that almost everyone can recognise whether they are a huge Star Wars fan or not.  There are even plenty of people who just collect R2-D2 stuff, from mugs to trash cans! This UCS model from Lego would find pride of place in many such collections.

Looking magnificent on display, this model is a real draw card of any Star Wars or Lego collections.  Upon viewing the set for the first time most people marvel at its detail and accuracy and closer viewing rewards with great features and hidden design elements that keep the wow factor coming.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 8

You get just the 1 minifigure with this set.  The inclusion of an R2-D2 minifigure is a nice touch and not something that is expected of a UCS set.  The mini R2 sits nicely alongside the UCS information display card.  However, this version of R2-D2 is available in 8 other sets, so he is very common.  It would have been nice to see some sort of unique version here for the collectors either with the design or printing.  I feel Lego has missed an opportunity here.  He can be picked up in new condition on the minifigure market for just over $3, so not much investment value to add to the overall set here.

In terms of parts there is a handful of elements that are unique to this set that will help to drive the future value of the set.  They are (in order of current Bricklink value):

Part # Part Description Qty Current Price (new) Total Cost
52107 White Brick, Modified 1 x 2 with Studs on 2 Sides 20 $0.55 $11.00
87544 Dark Blue Panel 1 x 2 x 3 with Side Supports - Hollow Studs  4 $0.98 $3.92
2958 Light Bluish Gray Technic, Disk 3 x 3  3 $1.34 $4.02
x131c Reddish Brown Hose, Flexible 12L with Tabbed Dark Bluish Gray Ends 4 $2.72 $10.88
10225stk01 Sticker for Set 10225 - (71942/4654780)  1 $9.44 $9.44

There are also some rarer color/part combinations that help to make this set potentially worth more in the future.  One of the main ways rare or unique parts can help to drive a sets secondary market value is to make it hard for a buyer to obtain individual pieces and make the sets themselves.

There are no stickers to be found here apart from the traditional UCS information panel.  This will please most builders and collectors.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10

Having built this model myself about 2 months ago I can say it is one of the best build experiences I have had.  Great detail, not too repetitive, with many interesting and new techniques.  Fully built it is deceptively heavy and that’s due to it not really having any hollow internal areas in the body – it’s all taken up by technic parts that move some cool features like the spinning blade cutter arm and the third leg that drops down when in “movement mode”.  The leg is possibly the only small negative I have as it can be tricky to lock it into place properly and the mechanism doesn't always feel stable to me which makes me a bit nervous it will topple when in move mode.  The head turns 360 degrees and overall you’d have to say the finished product looks spot on movie accurate (maybe a tad ‘thin’ if you want to be pedantic).

UCS models are not generally designed for playability, they tend to put display qualities over play features.  But the R2-D2 does have some play elements on offer:

  • A fully rotating head
  • Hidden front door panels revealing saw blade arm and a R2’s connection port gadget
  • Legs and feet swivel and move
  • Retractable 3rd leg – the major feature.  Drop it down using a lever on the back and tilt R2 backwards to put him into “movement mode” on 3 legs

Sure these elements are probably more designed to showcase the design and add authenticity to the finished model, but they can be played with if you want, though maybe not for long periods.  Plus being a large scale sculptor of a character there isn’t really any other sets around you could pair it with for a play session, unless you put him with the Yoda or Darth Maul busts, but that probably wouldn’t make a lasting play session.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

Retailing at $180 new this set is under the accepted benchmark of $0.10 per piece at $0.0846.  However, I don’t think this is a fair reflector of the production costs and subsequent pricing of this set.  There aren’t many large pieces present, certainly no large plates like you would find on most Star Wars UCS models.  Therefore the true value for money of the retail price may be better analysed by comparing the price based on weight.

UCS Price per piece

UCS Price per Gram

As you can see from the above comparison, the R2-D2 set is ranked 6th out of 20 against all the other Star Wars UCS sets produced in terms of price per piece – a fairly respectable result.  But when comparing on weight and using price per gram, our R2-D2 set only ranks 16th out of 20.  This shows that the value for money of the retail set is a bit below average.  The relatively smaller average part size is the contributing factor here.

