Ratings and Reviews for 10214-1: Tower Bridge

10214-1: Tower Bridge

Overall Score

8.68
View Price Guide Review this Set
  • First Impression Feelings after first look? 9.00
  • Unique Parts/Minifigures Unique parts? Increase resale? 7.33
  • Playability/Build Experience Is this a "FUN" set to build? 7.67
  • Value for money (NEW) "Bang for your buck"? 9.50
  • Theme Popularity Will theme help with resale? 9.00
  • Exclusivity Unique production aspects? 7.33
  • Packaging Does this set stand out? 8.00
  • Growth Potential Possibility of revenue growth? 10
  • Display Attributes Does this set stand out? 10
  • Conclusion Your final analysis.. 9.00

6 Brickpicker Member Reviews

Review from: Fcbarcelona101
Reviewed on: Apr 27, 2013
Avatar for: Fcbarcelona101
Join Date: 01/13/2013
# of Reviews: 51

Overall Personal Score

8.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

This set could not be more impressive at first sight, when we are talking about world landmark like the London Bridge recreated in LEGO form there are not many things that can achieve a better impression. Not only is the building a popular world structure, but the way LEGO designers put this together deserves a stading ovation, as excessive as that may sound.

Let me be honest, this is the set that brought me into the LEGO investment world when I saw it built and my local LEGO store. After admiring for a while I decided to go home and see what others landmarks like this TLG may have recreated, and was received by the Taj Mahal, Eiffel Tower and the Statue of Liberty. The prices I was seeing online were sort of a wake up call about how profitable these little bricks I had loved so much before could be.

With that personal note out of the way, I believe that every AFOL would want to have this model displayed in their collection, and it was actually the first set I bought with my LEGO investment profits. Also the set looks huge on display, it can easily be the centerpiece of any collection and will for sure get people talking!

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

If there is a category where this otherwise great model is lacking is in the unique parts. It is amazing to me how in a set with more than 4,000 pieces there are only a handful of exclusive pieces. It's probably not a big deal, but it would add just so much value if a set of this size included bricks that would only be found here. The great majority of the pieces are pretty standard things you usually see a lot, and let me say that there are more than 500 1x1 tan slopes in this set, so if you need some for your MOCs this will provide you with a lifetime supply!

The set does not come with any traditional minifigures, but it does have 4 brick built cars that complement the set nicely and help make it more realistic.The more lackluster but nice to have are a regular green car and a yellow truck. The two others are very nice, since they are form part of what you think about how London really is. One of them is a nice black London cab, and the other one is the extremely famous red double decker bus. I find it better that the designers decided to go with brick built versions instead of some other option, because they are both fun to build and also really good looking.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

The build experience is not something I would categorize as extremely fun, and I will try to explain exactly what the issue is. I first want to disclose that I realize that the building method was necessary for the characteristics of the set, so I am not complaining about the way the designed things, just on the fact that it can get very tedious sometimes.

First, it is a symmetrical build, which means you will be doing each step twice. Even more, the set is just a couple of exactly the same tower design so there really is no section of the build where you are not repeating steps. Not only are both towers the same, but pretty much every single floor of the four that constitute each of the towers is almost exactly the same as the one below it! making it even more repetitive. There are some minor variations on some of the floors, very minor, and you'll start knowing the steps by memory once you hit the third floor. At least the "crown" of the towers is a very interesting build and helps you finish the tower feeling good about yourself.

The road sections and the pieces that simulate the hanging bridge feature are very nice to build and help some with changing the pace of the rest of the structure. I will say, and this was my personal experience here, this set is perfect if you plan to build this with someone else. All those things that I said before make it really easy for both people to build at the same time since each can work on the same steps for different towers and there is no need to take turns or interfere with each other. It really is a nice experience if you end up doing it with family or friends.

