Ratings and Reviews for mikeur86

71000-4: Heroic Knight
71000-4: Heroic Knight
Reviewed on: Jun 20, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 4

Heroic Knight is one of those figures that has a lot of detail and overall is one of the best figures in the series in my opinion. Sure, there are other Knights in the Lego world and you may have some from the Medieval series. However, none of them look like this guy and he would be a wonderful addition to any medieval scene. For past and present this guy can make a presence whether it be jousting with a fellow Lego buddy or making an appearance at a Renaissance festival that you have decided to host in the Lego Park outside your Lego Apartment building. Possibilities are everywhere.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

The Heroic Knight looks awesome. All silver, has a sword and a shield with a crown in the center and dark shades of gray and white pictured on it. On the helmet a white feather pokes out from behind. The front faceplate opens and closes. The chest piece that this guy is wearing matches the shields color of shades of grey. Same with the pant legs. I think this figure is pretty cool and unique and can fit in just about anyones collection.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 3

Mini-figures have the highest amount of value when considering playability. Kids love them and they really make every set more enjoyable. The Heroic Knight is one of those figures that can be played with in many different LEGO scenes and my son really enjoys this figure. The Knight can protect the king and queen in the medieval knights realm or he can ward off Sith Lords with the other Knights of the Republic. No matter where this character is, he has a lot of worth. Thats why I really enjoy these figures.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

Once again, the figure has a lot of value especially considering these are only 3.00 brand new and can often be found for cheaper if you are patient. This is an excellent deal considering when visiting the local LEGO store it costs $3.33 to build your own character. You may find some really good deals after the next series comes out. For example, as soon as Series 10 dropped the Series 9 prices went down to $1.99 and even as low as 99 cents. So, as far as value, these figures have a bunch to offer.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

The Series Mini-figures are a very popular theme. Every kid loves a good figure and these series have plenty to offer. There are hidden gems in each bag. So when you open it, you get the rush of curiosity and wonder of whats inside. That feeling alone is worth the couple of bucks spent. It reminds me of the old baseball card chasing days. The hunt and feel of trying to find that rare card. Same with these series figures. Kids can compare and trade with friends. TLG did a wonderful job with these.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There is nothing exclusive about this mini-figure.

PACKAGING | Score: 3

I really enjoy the series 9 packaging. The silver color with black question marks and the mini-figures featured on the bag. Everything was well put together, they are small and very lightweight which makes it very easy and cheap to ship. Easy to store and the cases that they came in were small as well.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 1

When speaking of the mini-figures there really isn't any growth. Especially with the Heroic Knight whom can be found frequently on ebay for 99 cents. While he has sold for more, its not much more. Don't expect to turn a huge profit unless you paid pennies for this. Sure one day the entire set may be worth something as a whole but this individual character isn't going to be paying the bills.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 2

Some people are into displaying mini-figures and for that group of folks this is very worthwhile and has quite a bit of potential. As for the rest of the Lego community there isn't much hope of finding any display potential in this figure.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 2

So with all that said, what you can expect to find is a mini-figure that is a really cool addition to your personal collection. Whether your collecting figures exclusively and displaying them or if you need a good figure for your Lego scene to show off to friends and family, this character brings a lot to the table. As for an investment, this is a terrible choice to invest in so steer clear of it. Your money would be better spent elsewhere.                                                                


7780-1: The Batboat: Hunt for Killer Croc
7780-1: The Batboat: Hunt for Killer Croc
Reviewed on: Jun 10, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

5.60

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: NO     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: NO


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

I have never seen this set in person and this was the first time seeing it when I decided to review it. I googled quite a bit of images and boy does this look like one piece of awesome Batmobelia! I and a HUGE fan of The Dark Knight and I only wish I was collecting Lego's during this time. The boat looks amazing especially the giant wings flying out from the back. If only I had a time machine…

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 5

This set comes with two mini-figures:

Batman in a Light Bluish Gray Suit with a Black Mask whom can be found in a total of 3 sets.

Killer Croc - Unique to this set! This is the only Killer Croc mini-figure that is in the Lego Realm.

Some unique/rare parts can also be found:

-8x10 Wing

-Propeller

-Fender Profile 16M

-Fender Profile 4M

-1x4 Fendertimber

-1x2x2 Fendertimber

-2x6 W/ Bow Right Shell with Croc Face

-2x6 W/ Bow Left Shell with Croc Face

-4x4 w/ Angle Plate

-2 x 1/2 Plate w/ Bow

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 4

I haven't built this set so I cannot comment on the building process. However, it looks simple enough. The playability of this set looks good I know my kid would love it. Boats are unique models and they often inspire imaginations to run wild. Being that this is a Batman boat, I'm sure imaginations really went wild. Big franchise items often end up doing well in the play room and I'm sure this particular set was no different!

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 6

This set retailed at $20.00 which made it about 10 cents a piece which is the normal price especially for a set like this. Considering its of a popular franchise I would have even expected more. Considering the current value of this set this was a steal! Right now the mini-figures alone are selling for more than 20.00. Though some are less, but plenty have sold for $20+ Also, doing some calculations of just some of the unique pieces they start to add up quickly. So if you have this set sitting around and don't have a complete version either consider purchasing what you need, a used set can be sold for around $80-$90.00 depending on condition or you can break up what you have and sell the pieces that are worth something. So do your research and find which option is best for you!

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 7

Batman is a very popular franchise outside of the Lego world and still holds its popularity in the Lego world as well. While it may not be the most popular theme people seem very pleased with the outcome of the Lego sets. I know personally as a Lego and Batman fan I was very happy to see these little blasts from the past.          

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There was nothing exclusive about this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 4

The box featured the familiar Batman logo in the upper right hand corner and DC's logo in the bottom right. In the scene depicted it appears to be in the Jungle down a river and Batman is being chased by The Croc as he shoots missiles off. The Bat Boat can really be seen in the picture and it gives you an idea of how it looks put together. Very nice!

