Brickpicker logo


Ratings and Reviews for 21006-1: The White House

21006-1: The White House

Overall Score

7.53
View Price Guide Review this Set
  • First Impression Feelings after first look? 8.67
  • Unique Parts/Minifigures Unique parts? Increase resale? 6.00
  • Playability/Build Experience Is this a "FUN" set to build? 5.67
  • Value for money (NEW) "Bang for your buck"? 8.00
  • Theme Popularity Will theme help with resale? 6.33
  • Exclusivity Unique production aspects? 5.67
  • Packaging Does this set stand out? 9.00
  • Growth Potential Possibility of revenue growth? 8.67
  • Display Attributes Does this set stand out? 9.33
  • Conclusion Your final analysis.. 8.00

4 Brickpicker Member Reviews

Review from: srm_520
Reviewed on: May 8, 2013
Avatar for: srm_520
Join Date: 03/05/2013
# of Reviews: 24

Overall Personal Score

7.70

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

Is there a more iconic building in American culture than the White House?  And to be able to capture the likeness on this scale is simply amazing.  I’m not a huge fan of the trees, but the actual building from the rooftop terrace, to the curved balcony, and even the chandelier over the front entryway – it was all done very well.  I found it also very interesting that Adam Reed Tucker decided to go black with the window instead of the trans-clear bricks.  I think this choice definitely makes the white pop even more, but I would have liked a more open structure even if the building was empty.                                                                       

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 5

I wish I could say there is something unique about the pieces comprising the White House besides the nameplate, but there just not much to be excited about.  You have a couple nice curved bricks as well as the new light saber brick being used for the pillars.  However, in this color – if you can find a nameplate – this bad boy is going to be pretty easy to Bricklink, and that can be a real issue for investment purposes.

Like every other set in the theme - there are no minifigs, and it makes perfect sense.  The scale would be all wrong, plus since most sets from this theme could be displayed on an office desk in some in high rise - it would take away form the more sophisticated adult feel of the theme.  I love my minifigs, but I won’t knock the lack of minifigs for any set in this theme.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 7

For the architecture series comparison – this is a pretty decent build experience.  It’s more than fifteen minutes of fun, but there isn’t a great deal of repeated steps – so I was happy with the actual build.  Structurally, although I like the finished look the pillars give the set – I didn’t like them being attached through the jumper brick.  I much prefer the Villa Savoye method that recesses them into the ground and through a clamping brick.  I believe it provides additional stability without having to compromise the feel and overall look of the structure.

One other aspect of the build experience that must be mentioned with every set in the Architecture line are the fantastic instruction manuals.  Usually, an instruction manuals are like a christmas or birthday cards - a necessary means to getting into what you really want.  However, in the architecture line, the instructions are like a runway model - sleek, gorgeous, and makes you pause to take another look. 

Sets are well bound in either a high quality spiral binding or glue bound for smaller sets.  Plus, you get a history lesson complete with in-depth pictures covering every interesting aspect of the set you are about to build.  They’re something any adult and every collector can truly savor.  All manuals are done in a matte black finish to match the packaging giving all sets a quality finished look.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 8

Lego sets are expensive, however the architecture theme are some of the worse offenders in terms of price per piece.  It’s important to note that as you examine the following charts, you’ll notice that the stigma of high price points came early, and may not be as justified as the theme has progressed.  Below is a comparision chart for what I consider the three categories in this theme.  I really like analyzing all the sets because it gives investors a better holistic look how sets truly compare across the theme.                                                                     

The small sets(anything under 200 pieces), which dominated the beginning few years of the theme, but have been non-exsistent on the last four years, (I don't count the Willis Tower since it's a re-release) and have by far the worst price per piece average:

Set Number

Set Name

Release Year

Piece Count

Retail Price

Retail Price Per Piece (cents)