Interestingly it would seem that the R2-D2 set sits close to the more recently produced UCS sets like the Imperial Shuttle, B-Wing, and new Red Five X-Wing.  This may mean Lego has decided to price these UCS sets at a bit more of a premium than they have done in the past.

Will parting out the set pieces as well as the 10 minifigures provide any profit?  Lets examine that:

Part (new Cond) Price Estimate
R2-D2 Minifigure $3.00
Unique parts $29.82
UCS sticker $9.44
Other Parts $238.30
Box & Instructions $29.93
Total $310.49

So the estimated total of $310.49 for the pieced out set is higher than the current market price for a new set of $196.63 on Brickpicker, which is in turn higher than the $180 that this set can still be found at retail for.  This shows that there is a potential profit to be made in buying a new set and parting it out.  After taking into account possible selling fees and the opportunity cost of the time involved to do so, the profit would be a bit smaller, but if you can get a few for retail or cheaper at a sale then this may prove beneficial for those investors who like to part out sets.    

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

The Star Wars theme is very high in terms of popularity I think only City outperforms it in sheer numbers sold.  Also the Ultimate Collectors Series subtheme is probably the most sought after for collectors.  It really does provide the definition of good Theme value.  All retired sets apart 10215 Obi-Wan’s Jedi Starfighter have achieved positive rates of return.  And only 2, the 10186 General Grievous and the recently retired 10212 Imperial Shuttle, have CAGRs below 10%.  In fact the straight average of the retired UCS CAGRs is 13.89%, a great rate of return.  Even more impressive, if you were to buy just 1 of each of the 16 retired UCS sets and hold them for 1 year, assuming the CAGR remains the same, you would average a return of 15.98% (this is sometimes referred to as the “Weighted Average CAGR”).  Take out the poor performing 10215 and that jumps to a 16.62% return on investment.

All the numbers can get a little overwhelming, but suffice to say that Star Wars UCS models are considered the cream of the investment crop for very good reasons.

Star Wars Lego appeals to two main collector groups.  Star Wars fans and Lego fans.  Sets from this theme have the ability to pull in non-traditional Lego buyers who collect Star Wars toys or memorabilia.  There are a lot of them out there; Star Wars would have to be one of the most collectable franchises around the world.  Therefore this drives demand for Star Wars Lego beyond the normal Lego fan.  UCS sets are at the front of the queue for both collector groups.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

UCS sets often begin as exclusive to Lego stores or a specific retailer, before then being released to a wider group of retailers.  Because of the large physical size of the set and the associated higher price tag it is often not carried by all stores.  Internationally the UCS sets are often a little harder to find.  This means the set does have an amount of exclusivity that drives value. 

This is perhaps evidenced by the fact that the current Brickpicker market price is almost $17 (over 9%) higher than the retail price for the set even though it is still in fact available at retail.  The only explanation for this is that buyers are finding it hard to source the set on retail shelves, most probably international buyers as well, and turning to Ebay for an easy alternative.  This could be due to low stock or production vs the demand for the set or the exclusivity of it being only at bigger stores.  Either way it bodes well for the secondary market value for our R2-D2.

PACKAGING | Score: 9

Quite a large box as you would expect from the 2127 piece count.  The image showcases R2-D2 in “movement mode” with the 3rd leg extended and model tilted back with the head rotated slightly to the right.  It’s a great representation of the model and the main picture does present the main features of the model well.  The box has white surrounds which is a little different to the normal Star Wars color scheme.  Overall it’s a great box.  Currently a box by itself is priced at $18.68 on Bricklink, so this evidences the value it holds.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

This set already has a positive CAGR of 9.24% according to the latest Brickpicker data.  This is almost unheard of for a set that is still available on retail shelves.  It doesn’t seem to be retiring soon either, as it has only been out for 1 year.  Most retail sets show a negative CAGR until they retire.  This is because buyers or investors often pick up sets when they are on discount at below retail price, which can often be around 25-30% off.  It would appear that this set has not had the level or quantity of discounting that most sets get.  Probably due to the fact that it is a UCS set and they often get excluded from store wide Lego sales, plus it is not near the EOL point yet so hasn’t had any “clearance” deals. 

Looking at the CamelCamelCamel.com data available through the sets’ page on Brickpicker, it shows that Amazon.com have only had two brief periods where the set was on a decent sale.  The most significant was 22% off back in late Nov early Dec.  Since then there have only been a couple of 1 day dips off less than $10 and none since mid Feb.