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10

We can all see the growth that this set had. It's had a 35.81% CAGR and its current value is at $170.33. So if you were lucky enough to get this for $19.99 and kept it in it's original box, unopened for an investment than you made one hell of a good choice! It's sets like these that help give us an idea of what can be had in the future for current sets retiring. Looking at this set there really isn't anything super significant beyond the Croc, which if you want the mini-figure it can be had for less than 20.00 so what's driving this up? Most likely its the boat and the fans of Batman driving it up! If a franchise has a fan base pushing it along expect the merchandise to be worth something some day. Keep this in mind when venturing into the Avengers sets! 

Overall, this was a wonderful set in my opinion and it did exceptionally well in the secondary market!

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 3

If you are a fan of The Dark Knight and you have anything Bat related displayed then this little Bat Boat is a must! Along with the mini-figures it seems everything besides the Croc Craft can be displayed and oogled over.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8

If you don't already have this set, don't bother. Unless you are a huge fan of Batman it wouldn't be worth your money! However, if you have this bad boy laying around, opened, in a tote full of Lego's maybe its worth your time to dig it out. A complete used set can be sold for around $80.00 and even the pieces are fetching a nice amount of money as well. So overall, this was a wonderful design and an excellent piece for any Batman fan. If you were lucky enough to get onto this than you did a wonderful job!


71000-2: Cyclops
71000-2: Cyclops
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.30

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 7

The Cyclops is awesome! Enough said! When I took a look at the Series 9 packaging I knew right away I wanted to find a Cyclops and when my son finally received one he was ecstatic. This is probably one of our favorite of Series 9.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 3

The entire figure is unique. This is the first time a Cyclops has made an appearance in the Lego Realm. Very cool edition to the collection. He comes carrying a club. He's green with a white spike on the head piece. Wears blue pants and a brown belt.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 3

Everyone needs a good Cyclops to come attack their village and have their Super Heroes fly down from the clouds above to save the day! My son always has this figure running around demolishing stuff just like The Hulk.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

The mini-figures are priced right at $2.99. If you can wait you can catch them for $1.99 and if you can wait just a little bit longer you can score them usually for 99 cents at Wal-Mart and Target. And sometimes a sweet deal is waiting just for you on ebay. Do your research its there!

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

The mini-figures series is a brilliant idea and I'm glad TLG decided to go with it. By far the figures are what makes the set playable. So naturally they are some of the most popular items in the Lego World. For that, this is a very popular theme!    

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

Nothing exclusive about this.

PACKAGING | Score: 3

The Series 9 packaging is silver and features the random assortment of the figures on the front. The one that sticks out the most is our Cyclops right here! Black question marks float around in the background. Its small, very lightweight and has a hole to hang on a peg!

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 1

While these figures are really cool. They are definitely not worth investing in. Yes, you can make profit and sometimes double your money but there is so much work in finding them, figuring out whats inside and then packaging them, shipping them, paying all the fees. Everything adds up and for the buck, maybe two bucks profit its just not worth it.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

For those into displaying mini-figures then clearly this is a 10. However, if you aren't(like myself) then this is a 1.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 2

If you want a cool figure to add to your collection then try and find this one. Look on the secondary market and you can get some for cheap. Don't invest in this as the investment could be better spent!


9466-1: The Crazy Scientist & His Monster
9466-1: The Crazy Scientist & His Monster
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.40

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 4

The Crazy Scientist & His Monster is a pretty neat set. The blue vehicle that comes with this set is pretty cool. I absolutely love the Frankenstein figure that comes with this as well. This set makes for a good addition to other sets, by itself its sort of just there. There's a lot of little pieces here and there that make this a neat set.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 3

This set offers four mini-figures:

-Major Quinton Steele whom is found in two sets

-Doctor Rodney Rathbone whom is found in three sets

-Crazy Scientist - Unique to this set!

-Monster(Frankenstein) - Unique to this set!

 

I absolutely love the Frankenstein monster that comes in this set. Very cool and I'm glad that TLG decided to make it. There are some other unique and rare parts included in this set as well:

 

-1x4x1 1/3 Brick with Bow

-Lattice Tower 2x2x10

1x2 Plate w/ Radiator

1x8 Brown Plate

-Facet Brick 3x3x1 

-3x3x6 Wall

-1x2 Roof Tile Light Blue

-1x3x2 W/ Ins and Outs Bow Light Blue

-2x1x2 Roof Tile

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 4

My kid loves this set and I'm quite fond of it as well. The machine holding down the "monster" is very cool and has a lot of small little pieces that make it look really cool. I could see a kid displaying this set in their room and their friends admiring it everytime they come over. Unfortunately my son doesn't have the skill required to just look at it. But, this is a toy and he does a good job of playing with it! The little "bed" that the monster lays on moves back and forth which is a nice little touch. This set would go great with the castle or haunted house if you dare to open that.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

The Crazy Scientist and His Monster is the second highest price per piece set in the theme next to The Mummy. The Mini-figures are awesome and with all the recent discounts at Wal-Mart and Target and other retail stores you can get this set fairly cheap. While the figures are very cool they still don't carry the profits to pay for the entire set so breaking it up would be a bad idea. Keep it together, hold on to it.

Set Number Model Retail Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
         
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD 70 Pieces $0.099 USD
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD 90 Pieces $0.129 USD
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD 243 Pieces $0.082 USD
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD 314 Pieces $0.111 USD
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD 447 Pieces $0.089 USD
9466 The Crazy Scientist & His Monster $49.99 USD 430 Pieces $0.116 USD
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD 741 Pieces $0.107 USD
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD 949 Pieces $0.105 USD
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD 2064 Pieces $0.087 USD

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 6

The Monster Fighters theme is one of those themes that has very mixed reviews. Some people love the series and feel it will be extremely popular later down the line. However, others feel that its just a seasonal thing and while some money can be had around Halloween, these sets are nothing but gimics. And then there are those that feel the entire series will flop(besides Zombies) and stay very far away from them. Personally, I love the Monster Fighters theme and I think it is very popular with kids. My kids love them and my friends kids love them as well. I expect these will do very well, especially around Halloween!