21000-1

Sears Tower

2008

69

$20

0.29

21000-2

Willis Tower

2011

69

$20

0.29

21001

John Hancock Center

2008

69

$20

0.29

21002

Empire State Building

2009

77

$20

0.26

21003

Space Needle

2009

57

$20

0.35

The medium architecture sets have a much better price per piece (though not fantastic) and have really complimented the larger sets - and truly making the theme fall basically into these two main categories since 2009.  As you can see as time has progressed, the price per piece average has come way down making a lot of the newer sets competative with other Lego themes.  I rank medium size sets in the 200-400/500 piece range:

Set Number

Set Name

Release Year

Piece Count

Retail Price

Retail Price Per Piece (cents)

21004

Solomon Guggenheim Meseum

2009

208

$40

0.19

21007

Rockefeller Center

2011

240

$40

0.17

21008

Burj Khalifa-Dubai

2011

208

$25

0.12

21011

Brandenburg Gate

2011

363

$35

0.10

21012

Sydney Opera House

2012

270

$40

0.15

21013

Big Ben

2012

346

$30

0.09

21016

Sungnyemun

2012

325

$35

0.11

Finally come the large sets, and actually the price per piece average is very competative to other Lego themes.  However, it's worthy to note that in some of these large sets - you don't have a lot of piece diversity, so when that is factored in - one would wish these sets would fall another cent or two.  The large set have a broad piece count range and I consider anything over 500+ pieces to fall in this area.  The Robie House is kind of and outlier, but many of the newer sets in this theme are moving the the medium or large category.  The following is a comparision of the current six large sets in the series:                                                     

Set Number

Set Name

Release Year

Piece Count

Retail Price

Retail Price Per Piece (cents)

21005

Fallingwater

2009

881

$100

0.12

21006

The White House

2010

560

$50

0.09

21009

Farnsworth House

2011

546

$60

0.11

21010

Robie House

2011

2276

$200

0.09

21014

Villa Savoye

2012

660

$70

0.11

21017

Imperial Hotel

2013

1187

$130

0.11

So, what does all of this info mean?  It means there is no better set pound for pound for your money than the White House.  0.09 apiece for an architecture series is just a really good deal, so it makes it a lot harder to say no to that initial investment.  Besides Big Ben, another really good investment set, it’s not like you’re going to buy a bunch of Robie House’s because the price per piece is good.  This is just a better bang for your buck – now we haven’t seen that translate into better growth over other sets in the theme, but it does mean you’ll get to see that much more money once it does go EOL.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 7

I have more Architecture theme sets than other type of Lego as a collector.  Actually, minus the newly released Imperial Hotel, I have every Architecture set, and I believe this is a testament to the simplicity and grand idea of what the theme represents and who the theme caters too.  I’m a middle-class adult in his 30’s coming out of the dark ages and this theme served as a classy and cultured way to do it. 

Basically, the architecture sets are a Lego gateway drug - and something as simple as a 77 piece Empire State Building has helped me kindle a passion as a collector and ultimately an investor.  This theme will never be as popular as Star Wars or City, or be a sensation like Ninjago, Friends, or Chima - but it has a nice cult following from the best of clients - adults with money and a means to relive some great childhood memories.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 7

If exclusivity means having to find a Barnes & Noble store to satisfy your architecture needs, then this category is covered - if not, well then not so much.  I don’t think the BN deal to keep these sets out of Wal-Mart or Target is as much an exclusivity idea as it is a nod to the potential “high-brow” buyers Lego is trying to cater this theme too.  The idea makes sense.  Adult buyers grab a their Starbuck Mocha latte half whip while reading the latest copy of The New Yorker - and grab the latest Lego Architecture set as they head to check out.  Like it or hate it - you have to admit, it makes the set slightly more exclusive and appealable to potential buyer - and that could mean more money in the investors pocket.