Playability in this set is almost non existent. I guess you can play for a while with the cars and lifting up the bridge and so on, but the main objective of this set is to be a great display piece.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

Let's now take a look at the value for the money charts:

Model MSRP Number of Pieces Price Per Piece
       
10214 - Tower Bridge $ 239.99 4,287 $ 0.06
10181 - Eiffel Tower $ 199.99 3,428 $ 0.06
10189 - Taj Mahal $ 299.99 5,922 $ 0.05
3450 - Statue of Liberty $ 198.99 2,882 $ 0.07

As the chart above me shows, the price per piece ratio of the 10214, as all the other large scale models, is pretty good. At $ 0.06 per piece this set gives you a pretty good bang for your buck. There is one caveat here however, in that as said on a previous section you also get a large number of 1x1 tan slopes and some other small pieces that increase piece count, make the price per piece ratio lower, but may not be a very valuable piece overall.

All the three large scale models share pretty much the same PPP, a fact that may be explained just by the size of the set. Usually, the larger the sets the better the PPP ratio, unless we are dealing with a licensed theme like Star Wars that gets added a premiun over the raw price of the actual bricks. The Tower Bridge set is also the third largest LEGO set ever produced based on piece count and this supports the case of it being a set offering a great value for the money.

The MSRP is set at a level I would consider to be a great and affordable price point, and you can even find this set discounted even further at some point in places like Amazon, Target, etc. The most common discount brings the set down to $ 219.99, that puts the PPP ratio around 5 cents. This model is as close as a bargain as you can get with LEGOs and is a very good deal even at retail price.

I will rate this set as a 9 in value for the money. Large amount of pieces, low price, great deal!

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

The large scale model theme is a great performer as evidenced by the theme CAGR of 22.37%. This figure puts the theme in the 11 position when ranked based on CAGR, making it a better performer than some of other more talked about theme like Harry Potter, Star Wars, etc.

The appeal of the theme is in my opinion very focused on AFOLs that want display value over play features. Most of the sets in the theme are very good on the price per piece ratio, on the level of detail and also on raw piece count. All aspects that most adults would consider before making a big investment in LEGOs, be it to hold and sell later or just to build and display at home or the office.

Looking a little deeper into the popularity of the theme we can find out that not even one set that has ever been released under it has underperformed. In fact, every single one of theme currently shows a CAGR of above 30 %, with the notable exception of the Dreamliner, whose CAGR is "only"  around 20%. To show the actual relevance of this number I think it is important that we put in on perspective first, by comparing it to a set that every single LEGO investor wishes to have and that is considered by many to be the End All of LEGO investing, the UCS 10179 Millenium Falcon.

Ready to be blown away? The 10179 released on 2007 has a CAGR of exactly 31.19 % as of today (4/27/2013). Let me give you this same figure for some of the large scale model sets:

  • 10189 Taj Mahal (2008):     36 %
  • 10181 Eiffel Tower (2007): 30.99 %
  • 10187 WV Beetle (2008):   30.58 %

I don't know about you, but I would argue that people need to start focusing their attention away from trying to find the second coming of the 10179 on the SW theme and start looking for it where it has already happened three times, Large Scale Models. The numbers above are pretty convincing, the Taj Mahal's CAGR crushes that of the 10179, and the other 2 sets are as close its performance as it gets.

The numbers are especially significant for another reason. Notice that I put the release dates of the sets next to each one. The reason I did this is because even though the CAGR figure may be somewhat distorted as soon as a set goes EOL as a consequence of the fast growth period usually following retirement, it seems not to be a factor in this case. All the three sets showed above were released the same year or the very next year that the MF, thus their CAGR are probably at a stable level already.

I hope that this analysis helps shed some light and make investors focus a little bit more on the large scale model sets where profits close or better than the 10179 have already been reproduced.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 7

This set is an exclusive to LEGO stores and some online stores of big box retailers. The set is marked with the standard 10XXX numeration usually given to exclusives, but other than that it has been on the market for a little over 2 years already and is not particularly unique for any other reason.

PACKAGING | Score: 8

The box is pretty big and sturdy, expected on a set this size. The graphics on the front are ver nice with a city background and the model placed on the water as it stands in London. It is a very elegant design and every time I spend sometime at the LEGO store AFOL's seem to always be admiring the set and making positive comments about it, so I assume that it fulfills its mission.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

Let's set up the comparables table before going into the investment potential of the model: (Data from Brickpicker)

Model Release Date MSRP CAGR Current Market Value (New) HPR*
           
3450 - Statue of Liberty 2000 $ 198.99 15.33 % $ 1,270.50 538.47 %
10181 - Eiffel Tower 2007 $ 199.99 30.99 % $ 1,010.50 405.28 %
10189 - Taj Mahal 2008 $ 299.99 36.00 % $ 1,395.63 365.23 %
10214 - Tower Bridge 2010 $ 239.99  N/A N/A N/A

*HPR: Holding Period Return, assuming the set was purchased at retail on the day of released and sold today.

