Ratings and Reviews for Locutus001

21301-1: Birds
21301-1: Birds
Reviewed on: Mar 13, 2015
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

8.40

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

This set looks great!


If you are into displaying LEGO-Sets then this one might be just the one for you!

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

Probably the printed bricks with the bird information

No Minifigures.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

The build experience is great!


You get three instructions, one for each bird, which is nice because you can build one bird whileyour kids or partner builds another bird.


Building the birds itself doesn't take so much time, which might be a pro or con, depending on what you like ;-)

Since the build is not just beautiful but also rather simplistic even kids won't have any problems.

 

The birds are made for display but I guess you could play with them if you wanted to. (For example put a seat and a stormtrooper on the back of the colibri ;-) ). Since it's a "display-set" of course there are no play features included.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 7

With 13 cent per brick the set surely is one of the more expensive ones.


Given the fact that there are hardly any unique bricks included (and of course no minifigs) one might argue that the set is a little bit too expensive.


On the other hand you do get a really great set here. Once built and put on display the birds will awe you (and your guests ;-) ).



THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

I think that LEGO ideas is a rather popular theme, though not as popular as Star Wars, etc.


Since the theme isn't really what you would call a theme but more a collection of the most popular (you need 10.000 votes for yoru project) and profitable (LEGO picks out the most suitable projects that have reached 10.000 supporters) ideas of lego builders from all over the world it's obvious that each set will be somehow popular by itself.



EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 10

Since there is no theme, but only single projects, the exclusivity is pretty high and it is not very likely that the sets will be redone anytime soon (if at all).

PACKAGING | Score: 10

I just love the boxart and packaging of all of the ideas sets.

Each one gets a really unique touch and has got a solid and pretty box. You can almost (no not almost, but you actually can do it!) put the box itself on display.

(That's what my GF is actually doing with the Eiffel Tower ;-) ).

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

It's not licenced and there are not many unique bricks included.

On the other hand this set really is unique and VERY VERY beautiful.

When getting a present for other adults (who are not so much into LEGO but you still want to get them some LEGO because they might enjoy it either way) normally you will look for some architecture stuff. If you know they are into something you also can get them the LEGO DeLorean for example or Ecto-1 (Ghostbusters), Doctor Who, The Big Bang Theory, etc. Totally depending on their likings. With LEGO Birds I have the feeling that it is like an all-purpose LEGO-present. My grandparents might enjoy it just as well as my kids or my friends.

 

So all in all I think it will have some growth potential but it really is difficult to predict.

Could be a sleeper, could be a Lone Ranger... *

 

 

*sleeper = you don't think it'll do great (and so do others) that's why not many investors buy it. once it's done people want it so bad that the few investors that bought some are really lucky ;-)

*Lone Ranger reference = the movie wasn't that good, no real fanbase, sets don't perform that good... (if you put all your money into these sets... ouch).

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

BAM! That's what LEGO birds was made for!

Can't go wrong with it!

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8

Even though LEGO Birds is pretty expensive and there are not many unique bricks, it's still a very beautiful set.

The build experience is great and it was made to be put on display.

Nobody can predict the growth potential of this set but I would get at least one for myself if I were you (and maybe a second one as present for somebody... this set will always be a great present ;-) So even if after its retirement it won't perform great you'll have an all-purposed present ^.^).


75048-1: The Phantom
75048-1: The Phantom
Reviewed on: Feb 16, 2015
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

5.80

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 3

My first impression was: "Meh..."


The set itself is far from impressive and there are only two reasons to buy it: minifigures (it's more about chopper than about ezra if you ask me) and to complete the set "The Ghost".


Thinking about why LEGO did split these two up in the first place I'd say it's actually a good thing, so that parents who cannot afford a 100$ set still can buy their children a play set that is highly important to the new tv series.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

Minifigures: droid = "chopper" and Ezras helmet also is exclusive to this set ^.^ (though Ezra himself is not).

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

The built was rather short and there has not been anything spectacular about it if you ask me ;-)


Still it's a nice solid build (I mean after all it's a small set!).

 

The playability is alright for a small set. (see LEGO description for play features...)

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 7

It's a small set and you get 2 minifigures. The price is okay, though I would have prefered to spend 15€ rather than 20€ ;-)

I guess the minifigures alone will cost you nearly as much as the playset, so buying the complete set is the better decission if you ask me.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Right now Star Wars is one of the most popular themes.