Assessing the growth potential of a set like this one that is still in production often necessitates looking at other similar sets.  As discussed previously the UCS sets almost all have very strong secondary market price growth once they retire.  What might help us get a feel for the potential of R2-D2 is to look at the very recently retired 10212 Imperial Shuttle.

The Imperial Shuttle was released in Sep 2010 priced at $260 retail and was retired at the end of 2012 (a few sets lingered as retailers sold out, but essentially EOL was Dec-2012).  Over its retail life it had a few periods of 10% discounting and one decent period of 15% off, with a 1 day spike of 30% (data from Amazon).  Fairly typical for a UCS set.  Upon EOL the secondary market price for the Shuttle jumped 34.75% to $323.39 in the month of Jan-13, amazing stuff!  A small drop back in Feb as people probably tried to cash in on immediate sales and flipping any last remaining retail stock, before coming back up another 3.58% during Mar-13.

I can see the 10225 R2-D2 set having the same kind of response once it goes EOL.  When this will be is a bit of a lottery as there is never any reliable information from Lego about the EOL of sets.  Given that the release date of the set was May-2012 it has only been out for 12 months.  The Imperial Shuttle had a shelf life of 28 months and taking that as a guide we may not see R2-D2 retire until Aug-2014.  With the release of 10240 Red Five X-Wing, there are currently 4 UCS Star Wars sets available on the market, more than at any other time.  Plus you may also throw the 10188 Death Star into the mix as it is another large Star Wars model.  There is a rumoured release of a large Ewok Village based set for later this year and that may push one of these larger sets out, most bets, and hopes, are on the 10188 Death Star being the one up for the chop, but it could be the 10221 Super Star Destroyer which is the oldest of the official UCS sets as it was released in 2011.  Then again it could be none!  Lego retirement dates are hard to predict for a reason.  That said I wouldn’t see the R2-D2 being retired until at least the end of the year.

After EOL and the inevitable initial spike in secondary price, I would envisage the set enjoying very solid growth rates.  It might be worth comparing to the other UCS “bust” style models of 7194 Yoda and 10018 Darth Maul which have enjoyed long term CAGRs of 11.00% and 13.31% respectively.  I would see R2-D2 possibly out performing those as he is perhaps even more iconic as a character, plus he may play a part in the new Star Wars movies being made by Disney.

The sky is the limit for our stocky little droid!

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

As mentioned in the introduction this set looks magnificent on display, a real marvel.  I have limited shelf space for displaying my collection at home and this set easily gets a prime spot.  It really is superb looking and so recognisable that people will want to get a closer look at him and play with some of the features of the design.  The small footprint makes him fairly easy to display as well.  The limited display real estate of most people will not be eaten up here.

The color scheme of white and blue makes him stand out amongst the greys of most other Star Wars sets and really draws the eye.  I could go on and on about the superb looks but I’ll just say a perfect 10 is the only option here for me.

I have even installed an aftermarket LED light kit in my model. It puts some red and blue lights inside the head to give R2 a really awesome authentic touch.  It looks great in the dark and really turns his display attributes up to 11.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

Luke said it well and I feel the same. R2-D2 has been a part of my life since seeing Star Wars as a youngster. I’ve had a toy version of him in some shape or form since I can remember and now with my Lego obsession he sits right in the middle as the pinnacle of my collection.


Review from: Fcbarcelona101
Reviewed on: May 12, 2013
Avatar for: Fcbarcelona101
Join Date: 01/13/2013
# of Reviews: 51

Overall Personal Score

8.60

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

Who would not recognize this little LEGO droid at first sight?, I think this is probably one of the most easily recognizable characters in movie history, as even those who have never seen the SWs movies or anything have more than likely had an encounter with R2 in some way. The level of detail of this set is very impressive, as it has been with all of the other UCS busts that LEGO has been doing over the years. This is more than likely the most popular SW bust produced, along with Darth Maul probably, and to me it is one of the most iconic SW sets ever produced. If you are a Star Wars fan, then this is one model you just need to add to your collection.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

Parts

The set does come with a handful of exclusive parts, plus several parts that can be considered rare (sets <6), but really nothing special for a set with over two thousand pieces. Most the rare parts come in the "earth blue" color, so if you are interested in those you should be checking out the complete list. Let's see which parts are exclusive to the set:

  • Twenty white 1x2 bricks with four knobs 
  • Two white 1x8 technic bricks
  • Four "brownish" flex tubes (Color is described as multicombination)
  • Three medium stone grey disks
  • Four earth blue 1x2x3 wall elements

So you see, not really a lot of very important exclusive pieces other than maybe the flex tubes and the disks. I don't believe that the part collection of this set is really going to do much for its value in the secondary market.