PACKAGING | Score: 10

If there is one area where you can safety say this entire theme shines above all else - it’s in the packaging and presentation.  Maybe this is why sets have such a high price per piece average, because the packaging it slick, heavy-duty, and down right beautiful.  I know it’s hard to get real excited over packaging, but it’s just one more unique factor that truly shows the architecture line geared more to adults rather than kids.  Another aspect of the of set boxes that they are easy to reseal with fold-in flaps.  Basically, the architecture line was the first line where I ever considered saving the packaging purely for collecting purposes, and not just as an invest/resell piece.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

Besides the uptick in holiday sales, the White House has stayed pretty even in the retail growth area.  The overall CAGR value at the time of this review was a -4.44%, but I really wouldn’t take too much stock in this number right now.  I think it was telling that during the month of December when a decent sample (270ish sets) were sold – that the CAGR value was sitting closer to 8%, which is a much better number for investors. 

Another investor factor that must be considered is this set in well into its third year.  It was the first and only released set in 2010 – which is a little weird considering four to six sets were released per year in the years surrounding it.  It’s always scary for investor once sets go past the two year mark and continue to saturate the market.  Plus, it was released right after Fallingwater, one the most popular sets in the entire theme – so all of these may be factors in inhibiting growth.  I will be very interested to see were the value levels out after the first EOL spike in pricing.  Until then, it will just be hard to get an accurate read on this set.

One thing for sure is that it’s also hard to get a good read on the architecture line in general since only one set has gone EOL - The John Hancock Center(21001) gives investors hope that even at initial high investment prices (for what they are getting), it’s possible to get a very nice return.  JHC was released in 2008, just one set before the Empire State building, at the same retail price of $19.99.  By most accounts, it went EOL at the holiday season last year.  In three months’ time, it went from a retail NIB value of $20 to $59.59 NIB, or a 198.1% increase over retail price.  With a healthy 24.41% CAGR, how does tripling your initial investment sound?  Will all of this translate into success for the White House?  $150 return may be a bit of a stretch, but again I think you stand to still make some money in a few years.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 8

What can I say – this is the White House, probably the best known “house” in the entire world, so I’d say it displays well and is a good attention grabber.  People always want to pick this one up off the shelf, so I’m glad it’s sturdy, and no one ever asks what it’s supposed to be unlike a lot of foreign structures in the theme like the Brandenburg Gate, Sungnyemun, or the Burj Khalifa-Dubai.  Bottom line, it’s probably the most recognizable set in the entire theme.  Plus, displaying the finished set is really the main reason this theme was created, so in this category – mission accomplished.  However, I still hold out hold for the bigger scale set in the future.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8

I really think the White House was done well, and ultimately give it big thumbs up.  Granted, structures like this or the Capitol – I really wish would be done at the Taj Mahal scale, but we’ll see what the future brings.  Overall from an American collector’s standpoint – this one is a no brainer, but in a more world context I don’t know how this will translate for investors.  It has hit that point in the run for a big set that I think the saturation point has been met, and I hope it goes EOL soon.  The truth is - this is a set that could EOL tomorrow, so do keep that in mind, but If it doesn’t – your bottom line could get affected.  My advice is having  one or two in the closet is about as much as I would be willing to invest unless I found a major deal, but if you are just looking to collect – this set is a win.                                                                      


Review from: Fcbarcelona101
Reviewed on: Apr 30, 2013
Avatar for: Fcbarcelona101
Join Date: 01/13/2013
# of Reviews: 53

Overall Personal Score

7.60

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 9

The White House architecture set is a simply amazing at first sight, as are most of the sets in this line. A point in its favor when you first see it is of course the fact that is a replica of what could be considered one of the most famous buildings in the whole world, and the representation of the office of The President of the United States. Once you get after the initial impression, you are able to see a little more into it and start noticing the little but amazing detail work that is present in the set. From the small trees that surrond it to the pillars on the front and back sections, this is really a beautiful set.

In my opinion, all of these little sets are very impressive, considering they are not really that big, with some exceptions, and really stand out from the majority of the other LEGO sets in the stores.They are pretty much a mini version of the large scale models theme, including close to the same level of detail (within possible) and great value as display pieces.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 6

From what I can see, this set really has not many rare parts, and the only one that can be considered completely exclusive to it is the black brick with the name printed on it. Of course, it's only the name that is exclusive to this set since the rest of the architecture line have a name plate just like this one.