Also the set is featuring in the new TV Series "Rebels" (as one of the main spaceships).

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 4

None at all... only "Chopper" (the droid) is exclusive to this set (as for now).

PACKAGING | Score: 7

Average nicely done LEGO design. The ship itself isn't so impressive so the box won't wow you either.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

This one does have potential, since you will need it to complete "The Ghost".

The Ghost (together with the phantom) are the "Millenium Falcon" of the new TV series "Rebels".

So far I really do like the series and I bet so do a lot of other people.

If the Ghost (and the series itself) becomes (become) popular this set might benefit from it as well.


In my opinion it's not a solid investment though and there are many better options.

(If the droid "chopper" will only be included in this set though it might appreciate more than what my guessworking is telling me right now).

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 3

"Meh..."


It's neither LEGOs nor the phantoms fault, but this set just isn't made to be put on display.

If you want to display the ghost though you should add the phantom. Togethre both are somewhat displayable... (though I'm not a big fan right now).

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 6

The phantom itself really isn't impressive.

You still get what you pay for and also there is chopper who is the real reason why you would want to buy this set, the other reason beeing that you need it to complete your "ghost"-set if you own one (and you will want to own one because of the minifigures!).


Displayed alone it realls isn't up to the task if you ask me. Together with the ghost there is some potential.

 

Build experience and playability are okay for a small set like this one. Children might love it (if not for the set itself then at least because of the tv series! ;-) ).

 

Investment-wise I wouldn't recommend it, though I might be wrong about it.
Also keep in mind that if you are investing in the set "the ghost" it probably is wise to buy a phantom for each ghost you own. (Big + for this set is the droid "chopper" who right now is exclusive to this set alone).

 

Collector-wise: If you like the series go and get it because of chopper... and if you like the series you also might already own the ghost, so that'd be your second reason do own it ;-)


75053-1: The Ghost
75053-1: The Ghost
Reviewed on: Feb 11, 2015
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

7.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 7

I'm not a big fan of this ship so my first impression was "I don't need to buy this one".

But watching the series (Star Wars Rebels) you start liking it and especially the characters, thus you eventually want to have the minifigures.

Since 3 of the main characters are included in this set it would be stupid to buy them separately on ebay. when you can have a few hundred bricks together with them (even though the price might be slightly higher).

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 8

Can't tell you which unique parts are included.

Minifigures:

exclusive to this set:

Kanan Jarrus, Hera Syndulla and Zeb Orrelios

If you are a fan of the series you probably want to own these.

Also included: A stormtrooper

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

I really liked the built.

It was not really difficult, for children it might be a little bit more complicated though since the model is quite large.

 

When it comes to playability I think it is safe to say that because of the size of the ship it will be difficult for children to play with it.

Compared to the Millenium Falcon it's pretty easy though ;-)

The creators of this model included some nice features, like the top cannon, rescue capsules and a cargo bay. If you want to replay some of the scences from the series it should be possible with this set! (even for children).

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

It's a medium to big set that comes with 4 minifigures (three of them exclusive (as for now)).


The price is okay-ish I guess... if you get it for 80€/$ or less you can't go wrong with it.

If you are a big fan of the series and really want to own the ghost and the minifigures even 90+ €/$ would be okay I guess.

If you only want to own the minifigures you still should think about buying it for the additional pieces.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

LEGO Star Wars is one of the most popular themes right now (especially with the new TV series and the upcoming movies).

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 4

Nothing exclusive about this model, but at this price point it might not be possible for everybody to buy it just yet.


Since the phantom is to Star Wars Rebels what the Millenium Falcon is to Star Wars the original triology the set still might be popular in the future.

PACKAGING | Score: 9

The box shows you what you'll get if you buy the set.

A nice box art with a nice background... wouldn't want to put it on display though ;)

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 7

I'm not really a big fan of the ghost (LEGO model), but since it is to the tv series (rebels) what the millenium falcon is to the original movies it might gain quite some value over the years.

Or not...


A big gamble you have to take with this set... so personally I wouldn't invest too much into it just because there are so many other sets that are a better choice... (keep in mind that it might be one of those sets that might be worth more than you'd think though!)

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 7

The ship is a white chunk resembling the ghost from the animated tv series... If you are a fan of the series it might be displayable, otherwise it's just "okay"...

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 7

7-8 points...

If you really are a fan of the series and the ship then of course this set will give you a lot.

If you're just a star wars fan it might be that you're disappointed with it though.