 I left out some of the other Large Scale Model sets because they didn't have as close number of pieces 10214, and added 3450 even though it's not technicaly on the same time because it is a very similar set nonetheless.
 
So, every set showcased in the table above has a current market value of over $ 1,000, very high CAGRs and triple digit HPR in the mid hundreds. Three characteristics I wished I could see on every single LEGO set I currently own for investment purposes. Especially good is to compare 10214 with its two closest relatives, the Taj Mahal and the Eiffel Tower. The CAGR of those two sets sits above 30%, and it has already been at least 5 years since those sets were originally released. Even more, the MSRP set for both of those sets is in around the same range of what the Tower Bridge is going for currently AND the price per piece ratio are also exactly the same on one case or extremely close in the other.
 
I can see Tower Bridge rewarding investors with close to the same percentages shown above. If some of the assumptions out there about the increasing number of investors currently present in the market are true and significant, then the set may perform slightly worse than its predecessors. Having said that, who in here is going to complain if the set produces a CAGR of around 25% a couple of years after it is retired? That would put the set around $ 800 in 5 years, pretty good if you ask me. However, I really don't see this set giving back "only" 25%, but something closer to the historical performance of large scale models, maybe around 28% to be a little conservative. You could see it hit $ 1,000 in a little less than 6 years.
 
Tower Bridge is the third largest set ever produced, and even if LEGO releases a larger set in the following years, this one will continue to be in the top 10 in the long run. This is always good, pleople want to own the largest models, for bragging rights or just because it looks very cool, and this helps push the prices of sets like this up faster than smaller ones. Furthermore, this set has a pretty good price per piece ratio and something that I have not mention before is the fact that even when this set hits around $ 500, people looking to purchase are still going to receive a very nice PPP close to $ 0.11, and a set consisting of a extremely high number of pieces, making the decision a little easier to justify and allowing buyers to feel they are getting a good value for such large amount of money. This is a great characteristic of sets like this, they can double in value and the statistics will play in the sellers favor by still looking as a pretty fair price to pay for such a large model.
 
Also, in this case the fact that the set is part from a more generic theme focused more in adult collectors can also improve the odds in does well in the after market. There is no flick missiles or play features in here, just a 100% collectors item that everyone, even non LEGO fans can look at and enjoy. From architecture buffs to the average Joe who loves world landmarks, this set will remain popular after retirement to a broad range of people.
 
I give it a 10 in growth potential. Get as many as you can afford, especially if you find it discounted.
 
*Quick note: all this analysis is based on the premise that current trends will maintain. If for some unlikely reason the LEGO market collapses I guess I don't really have to tell you that what I projected above may very well not come true*

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

The set gets another perfect score on display value. Despite the tedious build and the infinite number of 1x1 slopes, the completed thing looks as amazing as any Star Wars UCS set. It is a very realistic looking structure and some of my family members prefer it to any other set I own, even considering the UCS sets like the SSD or the Death Star. Kind of proves my point that even people not into LEGO will love this set!

The blue baseplates are a great touch, it helps make the set look like it is actually on the water like the real thing. The vehicles again add to the overall look of the set and help set the scene even more. There are just too many small details that pop out when you are closely admiring the model, but even by just taking a quick look this set will impress anyone that comes by your collection. It is also a very elegant set that makes it clear it is not a toy, but a very nice display piece that would fit nicely in any office.

Great display value, 10 in my book.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10

I will rate this set as an overall 10. When you examine it by what it is supposed to be I really don't think you could rate it less than a 9 unless you really hate the building experience!

This set comes with several things I like on a LEGO set:

  • Great display value
  • Large piece count
  • Highly detailed
  • HUGE investment potential

So, get yours before it goes EOL maybe as soon as the end of this year, and be prepared to rake in the dollars in a couple years!