That's no to say there is absolutely nothing interesting as far as pieces go. For example, you do get a nice amount of white fences that go around most of the upper section of the building, and from what I have researched that is a piece that you can only find in around 5 sets out there, so rare enough to warrant mention. Besides that particular piece, there are 3 or 4 more that are only present in a dozen sets, so they are somewhat rare as well.

One of the "issues", if you want to call it that, with these sets is that most of them can be easily replicated. Of course, as long as they are in production it would not make much sense to try and bricklink the White House, but once it gets retired that is an option that will have an impact on its value and investors will have to consider. The saving grace here is, again, the name plate. I am sure there is probably a way to get a regular black plate like the one included in this set and get the name printed with the same or a very close font type, but I also believe that most collectors will want to have the real thing as it came out of the box, helping increase the value of those that are still MISB.

There are no minifigures to speak of in this or any of the architecture sets. Sets are mini scale and mostly for display, so including minifigures would have been a terrible idea.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 6

You will not find any new or very interesting techniques in the building process. Most of the sets in this line, with the possible exception of the larger ones, are as basic as you can get with LEGO bricks. That does not mean you won't have fun, just saying that you should not expect to do anything new as far as building goes. Also, in this particular model, there is a lot of repetition, and if you take a quick look at the completed set you'll notice why. The whole thing is pretty symmetrical and made out of a series of mostly black columns and white ones in between. In fact, in one step you'll be doing 16 pieces of the same type, that end up being those black columns I am talking about just now.

Things I enjoyed about building the model the most were the outer areas, like the little trees that surround the building, as well as the main entrance and roof area. Sadly, most of the building time is spent on other sections that are nowhere near as fun.

Playability on this set is completely inexistent. This line was designed for the AFOL that only wants to display this sets as part of a collection, or individually in the office or wherever they may see fit. I see these as collector pieces that once you build, the only extra fun you'll get out of it is if you decide to build it again or just by enjoying seeing it wherever you decide to place it.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 8

Let's take a look at the value for the money of this model when compared to sets of the same theme:

Model MSRP Number Of Pieces Price Per Piece
       
 21009 - Farnsworth House  $ 59.99  546  $ 0.11
 21014 - Villa Savoye  $ 69.99  660  $ 0.11
 21011 - Brandenburg Gate  $ 34.99  363  $ 0.10
 21006 - White House  $ 49.99  560  $ 0.09

As you see, most of the similar sized sets from the Architecture theme seem to be set around the same PPP ratio. Especially encouraging about this set is that it is the cheapest one you will find per piece of those that are similarly sized. Why would LEGO decide to set the price lower for this particular model I have no idea. Maybe they want it to make it more affordable to the US market to acquire one of the main landmarks of the country.

Anyway, most 560 pieces you get are really small sized, so despite the attractive price you see on the chart above, you may want to take a closer look to what you are actually getting for your money. Having said that, this set is correctly priced based on comparable sets of the theme and since it is mostly intented for AFOLs I think LEGO figured out they could charge a little bit more than the actual weight and size of the pieces would suggest.

Another thing I think is important to mention is that when you purchase architecture themed sets, you will get a decently sized book where you'll find some facts and history about the particular building you purchased, so that is something you can add to what you get for your money. The books are really nice and informative and go very well as a complement to the sets themselves.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 7

It is really quite difficult to gauge the popularity of this theme at this point, since there have not been almos any sets going into retirement other than the very first ones I believe, John Hancock and the Sears Tower, this last one basically still in production under the Willis Tower name. For that reason I really don't think that the CAGR for the theme can give us a really good estimate at this point, but just for your information purposes as of 4/30/2013 that figure is 5.18 %.