 

I wouldn't want to put it on display, but if you have children who want to play with it then you're good to go!


75082-1: TIE Advanced Prototype
75082-1: TIE Advanced Prototype
Reviewed on: Feb 11, 2015
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

8.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

I've already known what's inside of the box before I bought it and I love the new "Star Wars Rebels" series where the Tie Advanced Prototype is featured.


So to be honest this was one of the new sets I was really looking forward to. (Guess that makes my first impression pretty outstanding).

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 10

I don't know which unique parts are included but I think hatch-mold is new. (also maybe the front window-mold).


A big plus are the minifigures which include not only the Inquisitor who of course is also featured in Star Wars Rebels (as one of the main antagonists) but also a pilot and an imperial officer.


Both the Inquisitor and the Imperial Officer are new minifigures thus far only included in this set.


The Inquisitor looks really cool and comes with a nice new type of armor as well as a new kind of helmet (which includes a red visor). He also comes with a new lightsaber mold that is pretty accurate to the one he uses in the series.

The Imperial Officer is in a brownish color like in the series and looks pretty good himself.

Last and probably least when it comes to the minifigures is the pilot who is our average bad guy angry clone face imperial pilot.

 

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 10

I give this one 10 points because I really enjoyed the build.

It's a medium set (some may even say it's a small one) but the build has been rewarding and never boring.

Since it's a small to medium model (but bigger than you might think when you see it on the box) the playability is HUGE. Like all the newer playsets it includes the spring loaded missles. I really like the mechanism they've used here to fire them (also because the missles are a little bit more hidden which adds a lot to the look of the set).



 

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 7

I think the set costs 39,99$ in the U.S.A. but 49,99€ in Europe which is too big a difference if you ask me!

I'd say taht 40€/$ is a good price for the set, since the minifigures alone would cost you somewhere around 20€/$ if you were to buy them on ebay etc.

If you get the set for 40€/$ it's 8-9 points value for money (new), if you get it for 50€ it's more like 6 points.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

LEGO Star Wars is one of the most popular lines right now.

The new TV Series (Rebels) (later the upcoming movies) also help the theme to sell.


It could not be more popular I'd say.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 3

There is nothing exclusive about this set (not even the price).

The Inquisitor as well as the Imperial Officer are unique to this playset (as for now!).

PACKAGING | Score: 8

I (obviously) like the box-art (it made me buy this set! ;-) ).


You see what you get and have a nice background added.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 6

Since the set really isn't exclusive I do not see a lot of growth potential.

On the other hand the Tie Advanced Prototype is pretty "iconic"/representative to/for the new Star Wars Rebels series as the Inquisitor and the Tie Advanced Prototype are featured quite a lot.

 

I'd say that this set will gain some value over time but it wouldn't be my first choice investment-wise.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 8

Sure it's nothing too fancy but it still looks nice and cool.


You can't go wrong with it when putting it on display.

 

Only 8 points because it lacks some details that would make it more of an eye-catcher.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

I really love this set so I would give it 10 points if it weren't for the price which at least in Europe is too high (especially since it costs about 1/5 less in the U.S.).

The set itself is great! As are the minifigures.

Probably one of my favorite star wars sets thus far. (Especially in this price-area).


21109-1: Exo Suit
21109-1: Exo Suit
Reviewed on: Oct 11, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

9.00

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

My first impression was: "Woah that looks awesome!"


The box is pretty neat and the design of the LEGO ideas sets has an unique touch since they more individual sets than part of a bigger theme.

Even the box art is pretty cool so concerning this set there really isn't anything that does not say "buy me".

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

Sorry I don't really know.

 

The both minifigures might be somewhat unique to this set and also I guess that some of the colours are rare (but I don't think they are unique to this set).

Maybe the one painted brick is unique but I cannot say for sure.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

I just did build it and it was an easy but exciting build.  The only thing that I did not like is that the exo suit is not as stable as I imagined it to be.

Otherwise it is really really great! I mean it doesn't only look cool but it also has lots of playability. Any of you remember the movie Alien? They also did have some kind of exo suit there and this one really did remind me of it. So if I ever want to reenact the Alien movies I'd probably use this exo suit! ;-)

 

Anyhow, if you have never before built an exo suit I'd suggest you get one! You will love it and I'm pretty sure your kids will love it even more.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

It's a LEGO exclusive ideas set and everything about the set is cool.

You get a really nicely designed box that comes with a nice "booklet"/manuel.


