Those old boxes

Brickdad46

Question

I'm new to this site, so a big hello from Oregon.

I have been buying Lego sets new for the past ten years or so. I purchase them for display. I know they have value so this site is very interesting on that level. Anyway, I have saved all of the boxes that the sets came in (modulars, trains, winter village). The question is do these boxes have any value so that I should keep them, or should I just save the space and recycle them?

8 answers to this question

They have value, especially the older retired sets. Check out Bricklink.com, search a set number then check listings for boxes and maybe instructions too, to get an idea.

That said, if you ever plan to resell any kits from your collection, keeping the original boxes may play to your monetary advantage as a bundle.

I'm more of a collector than a reseller, but I would think the boxes for the retired sets would be worth some money. There are people  that have gotten sets second hand thru ebay or craigslist and want the box or printed manuals to complete the set. You could always check ebay for completed auctions on boxes only

22 minutes ago, Brickdad46 said:

Thanks. you validated my suspicion that they had value. Now I just have to figure out a better place to keep them in good shape.

If you haven't done so, i'd break the seals, and fold them flat.  Then pack them in a larger box and seal that and store it somewhere like a shed, back closet or something.  I keep all the boxes to our open sets.  After a while they just accumulate to where I played the box within a box within a box, like a bunch of russian nesting dolls.  But then that became a hastle too, so now I just pop all the seals, and fold them flat.  On ebay, sets that are complete with the box tend to go for more than sets without box and instructions.  So if you were ever to sell them off, it's worth at least keeping the box.

Edited by fossilrock