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There is nothing exclusive about this set. Do your research and find the best deal for your investment. Search your local Wal-Marts and Targets and hunt online as well.

PACKAGING | Score: 6

This package has so many colors on it. It's filled with eye candy. From the blue car to the green tower with the whole spectrum of colors on top. There is a light brick and the box advertises that in the bottom right hand corner just above the scientist and his monster. In the upper right hand corner we see the family blue moon thats in all the other themes. If you have read my other reviews regarding the Monster Fighters packaging then you will know I really love the tree that has the bats flying off its leaves. Looks awesome! This scene features the blue car and mini-figures leaving some sort of cave and arriving on the scientist and his monster. The laser beam is beaming into the monsters head igniting him to life. Green smoke/fog feels the entire area.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 3

Looking at this chart you may think investing your money into the crazy scientist is indeed crazy Don't be mad though! This set offers quite a bit and with the giant discounts that are out there you can catch a sweet deal! If you want to quick flip it look to sell this at or around Halloween. If you need a long haul investment this should do pretty nice. But I would say if you want to put that money to good use buy a Haunted House instead.

Set Number Model Retail Price Price Per Piece Current Value CAGR
           
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD $0.099 USD $10.64 USD 52.22%
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD $0.129 USD $9.89 USD -17.51%
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD $0.082 USD $18.59 USD -7.00%
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD $0.111 USD $27.94 USD -20.15%
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD $0.089 USD $116.53 USD 191.40%
9466 The Crazy Scientist & His Monster $49.99 USD $0.116 USD $37.10 USD -25.79%
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD $0.107 USD $56.16 USD  -29.79%
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD $0.105 USD $81.07 USD  9.08%
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD $0.087 USD

$192.07 USD 6.71%

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

The mini-figures can be displayed if you are into that. As for the rest, it really doesn't hold much display unless your kid has some space in their room. There are plenty other Lego sets that are worth showing off.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 3

So my final thoughts:

 

Pro's

-Awesome Mini-figures

-Very detailed

-Monster Fighters theme is being retired so discounts can be had

 

Con's

-Theme may not be that popular

-May have to hold on to it for a while if you can't catch a good deal

-Compared to other sets in the theme some may think this is a weak one(not me though)

 

Overall, make your own judgement call. Do your research and find the best price for you. If you want a shoe in, this may not be it. Look towards the other more popular sets. If you want a fun set for yourself or your child, look no further. This is awesome!


9464-1: The Vampyre Hearse
9464-1: The Vampyre Hearse
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 3

The Vampyre Hearse is a really cool vehicle. Its not my favorite in the series, but it's definitely a good set to add to the awesome Monster Fighters theme. It comes with the hearse as well as a motorcycle and three mini-figures. The flames on the Hearse's roof is pretty neat as well.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 2

This set features three mini-figures. All of the mini-figures appear in other sets except this Lord Vampyre is a little different(has no cape).

-Doctor Rodney Rathbone - Appears in 3 sets

-Zombie Driver - Appears in 4 Sets

-Lord Vampyre - Character appears in multiple sets. However, without the cape it appears unique in this set.

 

There isn't very many rare/unique parts in this set which is surprising. There is a unique sticker though that goes on the roof which is nice.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

I think where this lacks in uniqueness it makes up for it in playability. The build experience was smooth. Nothing out of the ordinary. However, there are quite a few details to this hearse that really amazed me. From the Hood to the coffin in the back and the little spikes on the side. Everything was neatly placed. My son has a blasé with the hearse. It's definitely had quite a bit of play time. It often busts through buildings, gets chased by Ambulances and Fire trucks. His imagination runs wild with this theme and I think that happens with a lot of youngsters.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

As we can see below our Vampyre Hearse is one of the highest price per piece ratio in the theme. With that said, it's also heavily discounted at Wal-Mart and Target. Do your research and find the lowest price to get the biggest bang for your buck! While the Hearse isn't my favorite set in the theme its definitely one that will have little kids wanting around Halloween.

 

As for piecing out the figures, they aren't worth much and will definitely not help recoup your money back so keep the set sealed if you are investing!

Set Number Model Retail Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
         
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD 70 Pieces $0.099 USD
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD 90 Pieces $0.129 USD
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD 243 Pieces $0.082 USD
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD 314 Pieces $0.111 USD
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD 447 Pieces $0.089 USD
9466 The Crazy Scientist & Hist Monster $49.99 USD 430 Pieces $0.116 USD
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD 741 Pieces $0.107 USD
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD 949 Pieces $0.105 USD
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD 2064 Pieces $0.087 USD

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 6

The Monster Fighters theme has people wondering what kind of popularity it will have in the years to come. One good thing we know is that kids love monsters. Dracula, Frankenstein, Werewolf's and Mummies. All of these characters have been very popular over the years and I don't think this is going to die out in the Lego realm either. I expect this series will do very well in the secondary market, around where I live they are flying off the shelves!

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There is nothing exclusive about this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 4

The Lego Group did an excellent job with this theme and the packaging. I love the bats flying from the trees transitioning from leaves to bats. The blue moon in the upper right hand corner. The bottom right hand corner features the special mini-figure in this case its Lord Vampyre and Zombie. Lord Vampyre's head glows in the dark and that can be seen as he is driving the hearse holding a sword. Behind the Hearse we see the motorcycle and the mini-figure riding it throwing a stack of dynamite. Green smoke feels the ground and that was a nice touch as well!