The set itself also is great, as it includes the exo suit itself as well as a small turtle robot, some cargo and the two minifigures.

All in all I'd say that the retail price is pretty fair.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9

I would say that LEGO ideas is quite popular, though it always depends on the individual set.

The exo suit is one of the most populars yet if you ask me.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 8

Being part of LEGO ideas the exo suit has been rather exclusive.

I'm not sure how long this set will stay but it might be that it leaves the shelves sooner than people would think. Depending on this factor it could become pretty exclusive.

PACKAGING | Score: 10

I love it! One of the best box arts I've ever seen.

Even the quality of the box is just different (in a good way!).


Strongly reminds me of the architecture sets.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 9

The exo suit has already experiences a lot of growth since LEGO didn't produce as many of them as they probably should have so for a long time the only possibility has been to buy it form resellers.


If it were to disappear next year I'd say that this suit can be a winner!

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 9

I really like everything about this set and you can nicely display it all by itself or together with other LEGO sets of your choice.

The only minor downside is the instability of the exo suit but if you put it on display that's probably not a big deal.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10

All in all this set really is awesome.

The build might not be difficult but it is interesting.

The minifigures are retro... so you either like them or you don't. The design of the minifigures really is nothing special (besides the fact that they redesigned the first ever space theme minifigs...).

For a fair price you'll get two minifigures, a small "cargo bay", a turtle robot and the exo suit itself. Can't go wrong with this set if you ask me!

It's really great for display but I bet your kids (or even you) will love it for play just as much (or probably even more ;-) ).

If you're taking your bets on this one for investing I'm also carefully optimistic.

I mean seriously, even the box and the box art are awesome!

Get at least one for yourself as long as you can!


75054-1: AT-AT
75054-1: AT-AT
Reviewed on: Oct 3, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

8.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

The AT-AT 75054 is pretty neat and the design is pretty close to what we know from the movies.

Since I missed on the AT-ATs that have been produced by LEGO before I was eager to get this one and finally did!


The box looks quite appealing and after having build one I can tell you that it shows you just what you get for your money.


Seeing it on display it's not as impressive as it should be but it shows what a reasonable compromise is when it comes to playability/size/cost.

Even though I would appreciate an UCS model which is just HUUUUGE not everybody might be able to spend that kind of money (especially for their kids to play with it) and also not everybody will have the space for it.


At 99$/119,99€ retail price the AT-AT 75054 is fairly available and affordable for a huge audience (mainly the target audience being kids).

The set includes some awesome minifigures as well, which are (as it is NOW) unique to this set (at least when it comes to design).

8 points from me because I still dream of something more enormous ;-)

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7

Always when it comes to this section am a little bit lost sorry...

I don't think the set has many unique parts, mainly the minifigures are unique (speaking of the design only) to this set as far as I know.

You'll get a lot of grey pieces obviously.


I really like the minifigures as they have a really nice design with some new colours (which might be more "realistic").

The Stormtrooper minifigure now has a seperate helmet with a new design where the eye-part is printed rather than just a hole where you'll need a black head-piece as before.

Since you do no longer need those black headpieces they come with the new standard clonetrooper/stormtrooper face (personally I would have prefered a two sided print here or at least some diversity... the grim look on those face might be a nice touch but if you unhelm them all, you'll end up with a weird sight...).


The backpack also had have a makeover and now you no longer have it attached to the helmed but separately. As for me I do prefer the old backpacks, though I like that it is no longer attached to the helmet.

What's also new to the snowtroopers is that one of them is a commander now and has got a slightly different printing on he torso.


The General Veers minifigure is pretty felicitous. The new design really works in favor for it and I really like the new blueish grey. Sadly he does not come with printed legs, but the torso and the face both look great, though only the torso has got a back printing (would have liked a double sided face on General Veers...).


The Pilot minifigure also comes with the new blueish grey and look way better than its predecessors. But again you'll get the new standard stormtrooper face...

All in all the minifigures are pretty satisfying and for the price there is not much that I would have changed. Maybe one more minifigure would have been nice or different prints on the faces but that's something you can say about most sets I guess ^.^

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9

I didn't build it at a stretch but I would say that it will take 1-3h depending on your speed. The average LEGO-builder might need about 2h.

If you are really really fast 1h might be possible though. I think I did spend about 3h on it and since the manual is subdivided into different parts it's a nice build if you want to build it step by step whenever your time allows it.