I will say however, that the feeling I get from the rest of collectors and investors out there is that they really like the sets under this line and that there is the expectation of them doing well in the secondary market. It would make sense to me, since this line is pretty unique in that the appeal is mainly focused towards adults that display the sets, somewhat similar to the large scale models theme but with the obvious size and price difference.

One of the pieces of data we can use at this point to try and get a little bit more information about the future prospects of this theme is the Amazon Best Sellers (LEGO related). If you take a look, that list includes four different architecture models in its top 100, so I would say that the rest of the sets are probably not too far behind and what's more it shows that the popularity of the architecture theme, based on sales, is pretty high. If you wanted to know, The White House is # 40 on that list.

If the sets continue to sell as well as they seem to be right now, I believe they will become very popular once they start going EOL more and more.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 5

The architecture sets are not exclusive to any store and are available on multiple outlets. You'll probably see them most often at brick and mortar Barnes & Noble stores around you.

PACKAGING | Score: 9

The packaging of all the architecture themed sets is almost the same, besides obvious differences in box size. They are, however, very different of that of your run of the mill LEGO set.

The boxes are very elegand and low key, with the most prominent feature being its black color and elegant font type. This sets are most of the time in completely separate areas dedicated exclusively to them, so they stand out really well, but even if they end up on the regular LEGO aisle you'll be very quick to spot them just by looking for the black boxes this sets come in.

I have to say that I really love the packaging of this line, as it fits very well its mostly adult focus.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

As I said before, is not really easy to find comparable invesments or any other kind of information that may help us predicts this type of set's future value, so we will have to base our assumptions on the only set that has really retired from this theme, the John Hancock Center (Data from Brickpicker)

Model Release Date MSRP CAGR Current Market Value (New) HPR *
           
 21001 - John Hancock Center  2008  $ 19.99  24.41 %  $ 59.59  198.10 %
 21006 - The White House  2010  $ 49.99  N/A  N/A  N/A

*HPR: Holding Period Return, assuming the set was purchased at retail on the day of released and sold today.

 If the John Hancock Center is a prologue to what the future has in store for us regarding this theme, then it will end up being one of the top performing themes over all of those available right now, but of course that is just too hard to tell with only one observation. It will at least give us a little bit of information that we need in order to make a prediction that is more than just a wild guess.

First important thing to note is that the sets are completely different as far as size and price point is concerned, but I think we still can make some assumptions based on the fact that they are from the same theme and in the end share the core characteristics of Architecture models. Given its sudden increase in value over the past month of december, and that actually started in november, I think it is pretty safe to say that the set retired some time before the actual holiday season. If you take a look at the chart, the price went from being close to $ 40 to around $ 52 in just one month, and since then it has peaked currently at almost $ 60.

I really wish that the first Architecture set to retire had been any other except the JHC. If you are somewhat interested in architecture or skycrapers in general you will know that the JHC is one of the most praised buildings in the world by a lot of people. It is a REALLY popular building, even more than its taller sibling in Chicago, the Willist Tower. For this reason, I think that the huge growth this set has experience comes as a consequence of that popularity, and that when people started to see they were missing out on the set started purchasing it on ebay until it got to where it is now.

The White House on the other hand, is also a very popular building, with the added meaning of being one of the landmarks of the United States. It is easily recognizable by most people around the world, so I believe that in this case the JHC does provide a good measurement of what is going to happen with the WH once retired. Regarding some of the other sets, I am not that sure.

The price point of the White House is a lot higher than the JHC, but it also comes with more pieces and is extremely more detailed and the nice landscape area that surrounds it makes it look even better. Assuming this set goes EOL this year around the same time the JHC, and displays a CAGR of slightly less, say around 22%, given the higher price, it should sit around $ 90 by the first quarter of next year.

 

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

This little set gets a perfect score on display value, and that is to be expected since that was the main objective of the theme. There are very good details on this set that make it look extremely good. I especially would like to mention the pillars on the main entrance and on the back, as well as the nice way the whole roof area is designed. Also, I am particularly impressed about how a simple thing like the green base plates and trees made out of regular 1x1 make such an improvement on the overall look of the set.