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 3

Currently, this set is being discounted at Wal-Mart and Target. Most likely if you haven't found them at Wal-Mart then your chances of picking one up will be very slim now. However, Target should be discounting these very soon. We may even see a Wal-Mart.com deal soon. Right now this has a - CAGR but around Halloween I feel this will be a very popular theme and parents will be looking to purchases these sets for their kids. The Hearse comes with quite a bit of monsterness with it, A Vampire, A Zombie, A Hearse!? Come on. I feel this one will be quite popular. However, even with all that said I don't think its going to do that well. It will take a climb just to get back into the lands of profits. We may see good results in a couple of years but for the quick flippers, I think you should focus on other sets in this theme. I currently only own 1 of these for investing purposes.

Set Number Model Retail Price Price Per Piece Current Value CAGR
           
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD $0.099 USD $10.64 USD 52.22%
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD $0.129 USD $9.89 USD -17.51%
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD $0.082 USD $18.59 USD -7.00%
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD $0.111 USD $27.94 USD -20.15%
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD $0.089 USD $116.53 USD 191.40%
9466 The Crazy Scientist & His Monster $49.99 USD $0.116 USD $37.10 USD -25.79%
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD $0.107 USD $56.16 USD  -29.79%
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD $0.105 USD $81.07 USD  9.08%
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD $0.087 USD

$192.07 USD 6.71%

 

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

If you happen to collect mini-figures than Zombie and Lord Vampyre will be nice additions to that display case of yours. However, if you don't I see very little display attributes in this set. The Hearse is lovely but not enough to show off to everyone you know.             

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 2

In conclusion, this theme in my opinion will be very popular especially around Halloween. I feel though that out of the entire theme this set and The Mummy offer the least amount of profit potential. Some people have been lucky enough to get these sets for around 15.00. If you can get them for half the cost of course money is to be made here! But, if you are forced to pay full retail or perhaps just a little below it then I wouldn't invest heavily. I grabbed one for the long haul.


9461-1: The Swamp Creature
9461-1: The Swamp Creature
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.90

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 7

My first impression of this set reminded me of Bubba Ho Tep. I love it! The little hover craft is well designed and holds together better than expect. Though the little shifters fall off easier than expected. As far as the swamp creature goes it is very well designed.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 2

The Swamp Creature is pretty cool and the Elvis look a like figure does an excellent job with the detail as well. Overall, two really cool mini figures for a cheap set. There are some unique pieces to this set like the Swamp Creature helmet. Of course the little green wavy thing is unique to this set. I like the little touches like the fish grilling up next to the green fire.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

My son loved this set and for $6.99 its well worth every penny. By itself though there really isn't much purpose to it. We got this set while on vacation so they had fun time doing this and that with the set but overall, this would be a perfect accessory to say the Vampyre Castle or Haunted House.

Build experience is very simple. Only 70 pieces. The hovercraft withstood quite a bit of play time. Overall, good job TLG!

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

 As you can see from the chart below this is fairly cheaper than most of the other sets in this series. Surprising since it is the cheapest as well. I have seen a few of these sets at Target for 3.99. I bought a couple just in case. So if you can find these little sets on the clearance section then I highly recommend grabbing it!

 

Set Number Model Retail Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
         
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD 70 Pieces $0.099 USD
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD 90 Pieces $0.129 USD
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD 243 Pieces $0.082 USD
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD 314 Pieces $0.111 USD
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD 447 Pieces $0.089 USD
9466 The Crazy Scientist & Hist Monster $49.99 USD 430 Pieces $0.116 USD
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD 741 Pieces $0.107 USD
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD 949 Pieces $0.105 USD
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD 2064 Pieces $0.087 USD

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 6

The Monster Fighters theme offers quite a bit of uniqueness to it. I think that because it is specific to a "horror" theme that is what makes it popular. Its the first time we have seen Vampires and Zombies in the Lego World and its very cool. This has quite a bit of playability to it. Every Lego scene needs a good supernatural attack so the Super Heroes can come in and save the day! I think Monster Fighters are awesome and they will be very popular later on!

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There was nothing exclusive regarding this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 4

The box is small! Keep that in mind for shipping later on. What I love about this themes boxes is the full blue moon in the upper right hand corner. The Monster Fighters logo features a green(glow in the dark feel) smoke floating around. The bats flying out from the tree looks really neat too. So it turns from leaves to bats. Nice job! In the bottom right hand corner we see the swamp Creature. We see the Bubba Ho-Tep Look alike firing off rockets from his hover-craft as the Swamp Creature runs away.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 5

This set is the cheapest and besides from the Zombies it is currently at the highest CAGR compared to the rest. Though, I feel that later down the road this set wont be as successful as some of the others. Basically you are paying for the Swamp Creature. I believe though that if you can catch a deal for this(less than 5.00) you will be satisfied with your profits later down the road. Currently, this is the set I see the most in retail.

 

Set Number Model Retail Price Price Per Piece Current Value CAGR
           
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD $0.099 USD $10.64 USD 52.22%
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD $0.129 USD $9.89 USD -17.51%
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD $0.082 USD $18.59 USD -7.00%
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD $0.111 USD $27.94 USD -20.15%
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD $0.089 USD $116.53 USD 191.40%
9466 The Crazy Scientist & His Monster $49.99 USD $0.116 USD $37.10 USD -25.79%
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD $0.107 USD $56.16 USD  -29.79%
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD $0.105 USD $81.07 USD  9.08%
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD $0.087 USD

$192.07 USD 6.71%

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

If you collect mini-figures then these two figures would be a nice addition to your collection. However, if you aren't collecting figures then I wouldn't display anything in this set.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 5

My final conclusion for this small little piece set is that if you can catch a deal on it grab as many as you can. I definitely feel this will be around 15.00 at Halloween and possibly even more if they can be removed from the shelves at Target! I suspect in a year or two this will be well worth your time. Good news is they are small and easy to store and also very easy and cheap to ship. I personally have 52 of these!!! Whaaaaat! It's the most I have of any other set and I've been selling some here and there on ebay at least doubling my money. My advice, get as many as you can! Don't let this Swamp creature scare you away from your potential profits!