Minifigures

The set comes with only one minifig, that not surprisingly, is R2-D2. In my opinion, it would have been really coll if LEGO decided to include an exclusive version of the droid in this set that would make it more valuable as a collectors item. Say, one with the third leg or metallized head. Anything of that sort would have helped a lot to make this set more appealing to me than it already is, but instead we got one of the most common SW minifigs ever.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 8

There is really not that much playability factor with this model, as it's usually the case with bust type sets. These kind of models are even more done for display that some of the other UCS sets based on actual ships. The model is sturdy, and you could probably move it around the floor, but there is really not mcuh more you can do. It does come with some gadgets shown in the movies and you can even rotate his head, just nothing I could see anyone spending a lot of time playing with.

As far as the build experience goes, this one is top notch. I have to say that I did not build the whole thing, as it was a gift for a cousin, but I did participate some and was able to watch him complete the whole thing in a couple days. It is a REALLY fun set to complete, especially the first couple of bags.I did not find it to be repetitive at all, only a little bit when completing the pair of legs, and the spots of technic style building inside the main structure is extremely fun as well. From the few UCS sets I have built over the past year, I have to say that this one is probably the one I liked the most.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

Let's take a look at the value for the money chart:

Model MSRP Number Of Pieces Price Per Piece (Retail)
       
7194 - Yoda $ 99.99 1,075 $ 0.09
10018 - Darth Maul $ 149.99 1,868 $ 0.08
10225 - R2-D2 $ 179.99 2,127 $ 0.08

I think it is pretty clear that the pricing of this model is very consistent to that of previous UCS busts. Yoda being the smallest and oldest model of the three, and first of its kind, has a slightly higher PPP, but that is completely justifiable by the factors I just exposed about its size and age.

This is a perfect example where the pricing is consistent all the way with comparable sets, so it is my view that this means 10225 is a fairly priced set. Even more, this R2-D2 model is vastly superior in a lot of ways to its predecessors, in my opinion. It has a lot more interesting design features just by the fact that is supposed to replicate a robot instead of just head and shoulders that can't really offer much more than display value. R2-D2 comes with several different features that in my opinion just add a lot to the value you get for your money, like the retractable third leg, head rotation and the gadgets you can make visible or hide as you please. Plus, the variety of pieces included in 10225 is just so much better than in 10018 or 7194.

Given the very good price per piece, I do believe this is a good candidate to part out if you prefer to go that route. Still, none of the included parts is really that valuable at this point, so you may be better served by waiting a while before attempting to do this. I am not a fan of parting out UCS sets just because it seems to make much more sense to keep them sealed and make more money with less work in a couple of years, but it is completely up to each person to decide this.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

This set is part of the Star Wars Ultimate Collector's Series. If you take a look at Brickpicker's list with the average CAGR of all the LEGO themes that have been released, you will note that Star Wars is not really located among the top performers, with a CAGR of around 9%. However, that is mostly explained by the large amount of sets that have been released by the line, where there are bound to be several underperformers.Having said that, the UCS is a completely different sub-theme/branch of the SW theme. These are sets targeted directly to the hard core fan, collector and mostly AFOL community.

The Ultimate Collector's Series overall performance is what may very well be the reason a big chunk of current LEGO fans started thinking about the little bricks as an investment options. Every single set that has been released and retired so far has performed extremely well in the secondary market, with the one exception of Obi-Wan's starfighter that still says for pretty much MSRP. Even more, you could divide the UCS line into two more branches, one being the actual ship models, and the second one being the popular character busts.