Review from: srm_520
Reviewed on: Apr 25, 2013
Avatar for: srm_520
Join Date: 03/05/2013
# of Reviews: 24

Overall Personal Score

9.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

With the light blue and white cable bricks and colorful blue bases paired with the imposing tan structure, this set is simply impressive when complete. It’s overall imposing size makes it a great relative to other large “building” sets such as the Taj Mahal or The Eiffel Tower, but the color scheme and even the inclusion of tiny british vehicles make for an awesome first impression.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

 There are no true minifigs with this sets - boo! However, one could consider the four included vehicles a worthy stand in. My favorite is of course the double decker bus with it’s clear brick windows and cool entryway. It really makes more sense anyway, since minifig would not be to scale and seem like a silly juxtaposition to the vehicles.


Unique parts is kind of a mixed bag since when a set has 4287 pieces - you’re going to get a lot of unique pieces. There is enough diversity where Bricklinker’s would probably want to choose a different large set with a more condensed piece list (This set will run you a good 10 pages of parts to find). However, I can safely say I don’t ever want to see a 1x1 tan slope brick again. It gives it a great smooth finished look, but there are a whopping 556 or about 13% of your overall piece total devoted to this single brick!

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 7

Believe it not, for a large scale set - The Tower Bridge has a great level of playability with the roadway, cars, and even a moveable drawbridge. I think my four year-old spent the entire build time running those tiny cars back and forth about five thousand times, and it really added a new dimension when we added some cars from other various sets. It wasn’t quite to scale, but it was fun flying them off the bridge.


The build experience on the Tower Bridge was good - not amazing - but good. The biggest pro is simply constructing a set of this scale, but I will warn of the overall repetitiveness of the build. Honestly, the majority of your build experience is constructing the same huge tower twice. It’s not a huge negative, but certainly something to consider from a collectors standpoint and something that could negatively influence potential buyers.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

The Tower Bridge is simply one of the best price per piece sets you are going to find on the current market. Buying the set at the $240 retail price means each piece costs about 5.6 cents. In terms of per piece breakdown that is an awesome deal. In the history of Lego, only nine sets have numbered over 3000+ pieces, and of them only three are on the current market (Current sets are bolded). Here is the historical per piece breakdown for these large scale sets and their cost breakdown per piece:

 

 

Set Number Set Name Pieces Original Retail Cost Original Price Per Piece(NIB) Current Price Per Piece (NIB)
 10189  Taj Mahal  5922 300.00 5.1 cents  26 cents
 10179  UCS Millennium Falcon  5195  500.00  9.6 cents  49 cents
 10214  Tower Bridge  4287  240.00  5.6 cents  ---
 10188  UCS Death Star  3803  400.00  10.5 cents  ---
 10143  UCS Death Star II  3441  300.00  8.7 cents  26 cents
 10181  Eiffel Tower  3428  200.00  5.8 cents  29 cents
 10196  Grand Caousel  3263  250.00  7.7 cents  34 cents
 10221  UCS Super Star Destroyer  3152  400.00  12.7 cents  ---
 10030  UCS Imperial Star Destroyer  3096  300.00  9.7 cents  35 cents

 

 

Based simply on these numbers alone, buyer’s know this is a sweet deal for the third largest Lego set ever produced. Only the Taj Mahal can claim a slight advantage, but consider it’s 2008 release date and adjust for inflation, and you simply can’t beat what value you are getting in the Tower Bridge. It’s also important to note the dream you're living thinking you could find the listed EOL sets at retail prices, but I’ll breakdown why these numbers are a major encouragement for investors in the Growth Potential category.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

I find it’s hard to consider “Large Scale Models” or “Buildings” a theme, but if you do - then based on the other sets in that theme - you almost guarantee a winner. Seriously, what kid doesn’t dream about building the biggest Lego sets ever created - and what adult coming out the dark age doesn’t salivate at the opportunity to own a set they could only dream about as a child. At the end of the day investors and collectors alike still have the Lego bug at heart, and every set in this theme could be the crowning jewel of a collection.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9

The Tower Bridge isn’t some set you’re going to find on your local Wal-Mart shelves. When the Lego catalog says “Exclusive” or “Hard to Find” - they mean just that. You must visit your local Lego store, or like most of us, just go online. If you are patient, online Wal-Mart, Target, or even Amazon does throw out the occasional deal, so I’ve seen this set go as low as $200, which just makes it that much more of a steal.