9467-1: The Ghost Train
9467-1: The Ghost Train
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

4.30

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 7

The Ghost Train is definitely one of my favorites of the theme. I absolutely love the Ghost mini-figures and I was happy to see that three came with the set. Along with the train we also get a old-timer plane as well. I think we all know what happens to Lego trains in the secondary market - they EXPLODE - so hopefully this isn't any different.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

This set comes with five mini-figures:

 

3 All White Ghost Mini-figures which are unique to this set and glow in the dark!

Ann Lee - not unique to this set, also found in one more smaller one

Frank Rock - Also found in one more smaller set.

 

Some unique and rare pieces:

 

-Black Fin

-Dragon's Wing

-Roof Tile 1x2x3 Inverted

-Black Cone

-1x2x2 Window Frame

-Tire for Wedge-Belt Wheel

-3 Train Wheel

-6x6x2 Train Cowcatcher

-Wedge Belt Wheel

-Right Brick 2x4 with bow Angle

-Roof Tile 6x6x2

-1x2x4 plate with ball

-Chain

-Glow in the dark Flame

-Green Tube

-Round Plate with Ghost Face

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

Trains have a wide range of playability. Everyone loves trains especially little kids. I think this has a wonderful place in every monster/train lover. The build experience was nice, as we can see from above there were quite a bit of unique and rarer parts included in this build. And when the train was finished the awesomeness didn't stop there. The mini-plane is well designed and awesome in itself as well. My son loves this set and often plays with it. Its also one of two train sets that he has so he absolutely loves it. I do admit it would have been better if some track was included. But that's okay.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

As we can see from the chart below the Ghost Train was one of the highest price per piece in the theme. However, since its been heavily discounted in the retail market, it can really adjust the price per piece. I know I found my trains for $49.99 at Wal-Mart. I think this set has a ton of bang for your buck! Just make sure you find the right deal.

Set Number Model Retail Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
         
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD 70 Pieces $0.099 USD
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD 90 Pieces $0.129 USD
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD 243 Pieces $0.082 USD
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD 314 Pieces $0.111 USD
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD 447 Pieces $0.089 USD
9466 The Crazy Scientist & Hist Monster $49.99 USD 430 Pieces $0.116 USD
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD 741 Pieces $0.107 USD
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD 949 Pieces $0.105 USD
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD 2064 Pieces $0.087 USD

As far as parting out the figures, the ghosts mini-figures will fetch you around $3.00-$4.00 a piece if you are lucky. The other two figures are just about worthless. So its better to keep the set sealed for investment purposes.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 6

The Monster Fighters theme is one of those unique themes that has plenty to offer. I love it! Some people hate it! I think it has quite a bit of potential in the investor world as both quick flippers and long haulers can really make some good money here. I also think that Vampires, Ghosts and Zombies will forever be popular and for that this supernatural theme will be popular. TLG did a good job picking this theme and designing it.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

There was nothing exclusive about this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 4

The box is a little big so remember that for shipping and handling fees later down the road when you get ready to off-load. I like the cover art though, it shows all of the glow in the dark pieces which is neat. It has the plane flying above the train as one of the mini-figures leaps down onto it to overcome the ghosts. In the bottom right hand corner the three ghosts are pictured. A full moon is pictured in the upper right hand corner. I love the green smoke floating around everywhere. Also if you look close, the train track the train is riding on ends and the train just hovers. Very good job to the Lego Group!

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 5

Right now if you compare the current value and the retail price it will look pretty bad. However, the current value is about where you can get it for at retail if you do your research. Wal-Mart already heavily discounted this set and Target is doing the same now. So make sure you know where to look. I think this set is going to do very well in a few years. I personally have 11 of these sets. I think next to the Haunted House and Vampyre Castle(of course the Zombies too) this will be the next best one. Everybody loves trains and they sky-rocket in the secondary market.

Set Number Model Retail Price Price Per Piece Current Value CAGR
           
9461 The Swamp Creature $6.99 USD $0.099 USD $10.64 USD 52.22%
9462 The Mummy $11.99 USD $0.129 USD $9.89 USD -17.51%
9463 The Werewolf $19.99 USD $0.082 USD $18.59 USD -7.00%
9464 The Vampyre Hearse $34.99 USD $0.111 USD $27.94 USD -20.15%
9465 The Zombies $39.99 USD $0.089 USD $116.53 USD 191.40%
9466 The Crazy Scientist & His Monster $49.99 USD $0.116 USD $37.10 USD -25.79%
9467 The Ghost Train $79.99 USD $0.107 USD $56.16 USD  -29.79%
9468 Vampyre Castle $99.99 USD $0.105 USD $81.07 USD  9.08%
10228 Haunted House $179.99 USD $0.087 USD

$192.07 USD 6.71%

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 2

This set does offer some display attributes as well. If you collect model Lego planes or even train sets then you may find this set shelf worthy. However, sitting next to some of the more finer and elegant trains this set doesn't really look good. So for that, I'm giving this a low rating.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 6

Final Conclusion of this set is: GO OUT AND GET IT! Get at least one so you know you won't kick yourself later on! For the quick flippers out there Halloween is less than six months away and if these are all removed from the shelves by then, you should see a nice little mark up on the secondary market. For the long haulers, I expect at least double or triple of what I paid for it. Who knows though, don't take my word. Do your own research to make sure you don't end up with ghostly profits!

 

Pro's

 

-It's a train!