The model is very elegant, and will fit perfectly anywhere you choose to display it. If you feel like taking this set to a highly formal work environment, it won't stand out as a toy or anything of the sort, but it will shine as a really good looking scale model of an important building.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8

This set is one of the greatest display pieces you can get for a lot less than $ 100. If you don't feel like spending a lot of money on something like Tower Bridge, or simply don't have the space for it, the White House offers a nice alternative that will for sure satisfy your display needs, while only setting you back around $ 50.

The overall set is really above average, in my opinion. If the set performs at least somewhat similarly to the JHC, it will be a top performer by all accounts and that will just make it even better than it already is.


Review from: mikeur86
Reviewed on: Apr 24, 2013
Avatar for: mikeur86
Join Date: 04/21/2013
# of Reviews: 84

Overall Personal Score

7.30

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8
The LEGO Architecture series is very impressing. At first glance you immediately realize that this was geared towards the adults. My wife gave me the entire set this past Christmas and we have all of them on display in our office. The White House set is elegantly designed and I currently have it as my center piece from the rest.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 7
This set has parts that I have never seen in any of our other sets before but I have never constructed a modular so I can assume they aren't unique.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 4
The architecture series aren't meant to be played with but are more sculptures to have displayed and they look really cool. We have had family and friends comment on all of them. They are cheaper than other art and spark more conversations! As far as the build experience it was neat seeing it all come together but over-all it was an average build and definitely nothing like a ship.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 8
The architecture sets aren't expensive and as previously mentioned they are cheaper than most other artwork. The good thing about this is my wife loves them and she proudly displayed them, while some of the other sets we have she insists I hide away in the kids rooms. The White House is very symbolic and since this is the only set of it's kind I have a feeling that the price point you can pay now will be well worth it later on.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 5
Architecture series may not be as popular as the other themes since they are more geared towards adults and older kids but they are still very very neat in my opinion.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 5
Nothing really exclusive about this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 8
I like the packaging of the architecture series. All black with white lettering. Very slick! I usually keep my boxes flattened and bundled together but for this one I left it whole and put it away safely in a tote.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 10
I have a strong feeling that this set is going to explode after its retired. So much that I purchased three of them just to have in case it did. It's the first of it's kind and the Architecture series seems to be growing right now. Since this is early on in its category stage I have a feeling their is plenty of growth to be had.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10
As stated before this is a piece that can be displayed all over the house. Whats really cool about this White House set is my son's school as one displayed in his home room. The entire architecture series can be displayed anywhere and it would be completely acceptable whilst some other sets just don't fit in.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 8
Overall, I love this set! I have rated it an 8 and I recommend any collector to pick it up along with the other in the series. If you are looking for a good display set you won't be disappointed and if you are looking to turn some profit I feel you won't take a loss on it. I can't wait for the new Architecture sets to be released.


Review from: Ed Mack
Reviewed on: Jan 2, 2013
Avatar for: Ed Mack
Join Date: 09/22/2011
# of Reviews: 50

MEMBER RATINGS

WOW FACTOR: 8.00
UNIQUE PARTS: 6.00
BUILD EXPERIENCE: 7.00
VALUE FOR MONEY: 6.00
THEME POPULARITY: 6.00
EXCLUSIVITY: 6.00
PACKAGING: 8.00
GROWTH POTENTIAL: 7.00
DISPLAY QUALITY: 9.00
OVERALL RATING: 7.00
While the majority of the Architecture sets are still available from LEGO and Amazon, now is the time to buy. To this author, they are a highly collectible and LEGO theme designed for the AFOLs(Adult Fans Of Legos). The theme is done with a classic flair and are excellent replicas of famous buildings and landmarks from around the world(in a mini scale).

They are very reasonably priced and it is quite possible to own the entire collection for a modest amount of $$$. Set 21006, The White House, is an accurate replica of the real thing and is one of my favorite Architecture sets. Pick one up now before they become discontinued…