If we examine the performance of the three busts and the one full body Grievous, we can see that the average CAGR of those sets is around 10%. This number can seem low at first sight, but you need to take into consideration the fact that the two earlier and top performing sets of this kind were released over a decade ago, and the CAGR figure is something that once LEGO sets stop growing significantly gets spread out over more and more years. In my opinion, once some sets have been retired for a very long period of time, it is best to go directly to the price over retail to figure out what kind of performer the specific set was.

If we do this, we will see that Yoda and Maul are currently going for 215.20 % and 348.14% over retail, respectively. Grievous is currently over 40%, but that is a more recent set than I am still in doubt about including it as an actual bust, it is just very different to the other two. Anyway, you can see that UCS busts are very good performers over the long term, so you would be very wise in picking them up while they are still in production and sell in 3 to 5 years.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

This set is a LEGO exclusive. It is only found on LEGO branded stores, S@H, and the online stores of some of the larger retailers, including Amazon.  It is still too early to tell if this set will be enjoying a production run that is either shorter or larger than average, but if everything goes like it should I would assume that it will last the typical 2 years on the market.

This set is part of the UCS line, that gives it some sort of extra exclusivity over the average LEGO set.

PACKAGING | Score: 8

The box of this set is pretty large, as are most of the other UCS sets.The measurements of the model are displayed on the lower left corner, but other than that there is not really any markings that would make it stand out from other sets. The graphics are pretty cool and set up R2 in the center of the box placed in what appears to be one of the SW ships.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 9

Let's set up our comparables table: (Data from Brickpicker)

Model Release Date MSRP CAGR Current Market Value (New) HPR*
           
 10018 - Darth Maul  2001  $ 149.99  13.31 %  $ 672.17  348.14 %
 7194 - Yoda  2002  $ 99.99  11.00 %  $ 315.17  215.20 %
 10225 - R2-D2  2012  $ 179.99  N/A  N/A  N/A

*HPR: Holding Period Return, assuming the set was purchased at retail on the day of released and sold today.

The performance of these UCS SW busts over the years has been completely outstanding, and I don't think R2 will be the exception. Note that all of the characters that LEGO has chosen to recreate are easily considered as extremely popular over the course of the series, and it actually is my opinion that R2-D2 is the most popular of all three, by a wide margin.

10225 is also the first bust to be released in more than a decade, if we decide to leave out General Grievous from the conversation since it is somewhat different. Especially interesting is the comparison between R2 and Darth Maul's model, since they shared more similar price points and number of pieces than Yoda does with both. Stil, both of the sets that have been retired have appreaciated in a very similar way, so in this case I am not really sure those differences really play a role, or at least a big role.

Darth Maul was a very popular character from a very unpopular movie, and managed to produce an outstanding HPR despite that disadvantage. Plus, the piece selection is also very limited in that model, as most of it consists of black and some red parts. On the other hand, R2 is a major part in every single movie from the Star Wars series, with the advantage of being one of the main characters in the highly acclaimed original trilogy as well. In my opinion, his popularity is extremely more widespread than Maul's or Yoda's, something that will prove to be very positive in the appreciation of the model. Even more, it has a very interesting piece collection and several extra features the other two just can't compete with, while still keeping the high level of detail.

Value Prediction: R2-D2's popularity will be the main driver of its future growth, and I see it beating Darth Maul's performance easily in the secondary market. In my opinion, this set will produce a CAGR of around 14% by the time it has been retired by as long as 10018 has been, with a high growth period CAGR of around 20% until it matures around 4 years after retirement and starts growing more slowly at around 6% until it reaches its peak value, where it will maintain or grow very slowly from that point forward.

Note: This projections are not meant to be used as a way to determine the expected price on individual years, but rather to see trends and the expected value at the end of each period. For example, in 2023 you can expect the price to be close to $ 870, while if you use the two period chart you can determine also the expected price in 2018 to around $ 650.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 9

The set looks completely amazing on display. Almost every single detail of the little robot is present on the model, and the colors are just perfect in my opinion. There is also the option to display it both with its third leg out or just hide it using the retracting mechanism, that is probably the most impressive feature I have seen ever on a LEGO set of this kind.