It comes with 7 bags and 7 buildings-parts, all of them have some nice little features but of course the best is when you put it all together.

The legs have been repetitive but I wouldn't say it was boring.

When I first saw the skeleton of the model I really was looking forward to see it in it's final form. I liked the fact that the head was that flexible. When you're finally done there's only little left of that flexibility due to some structures that are int he way. Those are needed for the general look of it but still I would have wished for a slightly more flexible head.

What's really cool about this model is the balance of it. You can display it with one or even two legs in midair. I personally did put them all on the ground in a realistic walking manner but the design allows you to be pretty free about what to do with them, so the model will not look too static once you display it.

If you don't want to display it but to play with it it also holds some nice features. There is a kind of trap door included, where the snowtroopers can fall/climb out or possible look can cut his way in... In the cockpit you'll find General Veers and the pilot, though it's a little bit cramped ;-) You can open the headpiece as well as the main torso, to put your minifigures inside or get them out if needed.

Attached to the head there are two missiles with a spring mechanism which allows you to shoot them (way cooler then those flick-missiles).

Building it, as well as playing with it is great! If you have 300 bucks left you can get three of them which looks totally awesome once you display it and your kids will also love it to habe 3 of them so one can be lying on the floor after the rebels made it crash there ^.^

 

9 points, since all in all it's an awesome build, especially for the price. I still have the feeling that there is a lot of potential left for an even better design. For example I don't like that LEGO tends to neglect the interiour that much. Some seats or racks for riffles etc. would have been nice. For the price I don't want to complain too much though ;-)

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10

You get 5 awesome minifigures and a pretty cool vehicle!

Not for 200$ not for 150$ but for 99$!!! (BUY NOW BUY NOW BUY NOW!!! AND YOU'LL GET...)

So as already mentioned before, the price is pretty darn good!

(Some people like to count pieces and give you a price per piece but I don't. To me it's the general impression that counts and here it tells me: The price is good!)

Considering that 99$ is the retail price (120€), you probably can get it for below that price!

If you sell the minifigures and the AT-AT separately I guess that you already can make some profit.

Since it doesn't come with unique parts there really isn't that much to it though...

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Star Wars --> 10 points

(Especially since it's the original triology)

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 4

Yeah... eh... it's not exclusive at all.

BUT! The five new minifigures are kind of exclusive to this set since the design is new! To me the General Veers minifig is the best version of him right now and if LEGO were to stop producing this set/theme (without a newer version of it...) then this could make it somewhat more exclusive.

The price is not too high and it's available everywhere (AND there have been 2 other AT-ATs that size before!) so it only gets 4 points (and maybe even below) when it comes to exclusivity.

PACKAGING | Score: 10

This is also a section I normally don't like, since I'm not a big critic when it comes to box-art.

Anyhow, I really like the box-art of the new 75054 AT-AT. You can see Hoth in the background and the hole picture makes you think of that iconic scene when the AT-ATs approach the rebels base on Hoth and the Empire is finally able to strike back!

 

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 6

That's a tricky one since it's already the third bigger sized AT-AT model.

The motorized one had that going for it, this one doesn't. When it comes to balance I think that this one is superiour to those before but I don't think that this will have a big impact on the growth potential.

If LEGO were to stop producing those then the AT-AT 75054 will absolutely gain in value! But I wouldn't be too surprised to see an enourmous UCS AT-AT and when that happens why should anybody pay more than maybe 150€/$ for this one when you can have the UCS for 200-300€?

I would say that once this set retires it will see some growth though, as long as there is no better version available (meaning an UCS ;-) ).

 

This one can be a winner but probably won't.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 8

The set really looks awesome and there is little wrong with it.

But since those AT-ATs have been that enormous in the movies this version of it looks rather small and insignificant.

Still it is an eye-catcher and it will pimp-up any battle of hoth scene that you might want to reenact.

 

So "only" 8 points from me since I would prefer an even bigger model ;-) (after all size matters I guess).

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

Final analysis:

Pros:

-the price is pretty darn good! (in my opinion)

-the design is awesome and I love the balance of it

-the new minifigure design is great, especially the blue-grey uniforms of the pilot and general veers

-it comes with a fair amount of minifigures, namely 1xgeneral veers, 1xpilot, 2xsnowtroopers, 1xsnowtrooper-commander

(-there is a cool poser included! and the box art is nicely done)

 

Cons:

-not big enough yet!!! ;-)

-interiour design has been neglected

-different face prints would have been nice

(-no motor if anybody should care... I don't but for the sake of completeness it belongs here...)

