Ratings and Reviews for 10184-1: Town Plan

10184-1: Town Plan

Overall Score

8.03
View Price Guide Review this Set
  • First Impression Feelings after first look? 8.00
  • Unique Parts/Minifigures Unique parts? Increase resale? 7.50
  • Playability/Build Experience Is this a "FUN" set to build? 8.00
  • Value for money (NEW) "Bang for your buck"? 7.75
  • Theme Popularity Will theme help with resale? 7.25
  • Exclusivity Unique production aspects? 8.75
  • Packaging Does this set stand out? 8.75
  • Growth Potential Possibility of revenue growth? 8.25
  • Display Attributes Does this set stand out? 7.75
  • Conclusion Your final analysis.. 8.25

4 Brickpicker Member Reviews

Review from: dietzmi
Reviewed on: Aug 8, 2015
Join Date: 08/10/2013
# of Reviews: 1

Overall Personal Score

9.60

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

A town plan or city center is always a must for Lego fans. This one was special as it contains the grand son and current owner of the Lego group in a look-a-like shirt from the set of 1958. I got this set during the famous Lego inside tour and had the peasrue of meeting Kjeld. What an event.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

I guess the grren on the town hall were new - at least to for many pieces being used here. 

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

The first cinema by TLG. This alone would have been a reason to purchase this set. My only complaint is a missing plan itself. Like the old cardborad or especially designed raod plates. This set malred the 50 years of Lego bricks, so I guess they could have done a bid better with actual roads.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

For a big set like this and the detail it contains I would say the value is great. It had a high price, but you get buildings, unique designs (like the curved window of the service station) cars and assesoires.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

City sets will always be vital to any Lego display. I know that some AFOLs don't like City. But this is the one theme that will always be present I assume

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 10

This set was done for the 50th anniversay of the Lego bricks. It also had the golden Lego bricks included, which we put into some set in 2008.

PACKAGING | Score: 10

This set included a letter from the Lego owner. Cnould not get any better

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

In my view this set will continue to grow as people will realize what a cornerstone set this is

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

I had this displayed and many of my friends were delighted. They liked the layout and actually thought I had donw this myself as a MOC. Since this set was so detailed and rich regarding the entire layout.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10

A must have set in any Lego collection or for the Lego enthusiast. The recent town sets / city centers are also nice, but do not resemble the past of Lego


Review from: kevinjuan_halim@ymail.com
Reviewed on: Jun 2, 2013
Join Date: 05/26/2013
# of Reviews: 6

Overall Personal Score

8.90

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

I bought this set from Ebay last year, and I was very impressed on this set. This set was inspired from a 1950's town and the original town plan set, which is the set that is depicted on the box art. My first point of this set is at the buildings. Every buildings included in this set are big and has a great detailing in each of it. There are a lot of exclusive pieces like the gold bricks on the fountain for example. The vehicles looks great and has realistic detailings in it.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 9

The set has 8 unique minifigures that are exclusive to this set  that are a huge amount of minifigures for $150.00. The minifigures are very compatible with other minifigures that come from the Modular Buildings series to both create a town and to collect. I like the fountain most because It is where the exclusive gold bricks are located. The buildings have a lot rare pieces/ stickers that are very rarely found in other LEGO sets. And the pieces became a very important factor that makes this set a very desirable set for any LEGO fans around the world.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 8

I really loved to build this set, I built it with the help of my father around 3-4 hours of enjoyable experience. Basically this set have a very small playability, but a very good building experience. The red tanker's rear have a tow hook to tow any car into the gas station. All of the buildings has a special building technique that is not included in other set. I like the gas station very much mecause it has a working car wash function that can be used to 'wash' the cars by moving in the cars from the inside. The building can be split in two using the two connector bricks in the middle of  the building. The rest of the buildings basically is focused on the building technique, so it doesn't really have any playability.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

As for 1981 pieces and 8 minifigs, I think $150.00 is a very good count for the amount of money. It has a lot of exclusive and rare pieces that can be used to raise the prices . It grows very well at the price for each year and it grows about $43.00 each year which a very good thing.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

Well, te town plan has been discontinued long ago and it's not very good at sales, but this set makes a different thoughts about the theme. This set sells very well with a high rating when it's still on sale in LEGO.com. Everyone wants this set for a city builder now and that's why now this set  makes a very good investing product for LEGO investors that could make a very positive growth in every LEGO secondary market in the world.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 9

Well technically I get this as my birthday present from my parents when I was 8 so I didn't know very well how long does it takes to get this. But he said he searched a lot of toy stores to get this. So I think because this set is marked 'exclusive' it's very hard to find and rarely found in toy stores. But anyway, this set is NOT a limited edition set so you don't need to worry if you are planning to buy this set at ebay because I'm sure there's still a lot of  stock for this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 10

Now the packaging, the second most important part of this set. There is a very special thing about the set's packaging that is not included in other LEGO set.  The packaging has a picture of the company owner, Kjeld Kirk Christiansen on the box playing with the original Town Plan set. The box of this set will be very helpful to help this set grow in LEGO markets in case you lost some pieces. And if the box is not included if you want sell this set at ebay, the price will go down drastically. So my advice for you: keep the box in a comfortable place, do not throw it away.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 9

This set's potential growth is about 33-35% from the original retail price, $150.00. And I bet it will continue to grow every year, especially it has a lot of minifigures and pieces that are rare and exclusive, as I mentioned before. Because it's a retired set, people will pay a fortune just to get this set in their collection. So they do appreciate this set very much more than ever before.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 9

This is a great set that is very compatible to display with LEGO Modular Buildings set , especially with the amount of minifigures that are included in this set you can make large city with or without adding any modulars to display together with this set. It's very unique and comparable with the original Town Plan sets, with much more details and bigger size. It includes a lot of special building techniques that are innovative and only included in this set which makes it more realistic-looking.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

First impression:9

Unique parts/minifigures:9

Playability/ build experience:8

Value for money:9

Theme popularity:8

Exclusivity:9

Packaging:9

Growth potential:10

Display attributes:9

So from all that factors I would give this set a total of 8.9 out of 10. I really like the whole set, the packaging, the pieces and minifigs are all great. But, this set lacks in playability. The only building that have a good point of playability is the gas station. The rest of the building relies on the display factor and special building techniques. But overall it is a good set for both LEGO investors/collectors. So if anyone does really wanted this set, you should buy now  before it raises again.


Review from: Ed Mack
Reviewed on: Mar 17, 2013
Avatar for: Ed Mack
Join Date: 09/22/2011
# of Reviews: 49

Overall Personal Score

8.60

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 10

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 6

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 6

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 10

PACKAGING | Score: 10

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 8

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9


Review from: minifig2018
Reviewed on: Mar 5, 2013
Join Date: 02/16/2013
# of Reviews: 2

Overall Personal Score

5.00

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 5

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 6

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 5

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 6

PACKAGING | Score: 5

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 4

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 4

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 5