There is no UCS stand included with 10225, since there is really no need for one, but it does come with the typical UCS fact sheet just like all the other models in the series. This is definitely going to be a set that will catch the attention of every single person that takes a look at your collection, since it is one of the most recognizable characters of the whole series. Even more, it helps complement your UCS collection, that is dominated by great looking ships and just a couple of busts like this one.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

The R2-D2 UCS set is a very complete set that guarantees some hours of building and display fun, while adding some very cool play features that can also be used to change its display position and look. Even more, its investment potential looks to be very promising, in light of the performance of the entire UCS line, but more specifically busts, and the fact that the robot is one of the most popular characters in movie history. Every single collector or fan will want to add this to their collection, and once it retires it will be a long while before LEGO decides to do a similar model, making the secondary market the only choice.

Really great set, you would be wise to pick up several of these before they go into retirement!


Review from: srm_520
Reviewed on: Apr 26, 2013
Avatar for: srm_520
Join Date: 03/05/2013
# of Reviews: 24

Overall Personal Score

9.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

R2-D2 is hands down one of the coolest Lego sets I have ever seen or built. The scale is perfect, and the overall detail the designers were able to capture down to off-center sensor eye pieces, tools, and tube connections are astounding. It’s just beautiful and probably one of the most accurate Lego recreations I have ever seen. Sitting next to my UCS Lego Yoda (7194) at home, which is another early yet great UCS sculpture piece, it just stands apart and I think takes the Lego models to the next level.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 9

This is one Lego sets that truly does not need a single minifig to be great, but just for fun Lego does include a R2-D2 minifig for you to display on the info plaque next to the real deal. As far as unique parts, the majority of the set is a perfect compliment of white juxtaposed to the various blues that capture the character perfectly. The builder still has 19 unique color schemes in the build and plenty of funky pieces that would make a nightmare for any Bricklinker, and that much more desirable for investors.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10

Moving beyond the sheer beauty of this set, builders will marvel at just how innovative the moving parts are and sheer genius of the construction. Rotating head - check, movable saw and scope hidden within the body - check, huge retractable third leg with locking switch mechanism - wait what? That is awesome! Seriously, to actually pull off a large retractable third leg complete with proper body tilt when out and is mind-boggling.  Designers go home - you've reached the mountaintop.

The instruction manuals were easy to follow, and broken into individual portioned stepped bags that make assembly a breeze.  Basically - instead of searching, you're building and who doesn't love that?

Usually, when you have a set of this size it’s for display purposes only, or at most there is one central movable feature. R2-D2 goes beyond and makes a fantastic display piece come alive like no lego of this magnitude before it. It’s also great because it translates into a unique build with very few repetitious steps. Having built a few large lego structures, I can tell you that this was one of the most fun build experiences I have ever had, and my only complaint is that there weren’t more pieces to prolong the experience.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

People can talk about how they believe something is a good value until they are blue in the face, but let’s just let the numbers do the talking:

Set Number Set Name Release Year Piece Count Retail Price Retail Price Per Piece
10225 R2-D2 2012 2127 180 0.08
10227 B-Wing Starfighter 2012 1487

200

0.13
10221 Super Star Destroyer 2011 3152 400 0.12
10212 Imperial Shuttle 2010 2503 260 0.10
10215 Obi Wan's Jedi Starfighter 2010 676 100 0.15
10186 General Grivous 2008 1085 90 0.08
10188 Death Star 2008 3803 400 0.11
10179 Millennium Falcon 2007 5195 500 0.10
10174 Imperial AT-ST 2006 1068 80 0.07
10175 Vader's Tie Advanced 2006 1212 100 0.08
10143 Death Star II 2005 3441 300 0.09
10134 Y-Wing Attack Starfighter 2004 1473 120 0.08
10129 Rebel Snowspeeder 2003 1455 130 0.09

Wow! The numbers don’t lie - in this day and age you simply aren’t going to get a much better deal in terms of initial investment than the UCS R2-D2. You’re basically looking at the biggest bang for your buck of pretty much any set in the entire UCS theme. Paying eight cents is dirt cheap when an investor is talking about Star Wars, and I was shocked that this set was listed retail at anything under $200. At $200 it still would have made the price per piece of around ten cents and still a fantastic deal. Bottom line is you should be scooping up this set at any deal you can find, and be thankful that an incredible 2000+ piece set is so cheap.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Is there a more popular theme than Star Wars? Ninjago and Chima will get their fifteen minutes, City will always have it’s dedicated following, but when it comes to a truly devoted fan base and the pivotal reason many of us have come out of the dark ages - it’s Lego Star Wars. It’s just cool. Even a non-collector, a non-Lego fan, or God forbid a Star Trek fan will wonder at the majesty of some of the UCS Star Wars sets. My jaw drops at the site of other big sets like The Taj Mahal(10189) or the Statue of Liberty(3450), but at the end of the day you just can’t beat an amazing Star Wars set.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9

