What is the best way to sort a bulk lot of sets thrown together?

Alright so I just got a couple of bins that include 10 Star Wars sets assumed to be complete. What is the best way to sort them? I have never done it before.

Sort them by color all at once, then try to put them together?

Just build them one by one out of the bin?

Try to sort the obvious pieces first and then just sort them set by set?

I am a bit lost. lol.

Obvious pieces first, obviously. :thumbsup:

Alright so I just got a couple of bins that include 10 Star Wars sets assumed to be complete. What is the best way to sort them? I have never done it before.

I am a bit lost. lol.

I don't advise trying this.

Usually you can sort them by "theme colors", but first thing I would take out the obvious pieces and then begin sorting them into piles that you think they belong in. For example I found a 6210 Sail Barge, so I starting sorting the browns, tans, etc. into a pile as it will make it easier when you try to put it together.

If you are going to sort, I would advise not doing it by color but instead by size... it's much easier to find a 1x1 slope in a pile of like size pieces than it is to find the same piece in a tote full of black pieces. Just my thoughts from experience... oh, and you're better off just diving into the whole thing before planning too much, I have always over-thought the process and it's taken much longer than it should.

Oh, and clear plastic totes are your best friend. And if the minifigs aren't separated in plastic bags, I would throw all the heads, torsos, weapons, completed figs, etc. into a bin of their own to go through after... I've found hundreds of sought after minifigs in these lots that don't belong to any of the sets I purchased, so you never know what you'll find in there.

I'm sure I forgot something, but I'll post again if I think of any suggestions to make it easier. :thumbsup:

• Like 1

Obvious pieces first, obviously. :thumbsup:

I don't advise trying this.