One other invest factor you’ll want to consider in the exclusivity category is that The Tower Bridge has passed that unofficial EOL two-year marker. This ambiguous run schedule says that this set may be nearing the end, but could hamper potential investment returns the longer the run goes. I wouldn’t start worrying about this too much unless it stays alive past the holiday season into next year.

PACKAGING | Score: 9

The Tower Bridge has an interesting issue with packaging and it’s different runs. The piece count on the box depending on which run you obtain is different. The original run shows a piece count of 4287 pieces, while it has been reported that newer runs has a piece count of 4295. I don’t know exactly when this happened, or if they will never run a box with the 4287 piece number again, but it could also become an interesting factor when investing. Early investors in this set like myself would hope that the original piece count might become something like a “1st Edition,” or it could also become a complete non-factor - the future will tell.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

When looking at the Tower Bridge from a pure investment standpoint - odds are in your favor. Let’s look at the growth of the other large scale sets, minus the Stars Wars theme because that’s an animal all in it’s own. The Taj Mahal and the Eiffel Tower are the best comparisons, but I have also included the Grand Carousel since it still runs on the same lines of large scale exclusive sets. As of April 2013, here are the following key stats to these EOL large scale sets:

 

 

Set Number Set Name Release Date CAGR Per Piece Increase (cents)
% Increase from Retail Current Dollar Value (NIB)
10181 Eiffel Tower 2007 30.99% 5.8 > 29.5 405% $1395.63
10189 Taj Mahal 2008 36% 5.1 > 23.5 365% $1010.50
10196 Grand Carousel 2009 44.84% 7.6 > 33.7 340% $1100.24

 

 

Are you digesting this information? First, and most importantly for current market growth and future growth potential, these CAGR numbers are simply staggering. I get giddy when the CAGR value climbs to 15% on a set because it showing great growth but 30% is more of an explosion of demand. These are the kind of sets you wish you knew about four years ago and have truly become dream investments. If the Tower Bridge even approaches the 20 cent per piece mark, then you are selling for over $857, and 30 cents will fetch you a princely $1286 bucks! How does a 3X-5X return on the initial investment sound to you?


Another great factor is the initial investment costs. Compared to a typical large scale Star Wars model - this is a drop in the bucket. Take the UCS Millennium Falcon, the investors pride and joy, and cause for much of what created this market for Lego investing. Compare it to the Eiffel Tower released the same year, and you are seeing the same profit returns! Plus, having $200 locked up in one investment is a lot easier to work with than $500 locked up in one investment. That’s phenomenal growth and shouldn’t be ignored for anyone looking at investing in the Tower Bridge.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

Much like other large sets, the display attributes is truly where the Tower Bridge shines. This is one of those sets, where if you have the room, you want it to be shown off to the world. Let’s be honest, every time someone comes to my house and goes slack-jawed and speechless, then I know this is one amazing display piece. It’s also worthy to note - that semi-deconstruction is easy since it’s just a few technic pieces holding the roadbed together, so it’s easy to get it out of the way if you need to.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

The Tower Bridge was my first true investment set, and I think it’s easy to see why. Long before I knew great sites like Brickpicker existed, or even knew that investing in Lego could make me money - this set just made sense. I was getting the third largest set at a price I could afford, (more importantly a price my wife could live with) and I know in a few years I could potentially double if not triple my investment.

 

Like many investors, I anxiously play the EOL waiting game, and hold my breath everytime I see those magical words “sold out.” I believe it’s time will come sooner rather than later. When that time comes, I promise you will be kicking yourself if you didn’t join the bandwagon. For collectors, it’s a beautiful set that reigns surpreme in many collections, but for investors - I believe it’s a no-brainer money maker.