Even though the set isn’t super rare like Mr. Gold or Ole Kirk’s House(4000007), three little words still set it apart from normal Lego sets - Ultimate Collector Series. Just let it sink in a little. This baby isn’t sitting on your local Wal-Mart or Target shelves, and basically means you need to go to the Lego store or online if you want your own set. Craigslist and EBay are also good alternatives especially if you just want a used set for your own personal collection, but keep the notifiers going because they will move fast.

PACKAGING | Score: 9

This is a very tall and thin box with amazing graphics of R2-D2 complete with Darth Maul Star Wars theme pictures and various looks of the droid. Interesting note, if you were one of the first buyer of this set, there is a very cool poster that highlights R2 in all of it’s amazingness. It’s not really a part of the packing itself, but was a great little side piece for collectors and investors alike.  

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

To understand the growth potential of this set, referencing previous EOL UCS sets is great starting point. The CAGR (Compound Annual Growth Rate) is a fantastic tool to check current growth and buyer demand and seeing 15% or higher on popular five year old plus sets is not uncommon right now. However, looking at percentile growth over the original retail price is another great tool when judging a sets potential over a longer period of time. As of April 2013, here is a list of EOL UCS sets from the past ten years:

Set Number Set Name Release Year CAGR Retail > Current Price Per Piece (NIB) (Cents) % Increase of Retail Value Retail Cost Current Market Value (NIB)
10212 Imperial Shuttle 2010 7.88% 0.10 > 0.13 25% $260 $326.44
10186 General Grievous 2008 7.43% 0.08 > 0.12 43% $90 $128.78
10179 Millennium Falcon 2007 31.19% 0.10 > 0.49 409% $500 $2549.10
10174 Imperial AT-ST 2006 13.12% 0.07 > 0.18 136% $80 $189.54
10175 Vader's Tie Advanced 2006 17.31% 0.08 > 0.24 205% $100 $305.64
10143 Death Star II 2005 14.95% 0.09 > 0.26 204% $300 $911.28
10134 Y-Wing Attack Starfighter 2004 18.5% 0.08 > 0.38 361% $120 $552.90
10129 Rebel Snowspeeder 2003 20.22% 0.09 > 0.56 531% $130 $819.60

 At first glance, you can already tell R2-D2 has a great potential future, and the giddiness should really set in when you notice the % increase trends over the past decade.  Even when you take away 10179, a holy grail for many collectors, there are still impressive gains and some with even greater gains than 10179!  10186, a more recent set that I don’t think has ever gotten as much love, shows that even the less popular UCS sets are showing a steady CAGR and percent increase over the original retail price. An even bigger positive for the future of this set is noting just how recently 10212 went EOL and the staggering rate at which the set has increased in value over just the last few months. Bottom line is - you may have to invest more with a UCS set, but if you have the means to hold onto this set for a few years, you will make some decent money.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

I think drool inducing or jaw-dropping might be good descriptors to begin describing the display attributes for this set.  As with any UCS set - the display factor is one the sealing deals for any potential collector and this baby is brimming with it. It’s the perfect size and compliment to my UCS Lego Yoda - like these two were meant to go together on the shelf. It’s light and bright colors, mixed with fantastic details simply wow anyone who looks at it. I would recommend having the third leg extended for display purposes, since the tilt and extra leg make it that much cooler.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10

Bottom line is this is the kind of set that will bring a person out of the dark ages and back into Lego and all of its wonders. I love all of the UCS sets, but R2-D2 simply leaves me in awe because of it’s overall beauty, ingenuity, playability, and overall creative design. Basically, this is one of those few sets in existence that I would pay big money for, and if a cheapo like me will admit that - then this is a win for any potential investor.