 

I'm torn between 8 and 9 points here but taking everything into consideration I think it's only fair to give it 9 points since it's a toy for kids and the designers really did a good job.


8084-1: Snowtrooper Battle Pack
8084-1: Snowtrooper Battle Pack
Reviewed on: Sep 14, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

5.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 5

... not sooo good.

It's a decent battle pack and you get 4 minifigures but they should have at least added a third snowtrooper and leave the pilot be...

I mean one commander and three soldiers, that's more than fair but 2 soldiers 1 commander and 1 pilot (piloting what exactly? the missile?)... that just leaves you with a shortage of snowtroopers for your army! And honestly, how many commanders do you need for your snowtroopers anyways?


The missile also is nothing special and the snowspeeder is just a nice addition to have, though I wouldn't associate it that much with the battle of hoth but rather with endor.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

You get 2 snowtroopers, 1 Commander, 1 Pilot.

Nothing exclusive about them.

Even the snowspeeder is not exclusive as far as I know... so I can't really give them any good points for that one.

Also I do not like the design that much and I think if you look at the minifigures of the new ATAT 75054 you will agree that the design is way better though it still would be nice to add some more details to the minifigures.


Still it is a battlepack and if you want to rebuild the battle of hoth you will have to get some I guess.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

Yeah look how awesome my commander commands that one snowtrooper while the other is already gone on his speederbike and the pilote... yeah he's controlling the super cool flick missile... so much playability in just one set! (if you have not yet realized: sarcasm has just been used)

Still the speederbike looks pretty nice and I like that the pilot can "use" the handles.

The building experience is as good as it gets for any battlepack I guess.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 7

You get 4 minifigs and a snowspeeder so the value for money is okay I would say but I am not satisfied that there are only two snowtroopers included!

To me the combination is somewhat poor.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Star Wars = 10 Points

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 2

I really can't see anything exclusive about it.

Still it might be more exclusive than a brick from the brickwall...

PACKAGING | Score: 4

Like most battlepacks nothing special.

There could have been a small AT-AT somewhere in the background or something else...

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 4

I'd say the growth potential is minimal (if at all).

There have been lots of other sets including snowtroopers and I don't see that any of the minifigures won't have a comeback (they already have in a newer, better design!)

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 5

If you want to rebuild battle of hoth this battlepack will add nicely to your collection.

On it's own it is nothing special though and I would say that you'll at least need another rebel set to have a counterpart.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 5

In conclusion this battle pack is a poor performer compared to other battlepacks.

Not only is the balance off when it comes to minifigures but also there is nothing special about it.

Still you will want to buy battle packs when it comes to army building.


7914-1: Mandalorian Battle Pack
7914-1: Mandalorian Battle Pack
Reviewed on: Sep 14, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

7.40

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

The first impression was pretty good as I always liked the Mandalorians.

For a battle pack it looks pretty cool and I like the fact that it has 4 of the same minifigures (armybuilding!!!)

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 8

The minifigures are not really that exclusive but as the Mandalorians are not that important for the movies (as for now!) and even in the tv-series only have been one of many lines of action I don't think that there will be too many Mandalorians featured in the next years.


So it might be that they are in that way somewhat exclusive...

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 7

As a battle pack with four identical figures and some weapons it has an average playability.

Since you can nicely use it for army building I would score it somewhat above average but that's it.


Build experience: You get as much build experience out of it as you can get out of a battle pack I guess! haha :-) Maybe a little bit more than average as they have lots of special sensors you can add to the helmet.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 9

4 minifigs for a reasonable price. Nothing too special about it though... But then again there also is no real downside to it!... so 9-10 points if you ask me

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Star Wars = 10 Points

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 7

It's above average as it features the Mandalorians. The battle pack itself (like all the others) of course is nothing exclusive and there is no real special minifigure included.

PACKAGING | Score: 4

Yeah look how those mandalorians attack!

There are blasters and fire and explosions everywhere in the nowhere where the minifigures are installed... well... I guess it's difficult to have a good cover for that one. It fits but not too much haha... it's your random planet surface and there has not been to much love to detail.

To me it's difficult to rate this one (and not that important either).

I wouldn't like to put the box on display and I wouldn't say that anybody from LEGO went all out to design it. (far from it...)

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 7

Yeah maybe... dunno... wouldn't bet on it.