Review from: mikeur86
Reviewed on: Apr 25, 2013
Avatar for: mikeur86
Join Date: 04/21/2013
# of Reviews: 84

Overall Personal Score

8.50

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

My first impression of the Tower Bridge is likely similar to anyone else viewing it for the first time. It's HUGE!  In-fact the word "Huge" doesn't even begin to describe the size of this. It's GINORMOUS!

Over 4,000 pieces this is by far the largest LEGO set in my collection but it was purchased with one thought in mind and that is purely as an investment. While I would love nothing more than to construct this mammoth of a set, there is simply no room in my house to display the model. Also, I don't want to risk constructing one of these and having my son knock it over and then facing the battle of re-construction.

Yes, the Tower Bridge is a little intimidating but when you factor in the profits of the other two models in this series(Eiffel Tower, Taj Mahal) there is simply no arguing the fact that this beast of a set is going to yield some amazing results.

So with that said here is my "First Impression":

  • Very large
  • Beautifully Designed
  • Highly detailed
  • Excellent Price Point for a Potentially Great Investment.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

I haven't opened this set up but its probably safe to assume that in the 4,287 pieces that are included in this Tower Bridge set there has to be some sort of uniqueness to it. I will admit that the little modular cars pictured on the box are pretty neat. Unlike other sets that may be parted out for profits this set in particular you are going to want to keep intact if at all possible. Keeping this in its entirety will help you yield the best profits. So, if I were you...don't open this!

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10

I'm going to give this a ten for build experience as with any large scale models you have to assume it's going to take half a day to construct. The employee at our local LEGO store said he bought and built one of these and it took him ten and a half hours to construct. Whoah!

This model leaves it wide open for playability too. When I stocked up on this set my son Oohed and Awed for days. I could see it in his eyes too, he wanted to crack it open and use all the mini-figures he has in his own collection and play around with it. Since this isn't an Eiffel Tower that can just be displayed you can actually get some play time from this model. After all, your model cars can drive up and down the bridge and if you have a City or Town set up, this mammoth can lead into it.

Overall, I give it a ten as far as build experience and playability come. Great Bang for your buck here!

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

Ahhh the value of this behemoth. When I first stumbled upon this website I thought how ludicrous it was to invest your hard earned money into Lego sets. Then I started looking at the numbers. And folks, numbers don't lie! That saying is the truth. I researched and looked up many different sets and series and when it came time to actually invest this is the set I purchased. Brand new retail this set's price per piece is cheap at around 5 cents a pop. This of course depends on if you can get the set on sale or not. As far as parting out, you are going to want to keep this set intact if at all possible to maintain full value and maximize your profit.

To maximize your profits look at many different aspects of purchasing this set. Ask yourself these questions:

  • Is the item on sale currently?
  • Are there any store specific deals or coupons that I can take advantage of? (Toys-R-Us Buy One Get One 40% off)
  • Can I get Reward Points from purchasing this set? Purchasing at S@H you can get 249 reward points. Maybe you should wait for a double point weekend.
  • Do I want to pay cash or use a credit card? Using a credit card when you don't have the money is a terrible idea! So don't do that! But, if you have the cash to pay for it consider using a credit card that offers 5% cash back or other rewards points that will help you get more bang for your buck!

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is what my situation was like:

  • I purchased 4 of these at Toys-R-Us for 239.99 and utilized the Buy One Get One 40% off sale.
  • That dropped the price(before tax) to $192.19 EACH!
  • I spent over $775.00 that day and put it on my credit card which was offering 5% cash back.
  • Thats another 40.00 off the total right there dropping the price of each set to $182.19 (before tax). *Of course these rewards aren't delivered usually until the next cycle but its still savings!*
  • So I instantly had equity in my investment. These are selling for full retail on the secondary market and if I wanted to I could flip some of them right now, of course after fees the profit is miniscule and not worth it.

Look for opportunities like this. If you know you still have some time to buy a set then wait until the perfect moment.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

I am going to rate this a 10 as far as popularity goes. What kid wouldn't want a four thousand piece set to play with? Yes, it's a tower bridge but its so big that other sets can be used to play with it. I could imagine my son playing with his Star Wars space ships half defending the bridge and the other half attacking. Possibilities are endless. Another aspect of this theme is the fact that all three of these sets can be displayed and looked at in complete amazement! I've seen large scale models before and one could easily spend hours just looking at all of the fine details. This is definitely one of those sets and the designers did an excellent job creating it and its predecessors.