Finally, look at the top rated sets on this site and the UCS R2-D2 is the best of the best - if I haven’t convinced you already how amazing R2-D2 is, then let that be the closer. With a May 2012 release date, you probably have at least until the 2013 holiday season to secure yours, but this is one of those times that you don’t want to gamble waiting on. Heck, I don’t know how you even made it to the end of this review without stopping to order a set or three. Seriously, stop everything you’re doing - buy two sets before it goes EOL. If you can sit one - my guess is you will make some serious green and still have one to proudly display.


Review from: MartinP
Reviewed on: Apr 24, 2013
Avatar for: MartinP
Join Date: 04/14/2013
# of Reviews: 65

Overall Personal Score

9.90

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10
The Lego Star Wars Ultimate Collectors Series (UCS) R2-D2 10225 is an amazing set. When I went into the local Lego Store, I just had to have one. I own one and as soon as I got home, I started to build it. I wanted the set so I could a piece of Star Wars in my house. I think that this (UCS) is a definite wow set. R2-D2 had a role in every single one of the Star Wars films. It is a great set to have in your collection. This will definitely be an iconic set in the future, just because of the popularity of the actual R2-D2.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 10
The UCS R2-D2 has 2,127 pieces in the entire set, at a cost of only 179.99. This make the Price Per Piece lower than other sets at eight cents ($0.08) per piece. The set comes with only one minifigure, which is R2-D2 himself. I think that there may be some pieces that are rare, such as the plate that the sticker with the information goes on. Also, there may be fewer sets that have certain pieces in a certain color. This set is a great set if you are looking for a bargain in price per piece. When you look at the box of the set, you think that the color of the pieces will be white and blue. Well, you think wrong. The set contains some colors other than white and blue such as green, yellow, and red. These pieces are used in the interior building of the set.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10
Overall, the set was a fun and exciting build. Since that different sections of the set were split into different bags I did not have to search for the pieces I needed that much, which makes for a faster and less frustrating build. It is also fun to play with all the different compartments where different things are. You can also make the set go from having three treads to having two treads or the opposite for which ever one you like more.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10
This set is a great bargain at only eight cents per piece ($0.08). The UCS sets have always gone up in value. A set that you could buy at the store ten years ago for about a hundred fifty dollars ($150) now sells for almost a thousand dollars new ($1000!). I would buy two of these sets: one to build and the other to save for a couple of years and then sell it. Overall it is a great buy.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10
A Lego Star Wars UCS is definitely popular. Any set under the category of UCS is great. The second largest set ever produced the 10179 Millennium Falcon is a UCS, so this is definitely a popular set.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9
The set is not marked exclusive, in limited production, or from a Lego trade show. From all the stores that I have been to, I did not see the set on the store selves except for the good old Lego store. Also, the set is a Star Wars UCS, which makes it a little more of a special edition than other Lego sets.

PACKAGING | Score: 10
The box of the set is a high quality box. I have different types of boxes and this box feels of a much higher quality. It is alike to the other boxes in many ways. It definitely deserves the price on it.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10
The potential growth for this set in enormous. The UCS sets have a good, positive growth. right now it is valued around two hundred dollars for a new set and it is not even retired. I personally think that the value will go up. After it is retired I think that the value will go up a lot. like many of the other UCS sets did.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10
This set was made to be a display piece. With the information card and high amount of details it is a great display piece. I definitely think it can create a conversation when a person may see it. This set is definitely a impressive set when you compare it to other sets.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10
I think that this set is a great set. Everything about this set is fun and exciting. With a good potential to be worth more in the future and a great retail price. I would want to go buy another one. Even though this set is not a giant like the 10179 Millennium Falcon, it still is fun to build and play with. I hope that anyone who reads this will agree with me and get one of these sets themselves.


Review from: Ludorip
Reviewed on: Mar 2, 2013
Join Date: 02/23/2013
# of Reviews: 4

Overall Personal Score

9.40

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9

PACKAGING | Score: 8

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10


Review from: Raykong
Reviewed on: Feb 19, 2013
Join Date: 12/29/2012
# of Reviews: 1

Overall Personal Score

8.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 6

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9

PACKAGING | Score: 9

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 9

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 9

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9


Review from: cvail8
Reviewed on: Dec 29, 2012
Join Date: 06/19/2012
# of Reviews: 8

Overall Personal Score

8.90

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 8

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

PACKAGING | Score: 8

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9