As already said it contains the mandalorians who are not that common in LEGO Star Wars (and if you ever want to build an army of mandalorians you will need it!)

But I don't know if people will go all crazy about it in a couple of years, I'd rather think that they won't as it really is just important for that one reason: Building an army.

 

Another downside is that they don't really have that big an appearance in the Star Wars Universe. (Maybe that's also an upside as they might not redo those minifigures...).

I'd go for other sets and would not buy more than 10 of them as investment (if I'd bother at all).

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 6

I like the mandalorians and I was happy to finally buy the Set for my collection but have been somewhat disappointed by it as well.

The minifigures really are nothing special and it would have not been to difficult to add some nice details (like different faces, some details on the helmets, torso, legs...)

If you have PreVizsla though they are a nice addition. You also can build a small army for Boba or Jango.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8

It's a good deal for a battle pack and I especially like that they put 4 of the same into ONE battlepack. I mean my snow troopers really don't need another 10 commanders and pilots... if you know what I mean.

If you like the Mandalorians you will need to get one. It's handy for army building, nice for display if you put it together with Pre Vizsla or maybe Boba or Jango and there have not been so many other Mandalorians yet.

Other than that their is nothing special about the battle pack and they could have done so much better with some small details added here and there.

Beside the minifigures that is not much (good) to say about the Set so I just won't ;-)


75003-1: A-wing Starfighter
75003-1: A-wing Starfighter
Reviewed on: Sep 14, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

6.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 6

I never have been a big fan of the A-Wing that's why I would not have bought this set for itself bout I got mine in one of these 3 in 1 battle packages.


What's really nice about the set are the minifigures! You get Han-Solo and Genereal Ackbar, as well as a new pilot minifigure.


So all in all it's solid enough for the price.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 8

To me the most important parts in this set are the minifigures.

General Ackbar is not really exclusive to this set but still it's pretty rare. (For me this is the most positive one about this set)

Secondly you get a new A-Wing-Pilot version which is nice, though I don't really like the design that much... but what can I say I'm more of a x-wing fan I guess ;-)

Last but not least there is Han-Solo, which is nothing new but still a nice addition to the set (though to my mind he does not really fit... if they would have added Lando Calrissian - as he was in command in third movie - this would have really given the set a uniqueness ;-))

 

Additionally you get a couple of not so common bricks as they are in a different color... nothing too special though.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

It's small enough to let it fly (not actually flying!!! I mean you could throw it but... naaaa).

It nicely adds if you have a fleet and want to put them on display.

I don't really like the flick missiles but it might be a playability factor.


There are minifigures included... (to me they always have been the real deal when we are talking about playing ^.^)

 

Other than that I don't see too much features that would be outstanding in terms of playability or worth of being mentioned.

 

Build experience: not really difficult, nothing special about it, but it's a small set and the build is befitting I would say

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 7

7 Points... but only because of the minifigures! (Ackbar!!!)


Otherwise I would have given it 6 I guess. All in all as buyer the price seems to be reasonable but I wouldn't fancy the set enough to get it.

 

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Star Wars... 10 Points...

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 6

It's a small set that you can buy almost everywhere and if it wasn't for the minifigures that wouldn't be to much exclusive about it.

 

PACKAGING | Score: 7

My favorite section... the packaging... I still don't know how to deal with is haha :-)

 

It's befitting I guess. The minifigs are nicely displayed and the background also fits.

As the set itself is not really amazing in any way but rather standard it doesn't add much to the cover.

Other than that there really is not that much to say about it.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 6

I don't really see much growth potential in it.

It's a small average set and the ship is not really iconic. I mean we all have heard of an A-Wing before but B-Wing and Y-Wing will don't stand out either.

The X-Wing is more iconic and everybody who has seen the movies will know it for sure and that's why for most it's more important for the collection.


There is the Ackbar minifigure and some collectors might want the pilot. But I would not be surprised if they'd re-release General Ackbar (and other pilots...) in future sets.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 5

Nothing special here... It's not really an eye-catcher but might add up to your fleet.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 6

All in all this set is rather average without anything too special about it if it wasn't for the General Ackbar minifig (and maybe the pilot).


If you want to build a small fleet for display of course you will need an A-Wing.
It's also nice to have General Ackbar for your collection (Who else should warn your other minifigures that "It's a trap!!!"???)


For the price it's totally okay to get one and you or your children might enjoy it. (Though not as much as other sets ;-) But I guess you can say that about almost every smaller set ^.^).