I foresee every model in this theme in the future to explode in the secondary market as well. Looking at every Lego in the market, this just makes sense.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 5

As far as exclusiveness to this set there is none. That goes the same with production runs, its been on the market an additional year longer than its predecessors. All of the major retailers have this set on their website and they are all priced similar. When the prices are all the same look at other areas to compare. For example, LEGO's return policy is 90 days whilst Target is 60 days. If you want an additional 30 days to make sure your buyers remorse doesn't take over you then I would purchase from S@H. Also remember loyalty and rewards cards. You may have a Target RedCard but on double VIP points for LEGO you are earning 10% back!

PACKAGING | Score: 7

I love the packaging on this. The colors and the size of the box just really pop out at me. The Lego Group did a great job boxing this up. I can stare at all of my unopened sets together for hours. Some of my friends say its Lego Porn. I am a collector though...okay a hoarder. But this is for investment purposes I swear!

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

As stated above this was the first set that I purchased when it came to investing into Lego's. When I told my wife that I wanted to take a small portion of our savings and put into LEGO products she looked at me crazy. But after showing her the numbers, the graphs and proving that Lego's were making better money than my 401k it became clear that this wasn't a bad idea at all! So, with that said I wanted to make sure I took advantage of this set as best I could. So I went to Toys-R-Us for the Buy One Get One 40% off. Luckily my store had 5 sets sitting on the shelf! Whaaaa! I scooped up four of them for an amazing price!!! So, if you can wait for a good sale like this and go down and grab one. Good thing about Toys-R-Us big scale models is that they are priced the same as other stores so this turned out to be a steal. Overall, I ended up purchasing ten of these sets. Did he just say ten!? YES!

I was fortunate enough to have quite a bit of stock in the company Apple. The stock boomed and everyone holding a couple of hundred shares made very nice returns. Let me tell you something, I had that stock for eight years. If I had taken all of that money and put it in say the Eiffel Tower or Taj Mahal and waited three years after it's retirement I would have yielded loads more cash then I did in the stocks. I have friends who push stocks on me all of the time. As soon as I mentioned Lego's they laughed in my face. But, like I said the numbers don't lie. 

So let's take a look at the three large scale models in the series. There is the Eiffel Tower the Taj Mahal and lastly what I'd like to call a shoe in, the Tower Bridge. 

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eiffel Tower

- 3,428 pieces

- Released in October 2007

- Retired November 2009

- Retail Price: $199.99

- Current Value of the Set: $1,010.50

 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Taj Mahal

- 5,922 pieces

- Released in August 2008

- Retired in November 2010

- Retail Price: $299.99

- Current Value of the set: $1,395.63

 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tower Bridge

- 4,287 pieces

- Released in October 2010

- Retired N/A

- Retail Price: $239.99

- Current Value of the set: $231.03

 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As you can see the previous two in the series faired VERY well in the secondary market after End of Line. Roughly three years after retirement both of these sets had more than tripled in value. One of the first questions I asked though: "Sure it's valued at that but is it truly worth that amount?" Answer is simply yes it is! One of the reasons why I love this website is that it pulls current ebay auctions that have sold and it takes an average price of the unit. These sets are consistently selling for over a thousand dollars each. Granted, both Eiffel Tower and Taj Mahal were only on the market two years while the Tower Bridge has been on the market already 3 years. Looking at the previous two sets though it's safe to say that this has a very good chance of retiring in November like the other two. Maybe its coincidence or maybe they push out the last bit of the line before Christmas and then move on.

So, putting my investor goggles on let's take a look at the pro's and con's do a little math and research that will help us better understand what kind of "potential returns" we can see with this Tower Bridge:

Pro's:

  • It's the second largest set in the series, Towering over the Eiffel Tower. Hee Hee.
  • It's reasonably priced at $239.99 right now and can be had at all the major retailers websites. But if you play your cards right and have a little lady luck on your side maybe you can catch this bad boy on sale like I did. Look at your local Toys-R-Us when they do the Buy One Get One 40% percent off sale(currently going on).
  • It's a gorgeous set! This would look beautifully just about anywhere.