-Awesome Ghost Mini-figures that are unique to the set

-Heavily discounted at retail which makes for a good price and price per piece


71000-5: Roman Emperor
71000-5: Roman Emperor
Reviewed on: Jun 9, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

2.00

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 1

This mini-figure wasn't that impressive comparing it to the rest of series 9. We pulled three of these total and my son wasn't too impressed.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 1

The figure itself is unique. The mini-figure is yellow with a dark red center piece/toga pinned with a medallion. He has white hair with two golden pieces on each side above the ear. He is holding a scroll that says "Veni, Vidi, Vici" and then has some scribble below that. I would have much rather seen a Roman Warrior instead of this.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 1

Honestly, my son doesn't even play with these really. The three figures that we have of these kind of just sit in a bucket. I don't think I have ever seen him playing with them. Though I could see a scene with this figure standing on a podium speaking out to a crowd.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 3

I think the mini-figures are very well priced. I was able to get these for 1.99 from S@H and sometimes these figures can be found for 99 cents at Wal-Mart and Target if you are lucky!

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

Mini-figures will always be popular. They are what make the Lego sets fun for kids to play with. Without the figures it might just be a little bit boring. With that said I think TLG did an excellent job with these Series and I can see them producing them for years to come.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

Nothing exclusive about this figure. Just remember when hunting for mini-figures make sure you are hunting for the best prices too! Sometimes ebay has some wonderful prices!

PACKAGING | Score: 2

The packaging for Series 9 is silver with the familiar question marks floating in the background. The polybag is small and can hang from a peg if necessary. Its light and makes it cheap to ship as well. On the cover it features the figures in the package.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 1

When talking about mini-figures usually we see some fetching some pretty big bucks. However, the series figures really don't produce that much profits. Considering that on average you will make just a couple of dollars after fees. IMHO I wouldn't invest in these but instead collect them as a whole they look really cool together and all make great additions to your collection. This figure is all over ebay and some have sold as low as 50 cents. Don't expect big profits from this little guy!

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

Mini-figures are often displayed. If you are into displaying figures and have a nice case to do so then this would be something for you to add in there. However, if you don't collect mini-figures and don't have an obsession with completing the series then this figure isn't worth showing off to the world.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 1

My final conclusion is simple, if you get this figure put it in your collection and don't have any hopes of making money on it. The figure won't fetch big bucks and at best I think you may be able to double your money which is only about a dollar or two anyways. Put those cents elsewhere!


76004-1: Spider-Man: Spider-Cycle Chase
76004-1: Spider-Man: Spider-Cycle Chase
Reviewed on: Jun 5, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

2.20

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 1

This is my least favorite spider-man set out there! We wouldn't even have owned it if it wasn't given to us as a gift. I don't know why I hate on it so much but it really just doesn't impress me. It could be that I'm not hip on the comic book world and I am slightly confused why Nick Fury is in this set. After some research I was able to locate the reason to this but still as an average person buying this I doubt they would know and after seeing The Avengers it may just confuse them even more.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 3

The set does have 3 mini-figures and some uniqueness to it:

Spider-Man with a Black Web Pattern - Not unique to this set found in 2 other sets

Nick Fury - Unique to this set. In-fact the only set this character appears in. Wowzers! (Why wasn't he in one of The Avengers sets)

Venom -Unique to this set (This is a pretty cool figure I'll admit with the black tentacles or whatever they are).

 

Some unique/rare parts include:

-4x8 beam

-Angle Plate With Snap(Black)

-1x2 Clamp

-Dark Green 2x3 Left Plate w/ angle

-Dark Green 2x3 Right Plate w/ angle

-Dark Green 4x6x2/3 Plate

-White 6x6x1/3 Bottom

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 2

The build experience on this set was very blah. The only thing I remotely find pretty neat about this set is the fact that the wheels can be turned upside down to simulate a hover-car. This is also seen on the bike. It's pretty cool but its small with not that many pieces. Usually my son is pretty good about keeping his sets together unless he dislikes the build in which case he will Hulk smash it and use those pieces to build something else. That is a sure sign that he didn't like a set. Unfortunately for this set that happened. I'm sure the playability of this set has a lot of potential, especially to those Spider-Man fans. However, in my house hold it quickly became another house or tower.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 5

 Looking at the chart below we can see that this had the lowest price per piece ratio out of the entire Marvel Super Heroes Collection which is pretty surprising since its a smaller set. This definitely shows that it has a lot of value!

Marvel Super Heroes Collection
Set Number Model Sub-Theme Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
           
6873 Spider-Man's Doc Ock Ambush Spider-Man $29.99 USD 295 Pieces  $0.10
6869  Quinjet Aerial Battle  Avengers   $69.99 USD   735 Pieces  $0.09
6868 Hulk's Helicarrier Breakout  Avengers $49.99 USD  389 Pieces   $0.12
6867 Loki's Cosmic Cube Escape  Avengers $19.99 USD  181 Pieces   $0.11
6866 Wolverine's Chopper Showdown  X-Men  $19.99 USD  199 Pieces   $0.10
6865 Captain America's Avenging Cycle  Avengers $12.99 USD  72 Pieces   $0.18
 76004 Spider-Cycle Chase  Spider-Man  $19.99 USD  237 Pieces   $0.08
 76005 Daily Bugle Showdown  Spider-Man  $49.99 USD  476 Pieces   $0.105
 76006 Extremis Sea Port Battle  Iron-Man  $19.99 USD  195 Pieces   $0.10
 76007 Malibu Mansion Attack   Iron-Man $39.99 USD  364 Pieces   $0.109

 

Even when comparing to the DC Universe Super Heroes Collection its the lowest price per piece. Overall, it looks like this Spidy Cycle Chase was the best value amongst them all.