 

As for investing I wouldn't count on it.


4547551-1: Chrome Darth Vader
4547551-1: Chrome  Darth Vader
Reviewed on: Sep 9, 2014
View All Reviews

Overall Personal Score

8.50

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 10

So this is the first time that I write a review about a LEGO-article that nobody else has yet written a review about!

Why mention it? Because it's somehow funny that nobody else has bothered to write one about 4547551 Chrome Darth Vader since it's been out since 2009 and also has been a very special promotion set as it has been produces for LEGO® Star Wars' 10th anniversary.

 

My first thought on this one was something like "Do you really want to buy a minifig for about 50$?! Naaaaaaa! That's too crazy..."

But as so often in life I just could not stop wanting one and finally I gave in.

 

At first glance you don't see too much as it is inside of the polybag! But once opened (it felt just a little bit like a holy act or something like that... my fellow brickpickers might know the feeling) I was happy that I got one for me.


This Darth Vader just stands out. Don't get me wrong, I really like the normal LEGO Darth Vader minifig but to me it always seemed to be too dark and somehow looked funny because most of the time the light just does not seem to fall right thus the normal minifig always seems a little bit dull, especially compared to those new detailled and colorful minifigs (e.g. Boba Fett).

But with Chrome Darth Vader everything is just better. He's not your usual black Darth Vader, he reflects the light nicely and even the eye-part of his helmet comes out nicely.

 

If you want to put your figs on display, and somehow have the feeling that your Vader always is somewhat not as interesting as he should be, get yourself one of those Chrome Darth Vaders!

 

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 10

As it is a promotional minifig pretty much about it is unique.

Unique parts: torso + arms + hands, legs, helmet


Those are the shiny (chrome) pieces.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

It's a minifig so I guess you can play with it as good as you can with any other minifig (though it looks way cooler!)

As for the build experience I would say it's nothing too special BUT it somehow feels a little bit more special than putting together your normal minifig, as this one has this sacred aura around it (maybe because it's so expensive...)

So building experience for a minifig probably 9-10 and building experience for a LEGO set probably 1-2 (I mean it's "only" a minifig what do you expect?!)... so all in all let's give it a 6.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 6

Again this one is tough.

If you get it as promotional it clearly is a TEN (or even ELEVEN!).

But most of us will have to buy one eventually and might have to spend about 50-60$ for one.

For a minifig ths is just way too much.

Trying to be at least a little bit objective here I will give it 6 points (if you have to buy one for about 50$ that is).

It sure looks nice but then again it's "only" a minifig, though this one is all shiny and supercool looking.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

LEGO Star Wars... 10 Points... Hopefully if you read this review in 10 years rom now (would be september 2024) it's still a popular theme, though I would guess not as popular as right now).

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 10

This is a promotional figure. It's expensive NOW because it's rare and you can't buy any at the LEGO-Stores.

So obviously 10 points.

PACKAGING | Score: 7

The minifig comes in a polybag with a nice cover.

For something as special as the LEGO® Star Wars' 10th anniversary promo-minifig they could have  come up with something even nicer (like they did for the white retro spaceman figure that's out right now).

 

I don't really see how you can rate the packaging and that's always the toughest one for me, so taking what I've said before into account I'll give it a 7.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 6

It's a tricky one!

How much are you willing to spend on a minifig?

Too most of us there will be a limit I guess. 10-20$? Maybe 50$ if it is something very special and you really NEED it for your collection? Maybe 100$... but there is an end to just how much one is willing to spend.


If they do not remake this one for another anniversary than I think it could keep growing... maybe up to 100$

Only time can tell, I would be cautious about it though... As an Investment it's a maybe (not).

If you just want to own one go ahead! Maybe you can resell it for 5-10$ more later on.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

As mentioned before it just looks great.

If your normal black Darth Vader always looks a little bit too dull and just never is the eye-catcher you would like it to be then this Chrome Darth Vader is just right for you!


I personally appreciate that the light emphasises the eye-part of the helmet so much better with that chrome on it.

 

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 10

In conclusion I have to give Chrome Darth Vader 10 points.

It may be pricey but that's due to the fact that it's a promo figure from 2009.

If your planning on displaying it, then you should get one!

It's a really nice minifig to have and every collector could be proud to own one.

It will not be the best build experience you ever had and as investment it's not too safe I would say but giving it points for being what it is and doing what is was meant to do I'd give it 10 points.


  1   2   Next Page