Con's:

  • It's been on the market a solid three years already. This should have given everyone plenty of time to order this set. But the good news is, this gave everyone plenty of time to want this set. Times are harder right now and not everyone can afford this set. Perhaps in a few years they will be better off and will remember how bad they wanted this set now and it will spark an interest later on.  There will be hundreds, no thousands of people who later down the road come across Lego's and will want to pick up this set for either themselves, their children or purely as  an artistic sculpture to put up on their mantle.
  • It's The Tower Bridge. Everyone and their baby has heard of the Eiffel Tower and Taj Mahal. But the Tower Bridge? I did a test, I asked my wife what the Tower Bridge was and her response was: "What bridge?" This may hinder the profits a little because of the popularity of the monument. But for a pure Lego enthusiast who is going to spend a thousand dollars on a Lego set to begin with won't really care because this is a Lego monument in itself!

 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I personally project this set to double in value after one year of retirement. After that I feel that it will increase in value by at least it's current retail price($239.99) each year for an additional two years. At that three year point that is going to be the time to sell. I picked up ten of these and if my projections are even some what correct I am looking forward to a return of $7200.00!

Of course this is all speculations and I don't want anyone to read my projections and think I am some uber expert because I'm NOT. But, looking over certain LEGO sets over the past ten years there are some that consistently make people money. The large scale models are one of these themes that I feel fairs extremely well later on. If you have the extra funds and are looking to invest into a set, I encourage you to do a deep dive on the Tower Bridge and see what kind of results you find. It's not going to de-value so worst case scenario you keep your cash tied up in the sets as a rainy day fund and sell them for a break even price later on.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

The Tower Bridge is one of those sets that were developed to be displayed. It sits wonderfully and could be placed in so many different places around one's house or office building for anyone to admire. My friend has a small business with a front office. After I bought ten of these he too went out and purchased one and had his employees build it and it's now displayed in the front of the office. He tells me people come in and while they are waiting they're always checking it out. I have yet to go see it though in person but I've seen plenty of pictures online and the set is amazing. If you want a large scale model to be displayed then look no further! The Tower Bridge will meet all of your expectations!

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

Overall, I give this set a solid 9. Pushing aside all that I have said above, if you want a really cool design to display in your house then pick this up. If you read through my entire review and think I am nuts for picking up ten of these, just grab one and thank me later. But, if your like me and you took a look at the numbers of the earlier models in the series and you took in account everything given above then you shouldn't be left hanging with this set. Don't be left in the dark either, just get one set! I have read through many forum posts about this set and how it may not do as well as the other two which I agree, it might not. But if it does even half as well as the other two then its still a great return in a small period of time.

No one knows when this set is going to retire. Unless its a coincidence that the other two sets were retired in the month of November I feel like this year (2013) is going to be the last year for this set. Maybe you can hold off and pick this up on clearance sometime down the road but is it really worth the wait and the risk? That is up to you.

 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So my final analysis:

  • If you want a really cool looking set to build that takes up a lot of space. GET IT
  • If you want a beautifully designed and very detailed set. GET IT
  • If you are looking to invest your money into Lego sets. GET IT

I look forward in to three years from now when I am off loading these on the secondary market and I can't wait for the forth model in this series, I know its going to be a good one! With that my friends, why don't you bridge the gap in your collection and just go out and purchase one Tower Bridge 10214 set! You won't regret it.


Review from: FILAS
Reviewed on: Mar 21, 2013
Join Date: 03/15/2013
# of Reviews: 1

Overall Personal Score

8.50

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

PACKAGING | Score: 9

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9


Review from: Ed Mack
Reviewed on: Jan 2, 2013
Avatar for: Ed Mack
Join Date: 09/22/2011
# of Reviews: 49

Overall Personal Score

8.80

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 9

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

PACKAGING | Score: 7

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9


Review from: Damnation666
Reviewed on: Dec 21, 2012
Avatar for: Damnation666
Join Date: 02/29/2012
# of Reviews: 1

Overall Personal Score

8.50

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 7

PACKAGING | Score: 8

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8