DC Universe Super Heroes Collection
Set Number Model Sub-Theme Price Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece
           
 6864 The Batmobile and the Two Face Chase   Batman $49.99 USD  531 Pieces  $ 0.09
 6863 Batwing Battle Over Gotham City  Batman   $34.99 USD  278 Pieces $0.12 
 6860 The Batcave   Batman $69.99 USD  690 Pieces  $0.10 
 6858  Catwoman Catcycle City Chase Batman  $12.99 USD  89 Pieces  $ 0.14
 6857 The Dunamic Duo Funhouse Escape  Batman  $39.99 USD  380 Pieces  $0.10 
 76009  Superman Black Zero Escape  Superman $19.99 USD  168 Pieces  $0.11 
76003  Superman Battle of Smallville  Superman  $49.99 USD  418 Pieces  $0.11 
 76002 Superman Metropolis Showdown  Superman  $12.99 USD  119 Pieces  $0.10 
76001  The Bat vs. Bane: Tumbler Chase  Batman  $39.99 USD  367 Pieces  $0.10 
 76000 Arctic Batman vs. Mr. Freeze Aquaman on Ice  Batman  $19.99 USD  198 Pieces  $0.10 
10937  Arkham Asylum Breakout  Batman   $159.99 USD 1619 Pieces  $0.09 
76004   Spider-Cycle Chase   Spider-Man   $19.99 USD  237 Pieces  $ 0.08

 

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 2

Spider-Man is popular. However in the LEGO world they have done as well as I had personally hoped for. All of the sets have just been…blah. I think when the next Amazing Spider-Man movie is released we will see some more sets released and hopefully we see some better ones.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

Nothing exlcusive about this set. Move along...move along.

PACKAGING | Score: 3

The packaging for this is pretty cool. I really like the cartoon LEgo Spider-Man swinging in the upper right hand corner against the Red Marvel Super Heroes background. In this scene we can see a tab building behind Fury's vehicle and Spidey's vehicle with Venom destroying (or trying to) as much as he can. In the bottom right hand corner there is the Marvel Ultimate Spider-Man Logo. Very cool.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 2

 This set to me isn't a popular one and I feel others may think the same. In-fact I think the only thing this set reallky has going for it is the mini-figures. Right now it has a negative 25.31% CAGR which is expected since it hasn't retired yet. This means though that its already starting to be discounted. Depending on how far it discounts depends on the amount of time it will take to climb out of that negative hole and reach profits.

 

Marvel Super Heroes Collection
Set Number Model Sub-Theme Price Current Value CAGR
           
6873 Spider-Man's Doc Ock Ambush Spider-Man $29.99 USD  $37.57 USD 25.28%
6869  Quinjet Aerial Battle  Avengers   $69.99 USD  $49.66 USD -29.05%
6868 Hulk's Helicarrier Breakout  Avengers $49.99 USD  $51.24 USD  2.50%
6867 Loki's Cosmic Cube Escape  Avengers $19.99 USD  $16.18 USD  -19.06%
6866 Wolverine's Chopper Showdown  X-Men  $19.99 USD  $20.09 USD  0.50%
6865 Captain America's Avenging Cycle  Avengers $12.99 USD  $13.82 USD  6.39%
 76004 Spider-Cycle Chase  Spider-Man  $19.99 USD  $14.93 USD  -25.31% 
 76005 Daily Bugle Showdown  Spider-Man  $49.99 USD  $41.06 USD  -17.86% 
 76006 Extremis Sea Port Battle  Iron-Man  $19.99 USD  $28.60 USD 43.07% 
 76007 Malibu Mansion Attack   Iron-Man $39.99 USD  $71.29 USD  78.27% 


I think you can find a better set to invest in.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 1

If you like collecting mini-figures then there is something to display here. If that isn't your thing then keep on looking.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 2

Clearly everyone can see that this little set is not a favorite of mine. I won't be investing in this and I feel that if you are looking for a quick flip or a long term investment then stay clear of this set. While it offers some uniqueness and cool mini-figures the overall vehicles are blah. If you can catch it on a very nice deal than obviously purchase and flip but I don't expect this doubling. Maybe I'm wrong though.


70705-1: Bug Obliterator
70705-1: Bug Obliterator
Reviewed on: Jun 4, 2013
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

3.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 6

The Galaxy Squad series is one of the themes that is overlooked, highly criticized and overall very un-popular which is a big surprise to me. I can imagine that it is very difficult to compete with the Star Wars theme for the "Outer Space" area. However, the Galaxy Squad series has quite a bit of detail, tons of playability and this set in particular offers a fun building experience.

70705 Bug Obliterator overall is one hell of a looking ship. One of my favorites. Three tiers with "missiles" located just about everywhere on it. Whoever designed this did an excellent job in my opinoin.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

This set comes with 711 pieces with 4 mini-figures.

Mini-figures

-Winged Mosquitoid - Available in 3 sets

-Orange Robot Sidekick - Unique to this set!

-Jack Fireblade - Available in 2 sets

Ashlee Starstrider - Unique to this set!

The mini-figures have a bright orange color scheme going on and it fits the set very well. If you haven't seen them, me describing them won't give them any justice. Check them out.

Along with the mini-figures there are a few other unique pieces and rare pieces to this set:

-Orange 4x4x2/3 Plate

-Green Horn

-Dark Red 4x4 Round Plate

-Dark Red Coupling 2x2 Plate

-Dark Red Antenna

-Tan Satellite Dish

-Laser Pistol

-Claw with Grip

-Cocoon for the mini-figure to stand in

-Clear Yellow 2x8 Flap

-Light Blue Round Plate

-White Brick with Bow 1x10

-6x6x1 1/3 White Bottom

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

This set is a really cool design. First off I would like to note that the ship breaks apart into two sets, one a vehicle and one a flying spaceship. That is a pretty cool feature that The Lego Group decided to add. The little vehicle has six wheels, features six missiles and a missile launching system that raises up. The spaceship has like a dozen missiles on it which is just plain ridiculous but so awesome at the same time. The orange, white, yellow and black are very good color schemes. The yellow is the tips of the missiles, the black and white and even a few grey pieces are out shined by the bright orange. Overall, this is probably one of my favorite Lego ships. The bug or alien ship, creature or whatever it is was a simple build and is filled with dark red and lime green pieces.

 

Since this set can be built a few different ways and has multiple vehicles it offers quite a bit of playability to it. I like sets like these that have multiple builds though for 80.00 I wish it had a couple more mini-figures. Whats really good about the spaceship though is that it is very versatile. Its a piece that can be mixed in and out of other themes and in play time it can "fit in" amongst the other sets. My son absolutely loves the set and has quite a bit of fun with it.

 

 

 

Here is Lego's description of the Bug Obliterator:

Defeat the deadly alien dragonfly with the split-function Bug Obliterator!

 The deadly alien dragonfly is trying to capture the Galaxy Squad orange team heroes in a cocoon prison. Soar into battle with orange team heroes Jack Fireblade and Ashlee Starstrider in the Bug Obliterator! Hit the button to transform the Bug Obliterator into a rugged armored rover and a swift attack ship that can battle those bugs from the sky! Launch the hidden flick missiles and fire the laser guns to send those alien bugs crawling back to where they came from! Includes 4 minifigures: Jack Fireblade, Ashlee Starstrider, Robot Sidekick and winged alien mosquitoid with weapons and a cocoon.

  • Includes 4 minifigures: Jack Fireblade, Ashlee Starstrider, Robot Sidekick and winged alien mosquitoid with assorted weapons 
  • Features moveable and opening cockpits, flick missiles, cocoon and laser guns 
  • Vehicles include alien dragonfly and split-function Bug Obliterator that splits into 2 more hero vehicles: armored rover and swift attack ship 
  • Armored rover features flick missiles, opening cockpit and laser guns 
  • Swift attack ship features an opening cockpit, flick missiles and laser guns 
  • Alien dragonfly features moveable tail with poseable legs and wings, and a cocoon
  • Weapons include 3 blasters and an alien sonic gun 
  • Activate the split function, enhance your firepower and outsmart the aliens! 
  • Launch the armored rover! 
  • Fire the missiles! 
  • Measures over 3” (10cm) high, 10” (27cm) long and 9” (25cm) wide 
  • Armored rover measures over 2” (6cm) high, 5” (15cm) long and 2” (7cm) wide 
  • Attack ship measures over 3” (9cm) high, 11” (27cm) long and 36” (93cm) wide 
  • Alien dragonfly measures over 1” (4cm) high, 9” (23cm) long and 5” (15cm) wide

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 4

 Looking at the chart below we can see that our Bug Obliterator is the most expensive set of the theme. It has the second lowest price per piece, which should be expected since it also contains the most amount of pieces in the theme as well. So as far as value of the set, it's not bad comparing to the theme.

Galaxy Squad
Set Number Model MSRP (USD) Amount of Pieces Price Per Piece (USD)
70700 Space Swarmer $11.99 86 Pieces $0.14
70701 Swarm Interceptor $19.99 218 Pieces $0.13
70702 Warp Stinger $39.99 310 Pieces $0.10
70703 Star Slicer $39.99 311 Pieces $0.13
70704 Vermin Vaporizer $59.99 506 Pieces $0.12
70705 Bug Obliterator $79.99 711 Pieces $0.11

 

Parting Out the Mini-Figures

 

The average prices below have been gathered from the most recent eBay auctions. Prices may vary.

-Winged Mosquitoid - $3.50

-Orange Robot Sidekick - $4.00

-Jack Fireblade - $3.50

-Ashlee Starstrider - $2.00


With those numbers don't expect to be parting this out. The vehicles sell too but to be honest you will make better money paying less fees just holding onto the set as a whole, especially factory sealed.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 1

The Galaxy Squad theme really isn't that popular. In-fact everytime someone mentions the theme people assume its just another Lego dud. However, I personally love the theme I think its very creative and overall a good addition to the Alien themed sets that Lego has out there. For a collector or even purchasing for your own collection its a good thing when the theme isn't popular that means there is less competition in finding the sets and more of a chance to find them heavily discounted. I doubt TLG will make any further sets in this theme.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 1

Nothing Exclusive About the Set.

PACKAGING | Score: 5

The Galaxy Squad packaging is actually pretty cool in my opinion. Featuring a white background with the Red LEGO emblem. The scene is a fight on a planet. The orange and green goes very well with the colors on the box. This specific set is depicting a battle between the aliens and the humans. Very cool looking. Also in the upper right hand corner it shows how the vehicle can be put together multiple ways.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 3

 So from the chart below we can see that this set's current value is quite a bit lower than its original MSRP which indicates that it was heavily discounted in retail before they shoved it off the shelves. It will take a while to climb out of this negative pool but eventually it should be swimming in profits later down the road. How long that will take no one knows for sure but seeing as this is the biggest and one of the neatest in the theme I think it will eventually show some good investment opportunities. If you can catch it on sale right now I would grab at least one and put it up for a rainy day. Worse case scenario you have a cool space craft to build!

 

Galaxy Squad
Set Number Model MSRP (USD) Current Value CAGR
70700 Space Swarmer $11.99 $18.50 54.30%
70701 Swarm Interceptor $19.99 $25.19 26.01%
70702 Warp Stinger $39.99 $48.25 60.89%
70703 Star Slicer $39.99 $56.19 40.51%
70704 Vermin Vaporizer $59.99 $42.00 -29.99%
70705 Bug Obliterator $79.99 $46.37 -42.03%

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 5

I think the Bug Obliterator has a lot of display potential. Its a unique space ship and the orange color scheme is unique. It should sit nicely with your other spaceships on that shelf of yours! Also if you collect mini-figures you have some unique figures to show off as well.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 3

My final conclusion is that this set is an awesome build and right now you may be able to catch a good deal on it. If you have the patience and time then eventually it may yield some decent profits. However, if you are looking for a quick flip then I suggest looking elsewhere.

Pro's

-Biggest set in the Galaxy Squad Theme

-Awesome Build with unique space craft

-Some unique mini-figures and other pieces

-May be able to catch a good deal on the price

 

Con's

- Theme Popularity is extremely low

- CAGR is in the negative by almost 50% which means set has been sitting on retail shelves for a while

- Mini-figures are border line worthless

-Growth will be a slow climb and may not ever double in value.


  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   Next Page